We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent and romantic”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A very nive inn with good standard if you wish to visit all the vinyards and wineries in Napa Valley
They offer private wine tastings, great beakfast and good complimentary service to all the nice restaurants in the vicinity

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helpolare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    151
    39
    25
    4
See reviews for
65
748
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

spent 3 nights. delicious breakfast every morning. wine with cheese and dips every late afternoon. rooms cozy but roomy. stayed in room 21 first night - super quiet, very comfortable bed, great sitting area with fireplace, and beautiful view. stayed in room 19 last 2 nights. view from balcony is just as beautiful as room 21 and large tub/double headed shower is nice but no view from tub. mattress not nearly as comfortable as room 21. would definitely consider another stay here. very couple oriented.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Wine Country Inn was a pleasant place to stay on our last night in Napa Valley. The rooms in the main building are old and small, but up-to-date in plush bedding and toiletries. Next time, I would choose to stay in one of the more contemporary buildings behind the Inn itself. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is large and convenient. Large parking lot. A wonderful gal with free shuttle service was a big addition to the service. We took the van from the hotel to
Auberge du soleil in the hills above St.Helena. She was prompt and friendly. A nice touch for guests.

Room Tip: Reserve a room in one of the outer buildings. Larger and updated with balconies overlooking the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Gap, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We arrived at the Inn during the afternoon wine reception after a few hours in the car traveling the California coast. Walking in, we were greeted with smiling faces, the delicious aroma of home cooked food, and a wonderful selection of Napa wine. We enjoyed our wine and appetizers out on the veranda surrounded by the vineyards and beautiful mountains in the distance. After checking into our cozy room we discovered even more comforting amenities. Couldn't resist turning on the sound machine with my favorite sound of crickets, tuning in with the ones just outside our open door to our private patio. In addition there was a CD with a variety of beautiful, relaxing music. Paradise found! Jim and his amazing staff have definitely got it down. They are in the happy business! After a little refreshing, Janelle scooped us up in their luxurious van for dinner at French Blue. She assured my husband, who is reluctant to be without his own car, that she would pick us up after dinner ASAP. True to her word she was there in 6 minutes. Breakfast the next morning was absolutely fantastic. Everything was freshly made and hot. Pure heaven. I must also add that the complimentary granola in our room has me hooked. It's the best. Wine Country Inn is the total package. The staff are so willing and dedicated, you can tell they love their jobs. When comparing rates I must say you really get your moneys worth here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 3 on the ground level of the main building. After walking the grounds I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Wine Country Inn is a great weekend getaway. We love the location above the vineyard and enjoy the pool. Rooms are comfortable, breakfast served each morning is quite good, and staff was quite hospitable and helpful.

Room Tip: Best rooms are over by the pool or the more expensive rooms abover the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I was just married at the Wine Country Inn. My husband and I stayed from September 15-September 18, 2013. We stayed in the California cottage which is incredibly peaceful and private and had our ceremony on the patio with the help of Napa Valley Elopements. It was everything we hoped it would be. The cottage was incredibly spacious and impeccably clean with a rustic country decorating style. We spent every night enjoying our private patio with a glass of wine. It was a perfect view as we were literally nestled on 2 sides by the Duckhorn vineyards. Even though we had a cottage next to us, we felt very much away from the bustle and alone.

The Inn had a wonderful breakfast each morning (really VERY good and something for everyone) and a lovely area to enjoy inside or out. Unfortunately we were too busy to enjoy the wine tasting in the evening that the Inn offered but it appeared to be quite encompassing and provided pairings for each tasting with a beautiful afternoon view over the vineyards.

The staff at the Inn couldn't have been more accommodating. Everyone was incredibly nice and, at a very last minute request, they arranged for more annuals to be planted in pots on our patio for our wedding ceremony. We also utilized the Inn shuttle for dinner which was a nice experience and received a few helpful tips from the fun, spunky driver Janelle (try Market in St. Helena!).

The Wine Country Inn offers a rustic, country atmosphere and beautiful gardens, with personalized service you will not find at a chain or larger hotel. We had an incredible visit and absolutely did not want to leave. We definitely plan to go back, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Thank you Wine Country!

Room Tip: The cottages are large and private offering individual patios surrounded by the vineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

*I uploaded this again due to a stupid typo!!

It was a right decision to stay at Wine Country Inn as our first visit to Napa Valley. It is surrounded by vineyard and beautiful garden, so it is a best place for the persons who love nature and warm hospitality.

We appreciated free pick up service from/to restaurant, thanks Janelle for her recommendation of menu.

Also thanks to Tracy for the best choice of winery tour.

We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovecat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,312 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,985 reviews
11.1 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
727 reviews
11.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing