We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place -”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shady Oaks Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 September 2013

4 of us stayed in the "sunny hideaway" double room, and it was clean and comfortable (and in its own separate building) The breakfasts were good. We enjoyed playing Bocce and walking through the vineyards. But if you're looking for the personal attention and "concierge" service you receive at other inns / B&Bs, you probably won't receive that during your stay here. The owner was helpful in answering my questions about the area prior to our arrival - but as others point out, there's no one on staff throughout the day/evening. Also - expect to drive everywhere, as it's more than a mile from town. (But 3 good wineries are walking distance).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had a terrible experience at Shady Oaks! As other reviewers have pointed out, the owners are no where to be found. They don't return phone calls to their "after hours" number when you call to report a plumbing problem either! We had a leaking toilet and inadequate hot water for the showers. There is no alternative breakfast option if you cannot make the one sitting time. Due to health issues, we had to cancel our second night reservation. They were able to rent the room out but refunded only part of our money after many email requests. The location is great but I would definitely not stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi82013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Boy, This vacation really hurt us. I guess we should never go away again. I am sorry you had a bad experience at our Inn. With four women in the room the Hot water may have run out a little early. Our manager repaired the leaky toilet the next morning. We were not made aware of any health problems however we did Re-rent the room to two people and gave you a refund for that amount. I think you lost out on $89.
Most of our guests love our breakfast. We like the one seating breakfast so people can sit together and get to know each other. Sounds like that might have been the real problem.
Warmly
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

When going to the wine country location is important and this inn brings it. The past reviews have adequately pointed out its virtues. The inn is very cozy and comfortable. The breakfast the following day was very tasty. The bottom line here is that we would DEFINITELY stay here again on our next trip to Napa. Ps we met the owner and she is very nice and obviously cares a lot about the inn, much TLC and detail everywhere. Do stay !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidh6716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We never saw the innkeepers during our two night stay, and check-in was a bit confusing. There was also no one to offer suggestions for restaurants or wineries. The room looked like it was decorated by grandma, complete with doilies and fake flowers. The shower head had absolutely no pressure and was mounted so low that we had to stoop to wash our hair. Certainly not worth the price that was charged. Breakfast, however, was outstanding, and the staff that served was friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Even Innkeepers have to have a vacation once and a while. We are very happy that you enjoyed our staff however.
Our staff or us are there from 7:30 until 2:00. We are gone between 2 and 4 and then back for check ins and wine and cheese hour form 5 to 6:30. However we do want our guests to be able to come in earlier than 4;00 so we leave a note on the front door with your name and instructions on how to get to your room and other info. This is for our guest convenience.
I am happy you thought our inn looked like grandma's house. That is our goal.
You are 100% correct about the shower. We apologize for that. The shower head was clogged and is now repaired. Thank you for telling us. We don't always know these things until a guest brings it to our attention. If you would have told us while you were there we could have fixed it immediately.
Thank you for your review.
Warmly
John & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The innkeepers were not available to check us in, or to help with questions about local wineries, which was too bad, but we did make our way to our room on our own, and we found some winery information in brochures in a cupboard in the main house. The rooms were very clean. The old fashioned furniture and dried flower arrangements really evoked the historic nature of this inn. The Winery Retreat room on the bottom floor had a stone wall that kept the room cool on a hot day. This room had no windows so it was good for sleeping in late. We enjoyed talking with other guests over a breakfast served outside on the patio behind our building.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank dkj160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here when we visited from MI. The inn keeper was not here at the time, which was fine, but as tourists, we were hoping for more local information. The breakfast was fantastic and we found our room to be clean and well maintained, but very bright in the morning(probably why it's called Sunshine). St.Helena is a quaint town, but quite expensive for wine tasting!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afeldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I loved this place. It was quiet and we meet great people all weekend. We stayed in the country blue room and it was perfect for us. Great breakfast too. It was in the heart of the valley with amazing views and a short drive to everything. Hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMushrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
4.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
10 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rancho Caymus Inn
Rancho Caymus Inn
#2 of 2 in Rutherford
41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#7 of 9 in St. Helena
164 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Oaks Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Oaks Country Inn

Address: 399 Zinfandel Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-1635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: £176 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shady Oaks Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the warmth and romance of Shady Oaks Country Inn secluded on two acres nestled among some of the finest Wineries and restaurants in Napa Valley. Relax and enjoy the elegant ambiance, the wine country tranquility and our cozy amenities during your stay. Shady oaks Country Inn offers the hospitality of a bed and breakfast along with first class amenities like romantic fireplaces, flat screen satellite television free Wifi and a full champagne breakfast. Our goal at Shady oaks Country Inn is to offer you the finest combination of luxury, hospitality and history. To enhance your stay, we serve full champagne breakfasts and premium Napa wines and cheeses each evening on the Roman pillared patio. Awaken to the Inn's own blend of coffee and our breakfast complete with Eggs Benedict, Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, our home baked breads, fresh baked croissants, fresh juice and champagne. After spending your day exploring the beautiful Napa Valley vineyards, we invite you to browse through our collection of restaurant menus that include fine dining and casual restaurants. We are more than happy to make recommendations and reservations for you! Book a stay with us at Shady Oaks Country Inn, and experience the perfect blend of luxury and comfort in Napa Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shady Oaks Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shady Oaks Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Shady Oaks Country Inn St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing