We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review”
Review of Inn St Helena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn St Helena
Ranked #2 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Since we used Trip Advisor to select this B&B, we found the reviews very different than our experience. We did not see the proprietor/innkeeper from the afternoon, evening, until the next morning after arrival. There were a lot of steep stairs to the entrance and it would have been helpful to have someone assist us. We did meet the proprietor until the next morning after our arrival. He was a nice guy, but on site for approximately two hours out of 24. In all of our stays at B&B's this was the worst service ever. Because of this, we cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnrun, Owner at Inn St Helena, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

I am very sorry that guests were unhappy with our service. We go out of our way to give our guests all the help they need with restaurants and wineries. We serve wine and cheeses from 5:00-6:00 each evening. If the guests arrive after 6:00 they are asked to inform us so we can make arrangements for a late check in. We are on the property most of the day but do have to be gone sometimes like out to dinner ourselves. We are always there at our checkin time so either the guests arrived late or early and did not come out for wine and cheeses. Every morning I ask the guests if I can help them in any way with wineries or things to do in the Napa Valley. After breakfast I do have to leave sometimes to go to our other Inn. Most guests are gone all day to wineries an such and we rarely see them besides at wine hour or at breakfast.
If you look at the rest of our reviews you will see that service is one of our most talked about attributes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

My wife and I just spent two lovely nights at the Ambrose Bierce B&B in St. Helena, CA. Our room was very nice, comfortable and clean. The innkeeper John was very accommodating. Carlos prepared very nice breakfasts and was fabulous at recommending vineyards and restaurants to visit. Overall, it was a wonderful experience in a terrific location for touring the many wineries in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cincinnati_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I found the Ambrose Bierce house to be adequate accommodations. The room was clean and inviting and the staff very friendly. What gives it only an average rating in my book instead of "very good" or "excellent" was the noise.

There was music playing in the lounge 24 hours a day and this drifted into our room and was rather annoying at 3am when I awoke and noticed it. Also the other guests were rather loud on our first night, making it difficult to enjoy a quiet evening.

The breakfast was very good and on the day when we were leaving early and didn't stay for breakfast they put out some fruit for us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnrun, Owner at Inn St Helena, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

My husband John and I have been and are the owners of Ambrose Bierce House B&B for 13 years. We have been in this business for 26 years and the comfort and our service to our guests are our priority at all times. We are a little confused about this gentleman's mention of a "lounge" at the Inn as we have a parlor area where we serve wines and cheses each evening. We do not even have our own music playing in the background just in case someone is extra sensitive. We are concerned that perhaps one of the guests had music in their room? Usually guests are very caring & consierate of other guests staying at the same Inn. It seems that he was otherwise happy since he gave us a "very good" rating and said he would recommed us to his friends, liked out breakfst etc. I just wanted those of you out there to know that we do not have a "lounge" of any kind on the property and are a true full service Bed & Breakfast with all of your comforts in mind.
Warmly,
Lisa & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Location was ideal and within walking distance of everything in town. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful in restaurant and vineyard recommendations. We could not have been happier and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattschiusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Just spent three fantastic days and two nights in Napa Valley, all made possible by the great folks who run the Ambrose Bierce House B&B in St. Helena. First they were thoughtful enough to call us before we even arrived in Napa Valley to see how they could help. They suggested so great spots to stop for lunch and to see on our way up. Once we got there, they took the time to listen to our interests and not only made great suggestions, but went out of our way to make the necessary arrangements making the entire trip in Napa effortless. The rooms in the inn were charming, comfortable and clean. The afternoon wine and cheese was a joy, and the breakfasts were the highlight of it all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Carlos is an excellent host of the Ambrose Bierce Inn and the breakfasts that he serves are of the best quality. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. I am a sucker for the Victorian style from a century ago so I was delighted with the ambiance of this well maintained old home.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry_weathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We have stayed several times at the Ambrose Bierce House - and will be back again in the future. In the past we had always stayed in the Edweard Muybridge room - considered it "our room" and found it cozy and welcoming. Though the room is the smallest in the Inn, the parlor provided the extra space for sitting around, reading or playing a game that we needed, and it suited our budget. On our most recent trip we splurged a little and stayed in the Ambrose Bierce Suite. We loved having the extra space - our own little sitting room, and with the cool, rainy weather, we really enjoyed the fireplace! From the first time we met him, Carlos has seemed more like an old friend than an Innkeeper. He makes a wonderful breakfast, and is fun to catch up with during "happy hour" over wine and cheese. He is always full of wonderful suggestions for places to visit - whether a favorite winery, restaurant for dinner, or a special activity and is happy to make any reservations or arrangements for us if needed. The Inn is right on Main Street, just a couple of blocks from the center of downtown St. Helena. There are so many wonderful restaurants, a great local coffee shop, great old theater - everything to make you feel right at home. It is our escape from the real world - the perfect place to relax and re-energize.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winecountryfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.3 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
1.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
927 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,071 reviews
8.9 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn St Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn St Helena

Address: 1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1851 (Formerly Ambrose Bierce House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: £166 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn St Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Napa Valley bed and breakfast! We invite you to experience the romantic charm and "warm and enthusiastic hospitality" of our 1872 Victorian bed and breakfast inn. This California bed and breakfast is in a perfect location... right in the center of the finest wineries of Napa Valley. You can walk to fine and casual dining, historic Beringer Vineyards... and unique shopping in beautiful and quaint downtown St. Helena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn St Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Bierce House Hotel St. Helena
Inn St Helena St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing