We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, restful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wine Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wine Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, restful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had a wonderful 3 day stay at the Wine Country Inn. What an amazing place! Check-in was very quick and easy. We had a lovely cottage with plenty of room and spacious bathrooms. Our cottage was private with a lovely courtyard so much nicer than a sparse hotel room. The breakfasts were delicious and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly - nothing was a bother. I would highly recommend as a place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 24682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    143
    37
    25
    4
See reviews for
65
719
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The staff is very helpful with any question or wish. Set in a vineyard with gorgeous views, luxurious accommodations and a shuttle to restaurants, this is a perfect place to stay while touring Napa. The Inn cursion was a fun and educational way to visit different vineyards. Our guide, Tracey, knew about different vineyards and special wines made by each. We hope to return soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days. Cute room, reminded me of a British b n b. Granola is yummy. Evening wine and snacks and breakfast were great. Pool was nice but construction was going on beside it... Not that quiet. Great place to stay to explore Napa from. Wineries all around and the gardens are beautiful to walk around and have morning coffee. I'd stay there again. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NicoleRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Wine Country Inn. The location offered a somewhat secluded spot, yet minutes from great wine and food. The staff was outstanding and willing to help with any needs. The morning breakfasts were just right, and a great way to begin the day. We had a terrific room with a private patio and hot tub. We're looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at The Wine Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Brian, thanks for the kind words about your recent stay. We do feel that our location (the vineyard setting, 50 wineries within 5 miles, close to the nearby restaurants, etc.) makes an ideal "starting point" for anyone wanting to fully experience Napa Valley. Cheers, and we hope to see you both again soon.

Tim Polk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We just returned from a 4 day stay to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We have previously stayed in the south end of the valley, nearer to Napa. In comparison, the location of the WCI was wonderful, and much quieter than the nicer hotels in Napa. Also, it provides great access to Yountville, St. Helena, Calistoga - and very easy access to the Silverado trail to avoid the busy afternoon traffic through Yountville and St. Helena. The room was quite nice, and very roomy. My wife and I both commented that it was as clean as any hotel/BB room we can remember staying in - and we appreciated the hardwood floors leading out to our private patio. The pool and hot tub were also very quiet - another benefit versus larger hotels (like the Westin we stayed in last time), which helps with the overall romantic atmosphere of the Inn. The breakfast was very nice, with fresh fruit and veg to go along with a daily egg bake and fresh waffles. The evening appetizers and wine tasting is a fantastic feature - and helps bridge the gap nicely for a later dinner reservation. Staff was cheerful and helpful. We did not join the 'Inncursion' full day wine tasting trip (preferred to be on our own schedule), but other couples had great things to say about it. Also nice - two very nice tasting rooms within walking distance (Freemark Abbey and Duckhorn) make for a nice leisurely stroll - especially if you arrive before check in time, as we did. Overall - it was our favorite Napa trip to date, and a place we are very likely to return to.

One final recommendation: absolutely schedule a massage while you stay, and enjoy it outdoors in the spa cabana. It's tucked in to a very secluded area overlooking the vineyard, and it was probably the best massage my wife and I have ever had. Ask for Isabelle and Jackie!

Book with confidence!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, General Manager at The Wine Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Tim,

Your review brought a big smile to our massage therapists' faces! So glad that the two of you enjoyed your spa treatments with Isabelle and Jackie.

Happy Anniversary once again, and we hope to see the both of you in the not-too-distant future.

Best,

Tim Polk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great location tucked away off of Lodi Lane. It gave us easy access north and south to hit all the vineyards but was quiet. Staff -- especially Kelly and Jim -- we're very friendly and helpful. Room was nice with a vineyard view. Wine tastings every night at 4:30, just after most vineyards are closing. Breakfast was delicious.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I recommend you splurge on the vineyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Wine Country Inn was well worth the money. The room was immaculate, the breakfast was pretty good, the service was great, every afternoon there was a wine tasting with an interesting small production winery, and the location was perfect - close but not too close to St Helena. They knew it was our anniversary, so there was a bottle of sparkling waiting for us (Thank you Taylor!). We took advantage of the dinner shuttle, and the driver Janelle was a fun "raconteur" - providing info about what to eat and what was a must do in St. Helena and which winery tours provided more than tasting. N.B., if you are still trying to decide on the best location in the valley -- DEFINITELY choose to stay near St. Helena! Best town in Napa, with Calistoga and Yountville worth a morning or afternoon stroll.

Room Tip: We stayed in 25, which has its own hot tub on a very private patio. It was away from the main buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hirsthp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
11.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
10.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
19.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
19.2 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine Country Inn

Property: The Wine Country Inn
Address: 1152 Lodi Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself I romance at the Wine Country Inn, an exquisite wine country retreat. Enjoy country estate-style accommodations tucked into five acres of gorgeously landscaped tranquil gardens, within minutes of Napa Valley's best Wineries. 29 warm, spacious guest rooms, most with terraces. Luxurious king and queen sized beds with finely woven linens, plush duvets and comfy pillows. A delicious, bountiful wine country breakfast served in the cozy charm of our Winery House dining room or al fresco overlooking the vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wine Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing