We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect two day stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wine Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect two day stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

A delightful place to stay for a few days to enjoy the best of Napa Valley. Centrally and conveniently located with helpful staff, excellent recommendations and wonderful hospitality. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    143
    37
    24
    4
See reviews for
65
718
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Streamwood, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I spent a good portion of our honeymoon staying at the Wine Country Inn. Spectacular stay. Staff was attentive and helpful. We discovered some amazing wines and foods with their help. Looled forward to the breakfasts and wine tasting each day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had a great stay at Wine Country Inn. Cottage was perfect, breakfast superb, and the staff was super helpful. Janelle was great w restaurant recommendations. Great location for easy trips to all the great wineries in Napa.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MB4978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest,CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Location is prime right next to a vineyard. We stayed in room 1 queen bed, bit too soft, room had a patio where we could sit out very private. The pool and jacuzzi are very nice just a walk down the path. Breakfasts were top notch especially the candied chili bacon! Wow. Would stay again maybe a room with a king bed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horn2tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked the Wine Country Inn for my husband and myself as we travelled through Napa Valley - a side trip from our San Francisco vacation. The reviews were pleasant and the price was right considering its St Helena location. The original plan was to arrive early afternoon so we could do wine tasting and then catch a nice dinner in St Helena. However an almost 4 hour wait for the rental car in San Francisco delayed our arrival. At check in we were urged to enjoy cocktail hour before being shown to our room. I think the exasperation showed on our faces! I enquired about staying an extra night, as it appeared we had already missed the wine tasting hours in the region. We were delighted to hear that we could stay an extra night but we would have to pack up our bags in the morning for a room change. We were assured the change over would occur after our morning departure for wine tasting and would go as smoothly as possible. The Wine Country Inn did not disappoint!
First off the rooms! Wow- each decorated beautifully with old school charm and very spacious! Each room has its own color scheme and uniqueness. The decor was tasteful and clean! Imagine our surprise when we were brought to our new room the second evening and we were treated to one with a brick deck and a hot tub over looking the mountainous valley! And we were charged the same rate we had paid for the one without on the first night! Nice touch guys!
Secondly, the staff and their enormous effort. From booking reservations for supper, to cooking a magnificent and tasty breakfast each morning for all the guests to enjoy, to being designated drivers for the guests who choose to go into St Helena for dinner. Not to mention the cleaning staff and the desk staff- who aided us on our wine tasting quest.
We loved every minute of our stay at The Wine Country Inn and would recommend it to any of our friends and family.
I would definitely stay at this property again.
Thanks Wine Country Inn for making our time in Napa Valley a heavenly experience!!

Room Tip: Room 6- without a deck but charming all the same. Room 29- with the deck and hot tub was heavenly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N and T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Charming! Great staff that really wants to make sure you have a wonderful time. Breakfast -- well, what can you say about food that totally makes your stomach sit up and say "thank you". Our room was cozy, colorful and I loved being able to sit on the balcony overlooking the vineyard and really enjoy the quiet (Room 9). Also, having the shuttle take us to dinner and back just added to the relaxation. And, the offer to ship our purchases took the "o my goodness, how are we going to do this" away -- another added bonus. Thank you to Jim, Tim and Chloe and the rest of their fantastic staff.
Chris and Randy L

Room Tip: We had room 9 and loved it. Next time we might want to try the "barn" rooms. They look k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at The Wine Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Chris, Randy--

On behalf of Jim, Chloe, and myself and the team, thank you for the very kinds words regarding your recent stay at The Wine Country Inn. Yes, our Room 9 is a special room--guests LOVE that balcony with the amazing vineyard view. And Chef Ryan got a kick out of your comment regarding breakfast--ha!

Please come see us the next time you visit this gorgeous part of the world.

Best!

Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Nice Inn. Several buildings nestled into hillside next a vineyard. Staff is very helpful. My room had a sitting room & balcony looking over vineyard & mountain. Breakfast in the morning & free van to town every evening. The hotel can arrange spa service in room or in outside cabana. A very nice setting

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
19.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
19.2 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine Country Inn

Property: The Wine Country Inn
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself I romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing