We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks, John and Lisa!”
Review of Inn St Helena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn St Helena
Ranked #2 of 13 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsport
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thanks, John and Lisa!”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Another great stay for Carla and me! Was this no. 4 or 5? Thanks for the personal touch including setting us up with a rental car when we tired of cycling in the rain.

Really enjoyed those gourmet breakfasts and your fine Pinot noir. We look forward to next year.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsportRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    34
    10
    15
    6
See reviews for
23
141
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Our adult family of six recently experienced an absolutely wonderful time at Ambrose Bierce House. Everyone in our group had a marvelous stay, and it was all due to the wonderful services we received from John and Lisa, the owners. Of course, our stay at Ambrose Bierce itself was terrific and we are all missing those wonderful breakfasts! Their dinner recommendations sent us to marvelous restaurants. The wineries John suggested were superb and ones that we would have never considered. It was the best trip we have had as a family and one none of us will never forget!

We can't thank John and Lisa enough for helping us to have such a wonderful time. We would recommend Ambrose Bierce House to everyone. I was happy to finally meet Lisa after many phone calls and emails from her to assure that everything was going to be just the way we wanted. Only sorry we didn't get to spend more time with her. Words can't express how much we enjoyed John's company and his guidance. In reading other reviews about this place, we read, over and over, how Ambrose Bierce was like "home". That is exactly how we came to feel. We know we will be welcome to come "home" again and hope to do so soon. And, we must mention how we enjoyed meeting Chris, who is a definite asset to your operation!

To say "Thank You" for a wonderful experience hardly seems adequate to express our appreciation of our great time. We will be back!
Diane Parkin

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianeparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This is a great place -- location, food, innkeepers, and proximity to all things wine. We walked to some fine restaurants in St. Helena and enjoyed the other guests enormously. John and Lisa are very fine hosts and their breakfasts are stellar. I'm going back soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Since we used Trip Advisor to select this B&B, we found the reviews very different than our experience. We did not see the proprietor/innkeeper from the afternoon, evening, until the next morning after arrival. There were a lot of steep stairs to the entrance and it would have been helpful to have someone assist us. We did meet the proprietor until the next morning after our arrival. He was a nice guy, but on site for approximately two hours out of 24. In all of our stays at B&B's this was the worst service ever. Because of this, we cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnrun, Owner at Inn St Helena, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
I am very sorry that guests were unhappy with our service. We go out of our way to give our guests all the help they need with restaurants and wineries. We serve wine and cheeses from 5:00-6:00 each evening. If the guests arrive after 6:00 they are asked to inform us so we can make arrangements for a late check in. We are on the property most of the day but do have to be gone sometimes like out to dinner ourselves. We are always there at our checkin time so either the guests arrived late or early and did not come out for wine and cheeses. Every morning I ask the guests if I can help them in any way with wineries or things to do in the Napa Valley. After breakfast I do have to leave sometimes to go to our other Inn. Most guests are gone all day to wineries an such and we rarely see them besides at wine hour or at breakfast.
If you look at the rest of our reviews you will see that service is one of our most talked about attributes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My wife and I just spent two lovely nights at the Ambrose Bierce B&B in St. Helena, CA. Our room was very nice, comfortable and clean. The innkeeper John was very accommodating. Carlos prepared very nice breakfasts and was fabulous at recommending vineyards and restaurants to visit. Overall, it was a wonderful experience in a terrific location for touring the many wineries in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincinnati_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I found the Ambrose Bierce house to be adequate accommodations. The room was clean and inviting and the staff very friendly. What gives it only an average rating in my book instead of "very good" or "excellent" was the noise.

There was music playing in the lounge 24 hours a day and this drifted into our room and was rather annoying at 3am when I awoke and noticed it. Also the other guests were rather loud on our first night, making it difficult to enjoy a quiet evening.

The breakfast was very good and on the day when we were leaving early and didn't stay for breakfast they put out some fruit for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnrun, Owner at Inn St Helena, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
My husband John and I have been and are the owners of Ambrose Bierce House B&B for 13 years. We have been in this business for 26 years and the comfort and our service to our guests are our priority at all times. We are a little confused about this gentleman's mention of a "lounge" at the Inn as we have a parlor area where we serve wines and cheses each evening. We do not even have our own music playing in the background just in case someone is extra sensitive. We are concerned that perhaps one of the guests had music in their room? Usually guests are very caring & consierate of other guests staying at the same Inn. It seems that he was otherwise happy since he gave us a "very good" rating and said he would recommed us to his friends, liked out breakfst etc. I just wanted those of you out there to know that we do not have a "lounge" of any kind on the property and are a true full service Bed & Breakfast with all of your comforts in mind.
Warmly,
Lisa & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Location was ideal and within walking distance of everything in town. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful in restaurant and vineyard recommendations. We could not have been happier and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattschiusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.3 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
0.5 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#7 of 9 in St. Helena
160 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,056 reviews
8.9 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn St Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn St Helena

Property: Inn St Helena
Address: 1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1851 (Formerly Ambrose Bierce House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn St Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Napa Valley bed and breakfast! We invite you to experience the romantic charm and "warm and enthusiastic hospitality" of our 1872 Victorian bed and breakfast inn. This California bed and breakfast is in a perfect location... right in the center of the finest wineries of Napa Valley. You can walk to fine and casual dining, historic Beringer Vineyards... and unique shopping in beautiful and quaint downtown St. Helena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Inn St Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Bierce House Hotel St. Helena
Inn St Helena St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing