We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Wonderful time at the Wine Country Inn. We loved the room, although in hindsight, I wish we would have had a room with a balcony - the weather was gorgeous!

Loved the breakfasts and the wine hour!

We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lmlauten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

After a very warm greeting the manager upgraded our room for no extra charge. It indeed was a room with a view, beautiful. Our room was very comfortable. The service was outstanding. Great location and great views. We will most certainly visit again and if your in the area give the Wine Country Inn a try. You won't be disappointed. Tell them Dave sent you. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The only bad thing, no TV's in our room and I love watching the news in the morning:) however we would stay again in a heart beat!!!!
The people were so amazing and nice and the breakfast and wine pouring was amazing. My husband has Celiac disease and they were totally accommodating!
Beds were so comfortable rooms were awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angnjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

While the location was excellent and everyone was helpful and pleasant, that's where the positives end. We took two rooms for two couples and our experiences were consistent. The rooms are in serious need of updating. The carpet is old, dirty and unattractive, the beadspread had an odor, the bathroom is very dated, and the shower - even taking into account necessary water saving measures - is weak and tiny. In one room we found a rusty nail in the carpet which, fortunately, did not end up in one of our feet. As for breakfast, the selection is limited - one egg dish, make your own waffles, granola and a couple of pastries - and there are two fruit selections. It is entirely lackluster. Now if the rooms did not each cost close to $400 per night all of this might not have been so disappointing. At that rate, it certainly was.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SPS927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, Owner at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Readers, I hope you will read other reviews where I have responded to unhappy or dissatisfied guests. I think you will find that I am more than willing to acknowledge when we might have fallen short and to learn from criticism.
So, I would like to agree with this reviewer, we are a Country Inn, decorated in casual country furnishings. If this makes us "outdated" then yes, we are outdated and proud of it. So outdated we still don't even have TVs in the rooms.
Every room is photographed and presented on our website for guests to see if they like our style. If someone doesn't like our decor or our style they are encouraged to pick different hotel.
As to finding old and dirty carpets, no. The only thing I can think of is that they found them unattractive and then exaggerated their complaint. We redo all of our rooms on a 5-year cycle. Most hotels run a 7-year cycle at best.
As for our free buffet breakfast: fun and interesting egg dishes (plus chef will cook eggs to order), homemade granola, homemade waffle batter, homemade muffins, four choices of fruit, a bagel and English muffin station with fun cream cheese mixes, whole fresh fruit for folks on the go, three juice choices, homemade jams and salsas from our own gardens. The list goes on. And that doesn't even count special orders for gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, dairy-free etc.
For the prices in Napa Valley I feel we give an excellent value. We're not for everyone because of our country style, but if you are looking for true hospitality where the staff and ownership really care about what they do and how they do it, I think you will be pleased.

Thanks, Jim, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We can't say enough about the Wine Country Inn. The staff here were so accommodating and helpful. We love Janelle and Kelly especially. Janelle took us into town each night in the Wine Country Inn van so we did not have to drive back after dinner. A wonderful treat! And we loved her stories about growing up just outside of St. Helena. Staff gave great advice on where to eat, and where not to eat, as well as special wineries. We had made reservations at the Inn only a short time in advance and were thankful to get a room. Unfortunately, we had to spend two nights in one room and one in the other. The first room, Room 18, was handicapped accessible and had a huge bathroom with a large jacuzzi tub, pushbutton operated curtains (!) and a beautiful view from the balcony. I didn't like our second room which was Room 4. It was in the "dungeon" on the lower floor of the main building. We walked down concrete steps to get there and the hallway smelled of mold, although our room smelled fine. The bed was large and comfortable, but I missed my room with the great balcony and jacuzzi tub! The breakfasts were good. A hot entree, fresh fruit, house made granola and jams, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, make it yourself waffles. I loved the pineapple waffles and loved chatting with the chef who oversaw the breakfast and interacted with guests. The wine and snacks each evening were a real treat. There was always a representative from a local winery who told us about the wine. And there was always a special hors d'oeuvre as well as the standard cheese and veggie platter.We loved the family-run atmosphere, the wonderful views of vineyards and overall relaxing charm of the Wine Country Inn. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank drsaltermoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We just had a great stay at The Wine Country Inn. We didn't plan in advance where we were going to stay, but a series of lucky coincidences landed us here. We walked in to find an evening hors d'oeuvres and complementary wine tasting set before us. Perhaps the best item was the date wrapped in bacon. It was there that we met Jim, the proprietor. He was friendly and gave us great recommendations on restaurants and wineries. We got our food and sat on the porch in gorgeous weather, overlooking the vineyards. Breakfast the next morning, was a similar treat.

All of the staff went out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable.

Bravo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaTravelerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We found everyone very helpful, and it was quiet (pretty much) and lovely view over the vineyard. Freemark Abbey is right there, for a quick tasting. The north end of St. Helena, where this is, is quite different from the southern end, older and quieter, with beautiful trees and Victorian homes. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 24 had a king bed, separate jet tub and shower, was quaint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PJB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,071 reviews
11.4 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,412 reviews
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,064 reviews
15.7 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £228 - £622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing