We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, wonderful inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, wonderful inn!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We've been staying here almost every year for the past 20 years. It just gets better and better. The location is perfect--close to everything and in the prettiest part of the valley. The rooms have expansive vineyard views. We stayed in one of the cottages and it felt as though we were staying in the vineyard. The breakfasts are great and the innkeepers are just the best. The grounds are so beautiful. We would never stay anywhere else. Thank you Deniese!!

Room Tip: The cottages in the vineyard are all amazing. I'd be thrilled with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    151
    39
    25
    4
See reviews for
65
748
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prior
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The staff was warm and welcoming. The complimentary breakfast was unique and tasty. We stayed in overlook cottage, we had no view from our patio, the shrubbery was to tall and overgrown. We were in. napa to relax for a few days, we were shocked to find out there was no TV in our room. We are not big wine drinkers so we didn't spend a lot of time at the winery's. Not much else to do here in st Helena. Except for the 1 bar and the movie theater town shuts down at 8:00pm. Wine country Inn didn't really fit our needs so we left a day early to spend some time in San Francisco. Needless to say paying over $600 a night for something that didn't suit us was a waste.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Lori. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at The Wine Country Inn. We do feel very proud about our great staff, and yes, we’re also very proud of our great full gourmet breakfast every day. As you mentioned, because of our great location in the heart of the Napa Valley, we and most other businesses in the area are pretty “wine centric.” And while the vast majority of our guests tell us that they love the fact that we don’t have televisions, we do understand that to some folks this is an inconvenience. We hope that you had a great time in San Francisco.
Cheers,
Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had an excellent three day stay. We traveled from Washington DC and had a wonderful stay at the Wine Country Inn.Loved the wine and treats in the late afternoon. Breakfast was outstanding.I should have picked up all the recipes on the table to try to replicate at home. My adult children loved lounging at the pool. I loved walking in the gardens and taking pictures of the growing vegetables.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great central location for couples to enjoy great views, wine and food. Very welcoming and accommodating staff. Our cottage was lovely and relaxing. It even had a private patio with fountain overlooking the vineyard. The staff took particular effort to help with obtaining reservations for what ever you needed and transportation.to and from the Inn. Also had wine tastings at the Inn and provided excellent breakfasts. They also provide the recipe to take with you. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Super cute B and B in the heart of the wine country. Each room is unique. In rm 19 we had a little patio overlooking vineyards and a jacuzzi. Surrounding countryside is stunning, perfect for walkers, runners, bikers. Staff is super knowledgeable and accommodating. Fab hot breakfast every day. Complimentary wine and cheese at 430. Free van to local restaurants so no worries about DUIs.

Room Tip: Talk to staff in advance for custom fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESBLman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A very nive inn with good standard if you wish to visit all the vinyards and wineries in Napa Valley
They offer private wine tastings, great beakfast and good complimentary service to all the nice restaurants in the vicinity

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helpolare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

spent 3 nights. delicious breakfast every morning. wine with cheese and dips every late afternoon. rooms cozy but roomy. stayed in room 21 first night - super quiet, very comfortable bed, great sitting area with fireplace, and beautiful view. stayed in room 19 last 2 nights. view from balcony is just as beautiful as room 21 and large tub/double headed shower is nice but no view from tub. mattress not nearly as comfortable as room 21. would definitely consider another stay here. very couple oriented.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,990 reviews
11.1 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
729 reviews
15.7 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing