We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place in St Helena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shady Oaks Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place in St Helena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon and it was great! We stayed in the Winery Retreat, this big, pretty room set apart from the main house with a fire place. It's right off the main road in St Helena so getting anywhere is quite easy and the grounds are really pretty. There are fruit trees and wineries all over.
We also got the chance, upon arriving, to meet John, one of the Innkeepers, while he was making wine so we got to ask a ton of questions and see wine being made firsthand. He showed us how he does it and also showed us around his wine area, showing us the bottles from last year that were almost ready. Very interesting!
In the afternoon, we met Lisa, John's wife and the other Innkeeper, on the patio for wine. She was wonderful. Very friendly, welcoming, and full of information about the Napa Valley area. We had John's wine, a delicious Zinfindel, and spoke with another guest. It was a beautiful day so the whole experience was really nice. Lisa told us of a place to go for dinner, Market, which was exceptional.
We only had breakfast there one morning because we opted to go Hot Air Ballooning the first morning, but Lisa's breakfast was pretty impressive! Home cooked, delicious, and served around the dining room table, it was a really great way to start a wine-filled day.
Our only drawback was that our room was the bottom of a two story little building and there was a room above us. The first night, there was a couple in the room so we barely heard them but the next evening, there was a family with children and from 6AM until breakfast, we could hear the children running back and forth in the room which kept us up. The floors are pretty thin, which might be OK normally but when trying to sleep off a lot of wine, it makes it difficult!
But overall, we really loved this Inn and would recommend it anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carliq3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    30
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
20
100
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Some friends and I stayed recently for three days. We had a wonderful stay.

The Inn is in a great location. It was the perfect place to start two days of wine tasting--first in Napa Valley and then Carneros.

We ate breakfast there for three days, and each day we enjoyed a very filling and great tasting breakfast. The inn is very clean with comfortable beds. John and Lisa are friendly and insightful. They have great suggestions on things to do, places to eat, and wineries in the area. John even helped us with our shipping of some wines we bought; John went out of his way to accommodate our needs with respect to shipping our wines home. I would highly recommend staying here, and I would very likely stay here the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. Lisa and I really enjoyed spending time with you two. I am so sorry about the kids upstairs. They showed up with out our knowledge the last night and even stayed for breakfast the next morning which made us have 15 for breakfast. We only sit 12 so we had to serve breakfast in two locations. I am glad you got to eat in peace outside on the patio. Thank you again
John and Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Everything was great about this place. The staff was friendly and helpful and you cant beat the breakfast spread each morning. Its a perfect location! When we visit Napa again, we will for sure be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kag2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossmoor, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The location on Zinfandel Lane is convenient to many wineries, practically next door to Raymond, and off the main hwy., but there was still considerable traffic noise that could be heard from our room (Sunny Hideaway) with trucks on their way to the wine processing facility nearby or folks cutting over to the Silverado Trail.

When we arrived we were not greeted by anyone and there was a note with our name pinned to a bulletin board outside the main house letting us know that our key was in our room. Our room was in a separate building from the main house and had a small porch overlooking the stone parking area out front. Although everything was clean and in good condition this room needs some updating. I think it was the quilted lace pouch covering the extra roll of toilet paper, the mismatched artwork and the bedding that made me feel like I was in a grandmother's spare bedroom that hadn't been updated since 1982. It wouldn't take a lot to make this room a little bit more current while maintaining it's country charm. The four poster bed, claw foot tub, fireplace and most of the furniture are quite nice. A fresh coat of paint, new carpeting, some new bed linens and some well-placed, appropriate art would make this a lovely retreat.

One of the nicest features of this room was the view out of the bathroom window. Too bad there wasn't a screen on it and bugs were coming in. (There wasn't a screen on any of the windows.) Between 5 and 6 there was a selection of two wines and cheese and crackers on the patio. I was pleasantly surprised that the wine was drinkable and the patio with vine covered gazebo is a nice spot.

Breakfast was average. A baked apple and a waffle and sausage the first morning. I asked for decaf coffee and they said they would make some yet it never appeared. We were asked if we wanted walnuts in the waffle. I said yes, but tasted maybe one in mine. The second morning was much better with some fruit with a tasty topping, pecan and fruit french toast and sausage.
If you want a bottle of water when you come back from wine tasting prepare to contribute $1 in the box located inside the fridge to cover the 25 cent Kirkland water bottle. Kind of cheap if you ask me.

To be fair the owners were out of town this weekend, but I would guess they would put appropriate personnel in place while they travel so that their guests can't even tell the difference. This wasn't a bad experience, but it wasn't one I can go on and on about like when we stayed at the Black Rock Inn a mile or two down the street in July.

Room Tip: Sunny Hideaway could work out well if you are traveling with an extra family member or friend and ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

4 of us stayed in the "sunny hideaway" double room, and it was clean and comfortable (and in its own separate building) The breakfasts were good. We enjoyed playing Bocce and walking through the vineyards. But if you're looking for the personal attention and "concierge" service you receive at other inns / B&Bs, you probably won't receive that during your stay here. The owner was helpful in answering my questions about the area prior to our arrival - but as others point out, there's no one on staff throughout the day/evening. Also - expect to drive everywhere, as it's more than a mile from town. (But 3 good wineries are walking distance).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had a terrible experience at Shady Oaks! As other reviewers have pointed out, the owners are no where to be found. They don't return phone calls to their "after hours" number when you call to report a plumbing problem either! We had a leaking toilet and inadequate hot water for the showers. There is no alternative breakfast option if you cannot make the one sitting time. Due to health issues, we had to cancel our second night reservation. They were able to rent the room out but refunded only part of our money after many email requests. The location is great but I would definitely not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi82013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Shady Oaks Country Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Boy, This vacation really hurt us. I guess we should never go away again. I am sorry you had a bad experience at our Inn. With four women in the room the Hot water may have run out a little early. Our manager repaired the leaky toilet the next morning. We were not made aware of any health problems however we did Re-rent the room to two people and gave you a refund for that amount. I think you lost out on $89.
Most of our guests love our breakfast. We like the one seating breakfast so people can sit together and get to know each other. Sounds like that might have been the real problem.
Warmly
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

When going to the wine country location is important and this inn brings it. The past reviews have adequately pointed out its virtues. The inn is very cozy and comfortable. The breakfast the following day was very tasty. The bottom line here is that we would DEFINITELY stay here again on our next trip to Napa. Ps we met the owner and she is very nice and obviously cares a lot about the inn, much TLC and detail everywhere. Do stay !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidh6716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
4.2 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
6.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
2.0 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Oaks Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Oaks Country Inn

Property: Shady Oaks Country Inn
Address: 399 Zinfandel Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-1635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shady Oaks Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the warmth and romance of Shady Oaks Country Inn secluded on two acres nestled among some of the finest Wineries and restaurants in Napa Valley. Relax and enjoy the elegant ambiance, the wine country tranquility and our cozy amenities during your stay. Shady oaks Country Inn offers the hospitality of a bed and breakfast along with first class amenities like romantic fireplaces, flat screen satellite television free Wifi and a full champagne breakfast. Our goal at Shady oaks Country Inn is to offer you the finest combination of luxury, hospitality and history. To enhance your stay, we serve full champagne breakfasts and premium Napa wines and cheeses each evening on the Roman pillared patio. Awaken to the Inn's own blend of coffee and our breakfast complete with Eggs Benedict, Belgian waffles, fresh fruit, our home baked breads, fresh baked croissants, fresh juice and champagne. After spending your day exploring the beautiful Napa Valley vineyards, we invite you to browse through our collection of restaurant menus that include fine dining and casual restaurants. We are more than happy to make recommendations and reservations for you! Book a stay with us at Shady Oaks Country Inn, and experience the perfect blend of luxury and comfort in Napa Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shady Oaks Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shady Oaks Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Shady Oaks Country Inn St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing