We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accomodating Owners - Beautiful Rooms”
Review of Inn St Helena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn St Helena
Ranked #2 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We booked a stay at Ambrose Bierce for a weekend in Mid-June. We were traveling with another couple and booked the suite. There was one bed and pull out sleeper in an adjoining room. The owners had just put in a new mattress on the sofa sleeper and it was very comfortbale! The champagne brunch was fantastic, we had wonderful crossants and eggs benedict! The location of the house could not be any more perfect either! We were walking distance to all of downtown St. Helena with fantastic restaurants and shops! I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family looking for a great place to stay in Napa! It was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COSkier11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Inn St Helena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

Location provided easy access to and from local places of interest on foot which was great. We were unhappy all around with the lack of service. The wine happy hour was nothing more than a chance for the innkeeper to carry on while offering wine selections that had already been opened and consumed during previous happy hours that week. Disappointed to say the least, as this was an amentity that appealed during booking and seemed to capture previous guests touring wine country. There was no real opportunity to discuss our disinterest on-site with the innkeeper as they were off and running and the inn was vacant otherwise.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This bed and breakfast is in the perfect location for visiting Napa and really seeing the beautiful northern section. It is walking distance from shops and many restaurants. The breakfast was exceptional and included yummy mimosas each day. We enjoyed getting to know the weekend innkeeper, Chris, as well as the owner John. The rooms are smaller as it is an old home but everything is clean, comfortable and provides a relaxing atmosphere. The price is also reasonable. We had two couples in our group and stayed in the Lillie Langtree and Edward Muybridge rooms. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Diane2515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Another great stay for Carla and me! Was this no. 4 or 5? Thanks for the personal touch including setting us up with a rental car when we tired of cycling in the rain.

Really enjoyed those gourmet breakfasts and your fine Pinot noir. We look forward to next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingsportRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Our adult family of six recently experienced an absolutely wonderful time at Ambrose Bierce House. Everyone in our group had a marvelous stay, and it was all due to the wonderful services we received from John and Lisa, the owners. Of course, our stay at Ambrose Bierce itself was terrific and we are all missing those wonderful breakfasts! Their dinner recommendations sent us to marvelous restaurants. The wineries John suggested were superb and ones that we would have never considered. It was the best trip we have had as a family and one none of us will never forget!

We can't thank John and Lisa enough for helping us to have such a wonderful time. We would recommend Ambrose Bierce House to everyone. I was happy to finally meet Lisa after many phone calls and emails from her to assure that everything was going to be just the way we wanted. Only sorry we didn't get to spend more time with her. Words can't express how much we enjoyed John's company and his guidance. In reading other reviews about this place, we read, over and over, how Ambrose Bierce was like "home". That is exactly how we came to feel. We know we will be welcome to come "home" again and hope to do so soon. And, we must mention how we enjoyed meeting Chris, who is a definite asset to your operation!

To say "Thank You" for a wonderful experience hardly seems adequate to express our appreciation of our great time. We will be back!
Diane Parkin

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianeparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This is a great place -- location, food, innkeepers, and proximity to all things wine. We walked to some fine restaurants in St. Helena and enjoyed the other guests enormously. John and Lisa are very fine hosts and their breakfasts are stellar. I'm going back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Since we used Trip Advisor to select this B&B, we found the reviews very different than our experience. We did not see the proprietor/innkeeper from the afternoon, evening, until the next morning after arrival. There were a lot of steep stairs to the entrance and it would have been helpful to have someone assist us. We did meet the proprietor until the next morning after our arrival. He was a nice guy, but on site for approximately two hours out of 24. In all of our stays at B&B's this was the worst service ever. Because of this, we cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnrun, Owner at Inn St Helena, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

I am very sorry that guests were unhappy with our service. We go out of our way to give our guests all the help they need with restaurants and wineries. We serve wine and cheeses from 5:00-6:00 each evening. If the guests arrive after 6:00 they are asked to inform us so we can make arrangements for a late check in. We are on the property most of the day but do have to be gone sometimes like out to dinner ourselves. We are always there at our checkin time so either the guests arrived late or early and did not come out for wine and cheeses. Every morning I ask the guests if I can help them in any way with wineries or things to do in the Napa Valley. After breakfast I do have to leave sometimes to go to our other Inn. Most guests are gone all day to wineries an such and we rarely see them besides at wine hour or at breakfast.
If you look at the rest of our reviews you will see that service is one of our most talked about attributes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.3 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
0.5 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
159 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
9.2 mi away
Vintage House
Vintage House
#4 of 6 in Yountville
744 reviews
8.9 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn St Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn St Helena

Address: 1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1851 (Formerly Ambrose Bierce House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: £172 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn St Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Napa Valley bed and breakfast! We invite you to experience the romantic charm and "warm and enthusiastic hospitality" of our 1872 Victorian bed and breakfast inn. This California bed and breakfast is in a perfect location... right in the center of the finest wineries of Napa Valley. You can walk to fine and casual dining, historic Beringer Vineyards... and unique shopping in beautiful and quaint downtown St. Helena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn St Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Bierce House Hotel St. Helena
Inn St Helena St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing