We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Locale in Wine Country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I chose this place b/c I go to Napa on biz frequently and it's nice to stay in the Valley and not drive all the way to Napa. It's not a business-type of place, but it worked perfectly. Great free WiFi, great (fast) serve-yourself breakfast, and nice to come back to wine in the lobby at day's end - great to meet local producers and taste (and buy!) Staff super-friendly, beds super-comfy. would definitely return for a proper vacation stay! You're five minutes from the nearest wineries and great central access to the entire valley, and easy trip up to Calistoga and beyond to Sonoma.

Room Tip: Room 1 was great. First floor; beautiful private patio overlooking vineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in queen 7. We started the one day trip with the Wine Tour. Worth every penny. The staff was really nice. Not having to drink and drive from any location or choosing which one of us could do more tasting was absolutely great. My wife and I agree it was best day ever and I wish we would have been in town longer to enjoy more of what it was offering. I would recommend this place to anyone and look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: Queen 7 worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Nick, it was great to meet the both of you on yes, your quick, one-night trip. I have to say, you two weren't here long, but you did it right! Roses upon arrival, our Inn-cursion wine tour, dinner at Press, and of course a stay in our Room 7, with that great balcony with the vineyard views. Please come see us again when you can stay longer, and Happy Anniversary again to you and Kylie. Cheers!

Tim Polk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My BFF and I just returned from our week in Napa Valley. This place is quiet, and surrounded by vineyards. One of their best attributes is they have a driver who'll take and pick you up for dinner if you say in the area. Our room was spacious and clean and had a great view. Their breakfasts were fantastic and they will accommodate any dietary needs- Just ask.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsgpb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Wine Country Inn. We take great pride in keeping our grounds kept up, clean, and of course beautiful, with wild flowers, olive trees, and assorted foliage. And yes, guests also LOVE our evening Car Service to local restaurants. Our two drivers, Chris and Janelle, are very knowledgeable about the local restaurants.

We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Best,

Tim Polk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Tucked between Freemark Abbey and Duckhorn Vineyards, you would never realize it was a few hundred feet off Hwy 29. Room was very well-appointed. Grounds are immaculate. Fantastic breakfast served every morning. The real gem here however are the people. The front desk, groundkeepers, food preparation and housekeeping. Not to slight anyone else who is employed here but I must point out Janelle (Evening Driver) and Marty (our valley vineyard tour driver/chef).
My wife and I had a fantastic time dining in St. Helena and touring the local vineyards with an awesome couple from the great state of Georgia. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Surrounded by vineyards and country lanes makes for one of the best quite intimate hotels in Napa Valley. Private transportation service to all of the restaurants allows one to relax over dinner and enjoy the ambiance of Napa.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We came here with friends, planned to stay here 2 nights, but ended up to book one extra as didnt want to leave! If ever back to Napa walley, will not even consider any other place.

+ Countryside location between wineyeards, close to St Helena
+ Fantastic staff & owners!
+ Pool area was really cool, it doesnt get advertised too much here
+ We had rooms in "older" main building, everything was so cozy and we really liked the style. Ok staircase gives little rustic feeling but doesnt matter at all
+ coffee / tea in the room and coffee being available at the lobby all day
+ views from our balcony
+ complimentary wine tasting + snacks every afternoon
+ complimentary shuttle to St. Helena restaurants
+ fast wifi
+ breakfast and THE chef (great help with all gluten free requests!)
+ free parking

Not to publish too sunny review, I'll try to find some downsides..

..still thinking..

ok..

- walls were bit thin at our side, could hear noise from other rooms although it didnt bother us
- not too many things in the walking distance (yes we know it's America...)

Despite being far from home, I know we will return here one day. Sooner or later.

Room Tip: all rooms are described on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our second trip to the Napa Valley - the first one was 26 years ago. The area has changed a lot in that time. This was our first visit to this wonderful inn. Of the many inviting places to stay in Napa, this one is listed in Select Registry and well reviewed by Tripadvisor. That weighed heavily on our decision to stay here for 3 nights. We had a lovely room in the main house on the lower level with a private patio. The patio afforded us a view of the vineyard. The staff of this inn is knowledgeable and accommodating, there where you need them but not in your way. The free evening shuttle to restaurants within St. Helena is such an added amenity. We could go to dinner and enjoy a wonderful meal without being concerned with driving back safely. There are not enough words to describe how pleased we were with our stay - kudos to Tim, Janelle, Chris and the rest of this team that made our wine country return truly memorable,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketotravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

David, Sue--we're all so glad that you enjoyed your return trip to the Napa Valley. Yes, things HAVE changed a lot in the 26 years since your first visit, but we like to think that the core things have not changed here at the Inn (we celebrate our 40th birthday next year): our great vineyard setting; lovely clean rooms; and an accommodating (but not stuffy staff). (Note: One thing that has changed--Chris wasn't even born during your visit first...though I can't say the same for Janelle or myself!.) And yes, our guests love our complimentary evening car service that whisks you off to fantastic restaurants like Tra Vigne and Market (you hit two of our favorites) and then picks you up.

We hope it won't be another 26 years until we see you again.

Cheers!

Tim
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,076 reviews
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
758 reviews
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,081 reviews
5.3 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £215 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing