We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shady Oaks Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I loved this place. It was quiet and we meet great people all weekend. We stayed in the country blue room and it was perfect for us. Great breakfast too. It was in the heart of the valley with amazing views and a short drive to everything. Hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMushrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

This place wonderful, a perfect location between vineyards and nearby towns. The breakfast was delicious and the evening wine & cheese tasting was also nice. My favorite thing about the property was the tree swing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I just returned to NC after celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary in the Napa Valley. We cannot say enough nice things about Shady Oaks. The Inn is spotlessly clean. The Breakfast is not only delicious but presented beautifully. Everyone was very pleasant and most helpful in helping to plan our day. You can enjoy wine with cheese and crackers in the afternoon and visit with other quest.

The Younts

Room Tip: Peacefull and quiet. Convenient to St. Helena and Yountville area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was a true pleasure meeting you two and getting to know you. You are the kind of guests that make the last 30 years of inn keeping so wonderful. We can't wait to see you again.
Warmly
John and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Business required my husband and me to be in St. Helena for the weekend. Wanting to avoid the business crowd, I researched Bed and Breakfast Inns and settled on Shady Oaks. What a wonderful find! Our Winery Room, in the small, adjacent building, was charming and atmospheric, with rock wall and lovely antiques. Morning breakfast, served outside on the wisteria-covered patio, was fabulous and filling. Best of all, hosts Lisa and John made our stay feel like we were visiting the home of long-time dear friends. We visit Napa Valley from time to time and Shady Oaks will definitely be THE PLACE for us on return trips.

Room Tip: Any room at Shady Oaks Country Inn will be a tranquil and peaceful respite from the hustle and bustl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Very welcoming, nice little wine and cheese at 5. Rooms were cheery. Breakfast was home made and excellent though i would have liked a choice. Very good location and really a good value. I was disappointed to have not met the owners and proprietors as they seemed welcoming on the phone. I think they own a second property and that probably makes it difficult to manage botrh. Needed a personal touch from one of them

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hockeylover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Shady Oaks in the Sunny Hideaway room. We were 4 girlfriends in Napa Valley for wine tasting and enjoying the Valley. We stayed for 2 nights and would stay again. The two bedroom Sunny Hideaway was perfect for the four of us. We liked the fireplace and the two bedrooms gave us plenty of room for the evening hours that we were there. The room was clean and comfortable, but not luxurious. The breakfasts were very good and different both days. We enjoyed eating with other guests and enjoyed our attentive hosts. The breakfasts provided a nice start to the day before our wine touring.

The pillows and mattresses could use updating, but all in all, we found Shady Oaks to be a great value and definitely met our needs since we basically only slept there and spent a few hours in the morning and late evenings. What we saved in lodging, we spent on the lovely wines available at the Shady Oaks' neighbors.

Room Tip: If you need room for 4, the Sunny Hideaway is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This was my first time in a Bed & Breakfast.
From the beginning to the end we loved it. The place gives you a very warm feeling and the location is very good.
Its right in between the vineyards, so you can choose and pick which one you want to go to.
I can say its a very romantic getaway and I would really recommend spending a few days here.
ps. John makes a delicious breakfast to start your day out right!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoSayid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
4.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
1.9 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
526 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn St Helena
Inn St Helena
#2 of 12 in St. Helena
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Oaks Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Oaks Country Inn

Address: 399 Zinfandel Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-1635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: £177 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shady Oaks Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the warmth and romance of Shady Oaks Country Inn secluded on two acres nestled among some of the finest Wineries and restaurants in Napa Valley. Relax and enjoy the elegant ambiance, the wine country tranquility and our cozy amenities during your stay. Shady oaks Country Inn offers the hospitality of a bed and breakfast along with first class amenities like romantic fireplaces, flat screen satellite television free Wifi and a full champagne breakfast. Our goal at Shady oaks Country Inn is to offer you the finest combination of luxury, hospitality and history. To enhance your stay, we serve full champagne breakfasts and premium Napa wines and cheeses each evening on the Roman pillared patio. Awaken to the Inn's own blend of coffee and our breakfast complete with Eggs Benedict, Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, our home baked breads, fresh baked croissants, fresh juice and champagne. After spending your day exploring the beautiful Napa Valley vineyards, we invite you to browse through our collection of restaurant menus that include fine dining and casual restaurants. We are more than happy to make recommendations and reservations for you! Book a stay with us at Shady Oaks Country Inn, and experience the perfect blend of luxury and comfort in Napa Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shady Oaks Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shady Oaks Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Shady Oaks Country Inn St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing