We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay In Napa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Wine Country Inn. The location offered a somewhat secluded spot, yet minutes from great wine and food. The staff was outstanding and willing to help with any needs. The morning breakfasts were just right, and a great way to begin the day. We had a terrific room with a private patio and hot tub. We're looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Brian, thanks for the kind words about your recent stay. We do feel that our location (the vineyard setting, 50 wineries within 5 miles, close to the nearby restaurants, etc.) makes an ideal "starting point" for anyone wanting to fully experience Napa Valley. Cheers, and we hope to see you both again soon.

Tim Polk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We just returned from a 4 day stay to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We have previously stayed in the south end of the valley, nearer to Napa. In comparison, the location of the WCI was wonderful, and much quieter than the nicer hotels in Napa. Also, it provides great access to Yountville, St. Helena, Calistoga - and very easy access to the Silverado trail to avoid the busy afternoon traffic through Yountville and St. Helena. The room was quite nice, and very roomy. My wife and I both commented that it was as clean as any hotel/BB room we can remember staying in - and we appreciated the hardwood floors leading out to our private patio. The pool and hot tub were also very quiet - another benefit versus larger hotels (like the Westin we stayed in last time), which helps with the overall romantic atmosphere of the Inn. The breakfast was very nice, with fresh fruit and veg to go along with a daily egg bake and fresh waffles. The evening appetizers and wine tasting is a fantastic feature - and helps bridge the gap nicely for a later dinner reservation. Staff was cheerful and helpful. We did not join the 'Inncursion' full day wine tasting trip (preferred to be on our own schedule), but other couples had great things to say about it. Also nice - two very nice tasting rooms within walking distance (Freemark Abbey and Duckhorn) make for a nice leisurely stroll - especially if you arrive before check in time, as we did. Overall - it was our favorite Napa trip to date, and a place we are very likely to return to.

One final recommendation: absolutely schedule a massage while you stay, and enjoy it outdoors in the spa cabana. It's tucked in to a very secluded area overlooking the vineyard, and it was probably the best massage my wife and I have ever had. Ask for Isabelle and Jackie!

Book with confidence!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi Tim,

Your review brought a big smile to our massage therapists' faces! So glad that the two of you enjoyed your spa treatments with Isabelle and Jackie.

Happy Anniversary once again, and we hope to see the both of you in the not-too-distant future.

Best,

Tim Polk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great location tucked away off of Lodi Lane. It gave us easy access north and south to hit all the vineyards but was quiet. Staff -- especially Kelly and Jim -- we're very friendly and helpful. Room was nice with a vineyard view. Wine tastings every night at 4:30, just after most vineyards are closing. Breakfast was delicious.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I recommend you splurge on the vineyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Wine Country Inn was well worth the money. The room was immaculate, the breakfast was pretty good, the service was great, every afternoon there was a wine tasting with an interesting small production winery, and the location was perfect - close but not too close to St Helena. They knew it was our anniversary, so there was a bottle of sparkling waiting for us (Thank you Taylor!). We took advantage of the dinner shuttle, and the driver Janelle was a fun "raconteur" - providing info about what to eat and what was a must do in St. Helena and which winery tours provided more than tasting. N.B., if you are still trying to decide on the best location in the valley -- DEFINITELY choose to stay near St. Helena! Best town in Napa, with Calistoga and Yountville worth a morning or afternoon stroll.

Room Tip: We stayed in 25, which has its own hot tub on a very private patio. It was away from the main buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hirsthp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We recently stayed here for two nights. The room was quaint and colorful. We had a great view of the vineyards and a balcony to enjoy coffee and at a glass of wine in the evenings. We were a little disappointed in the items provided with the room. It seemed odd that in the middle of wine country there wasn't a corkscrew and wine glasses for guests to use in their room but there was a fly swatter. We also would have liked to have had an ice bucket to chill our wine that we purchased while on our visits to nearby wineries if we so chose. Overall, our stay was enjoyable and we really found the fireplace to be very romantic.

Room Tip: A second floor corner room facing the vineyards provided more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Overall our experience was excellent. The location is very quite and the the views (depending on the room) are very nice in the morning while drinking coffee and in the afternoon while drinking your purchased wine. If you stay at the Wine Country Inn, then you also have easy access to St. Helena, Howell Mt., and Calistoga wineries. Wineries in these locations are not usually on everyone's to-do list, but they are small production and amazing. On another note, the breakfast is also superb. That is, compared to most hotel and inn breakfasts. I am not an experienced 'bed and breakfaster,' so I do not speak from that vantage point. The only downside might be that the rooms are a little bit dated. However, they are very relaxing and comfortable. In the end, I heartily recommend the Wine Country Inn and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Perfect the location in front of vineyards and a small ranch , the buildings and the management of the Inn . Absolutely fine the wine and cheese in the afternoon. Breakfast very familial , delicious omelette . St Helena is a merveillous place , with a very convenient central location in the Napa Valley

Room Tip: Cottage at the edge of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RIC397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,078 reviews
11.1 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#5 of 6 in Yountville
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,432 reviews
19.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,083 reviews
5.3 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £209 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wine Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Wine Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Wine Country Inn & Cottages St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing