We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Helena

Hotel St. Helena
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel St. Helena
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed here with my friends on our first visit to Napa Valley, and the receptionist was extremely helpful. The hotel is being renovated, and the rooms and bathrooms that have been renovated are really nice. We happened to stay in a room that had not been renovated, and spoke with the receptionist about some of our concerns and they apologized completely and gave us a partial refund, which was great and unexpected. I would recommend this as an affordable place to stay in St.Helena, with a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been renovated, and if you want a private bathroom make sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    9
    14
    18
    47
See reviews for
13
42
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This wasn't the best hotel we had stayed in during our CA trip but there were some good things about it that should be pointed out. Firstly it is in a great location for dining with two EXCELLENT restaurants just minutes walk away, one just opposite the hotel. This is what you need after a day of wine tasting; somewhere where you don't need to use the car. The gentille ladies who seem to own and run the place are pleasant and helpful and we saw no signs of the grubby carpets etc that some have complained about. Admittedly it was expensive - we paid around USD 120 for a room with shared bathrooms - all that was available - but the bathrooms were always clean and dry and no sign of others using them, although they must have.
The breakfast was much better than most 'motel' style places in USA and the hotel had a calm and quiet air about it. howver, there was a fairly noisy aircon fan outside our window which we asked the landlady to turn off at night, which she did. otherwise we had no real complaints.
If you are there to enjoy the hotel then choose another, but if you are in St Helena to enjoy the region and visit the wineries etc, this place could be ideal.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms obove the side aircon plant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sculthorpe-Pike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Very sparse accomodations for price. i made a mistake and thought I had 3 nights reservation but only had 2 nights. I was touring the valley with business partner when I received a call at about 3 PM indicating i had failed to checkout so everything was gathered from my room and put in a plastic bag behind the counter. Very unprofessional. Only good thing is I had to stay somewhere else that third night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Helena hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

WHO is writing the reviews that say we had a great time here, has to be friends and relatives!!! It was late. We were getting disparate. Most all of the other hotels wanted 350-400 for the night??? This crap hole was 160. we went for it. (they love it when you pay before seeing the room, then smile in delight when they swipe your credit card, and chuckle when they take you up to the room and open the door for you.) Room old, You could almost call it a cell. First...bed check...no bed bugs spotted ...good. Carpet filthy, furniture...garage sale rejects. Hallway smelled like when I visited my father in the retirement home. Keep in mind that they have no staff at this place after 8, you are locked in the place with whoever they let stay there besides yourself, think about it...Leaf blower guy stands outside the window at seven. I do not understand what that area thinks they have that they need to charge such ridiculous prices for everything!? The wine country, Food is high priced, traffic is the worst I have seen. I ask myself why go back...why...why.
In my disgust, after this trip I started drinking beer and coffee...hard cider, I was even once reduced to sipping tea...after that one, my parents disowned me. I have been reduced to taking Viagra in the morning just to stand erect...Anyway this place sucked. Enjoy life elsewhere.

A B&B called Inkhouse wanted to take our reservation over the telephone, but we said we want to see the place first. When we got there it was on the main noisy highway, next to the railroad tracks, looked like the Munsters house from TV???The phone lady had a real attitude.

END

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geethree w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford Mines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We made a reservation, and when we got to check in, the price was higher of what we had already paid with our credit card. The only thing the rude manager offered us was ''no charge for leaving and go get a hotel room somewhere esle'' at the last minute...

Room Tip: Go to El Bonita, half a mile south of St Helena. Clean and a lot more friendly !!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

I was warned by previous reviewers but got desperate and stayed here anyway. For over $200 a night this was a serious disappointment. The room was tiny (I couldn't walk around the room after I opened my overnight bag), looked out onto a brick wall, paint was peeling in several spots, there was no night stand next to the bed and thus no lamp next to the bed, lighting from the ceiling lamp was inadequate to read, there was no TV or even a clock radio. I had to stand on the bed to turn on the ceiling fan and it was hot. Opening the window was not an option as the inadequate air conditioner was outside of the window and very loud. The carpet was old and I put towels on the floor for sanitary reasons. The bathroom was "down-the-hall" which I knew ahead of time. For this price, I would have expected a few more amenities especially for "down-the-hall" such as throw away slippers, paper cups in the bathroom, shower items. . . Breakfast consisted of pre-packaged bakery goods and beige coffee. This is a budget hotel with top pricing. And, yes, as other reviewers said, it has a weird feeling. I got up early and couldn't wait to get out. There is no elevator so be prepared to lug your bags up 2 flights of stairs. If it was a deal, I'd put up with the inconveniences but for the price - this hotel is ridiculous. Drive a little further and be more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I travelled to St. Helena for a week long class at the Culinary Institute of America and stayed at the Hotel St. Helena. As I was checking in, the lady at the front desk mentioned that she would be on duty until 8:00 PM. Since I travelled from Orlando Florida, the first order of business was a nice long nap, followed by unpacking and dinner. When I got back to my room around 8:10, I turned on the TV and found that it did not work. Fortunately, the lady (owner?) at the front desk was still there, waiting for one last guest to arrive. She immediately moved me to a different room--one slightly larger and with a bigger bathroom (and a working TV!). I don't know what hotel some of the other reviewers stayed at, but it could not have been this one. I found Hotel St. Helena to be quaint, tasteful, and clean. I have a bad back, and as such at home sleep on a mattress only slightly softer than a slab of granite. But I suffered no ill effects at all from the hotel's mattress. I did not venture into the garden, but the upstairs common area proved to be the perfect place, if a little dark, to enjoy a glass of wine after a long hot day in the kitchens of CIA. I also cannot speak to the quality of the breakfast or afternoon tea as class coincided with both. The location cannot be beat. Right in the heart of downtown St. Helena, with numerous restaurants and all of the shopping within easy walking distance, again I'll mention the bad back. There were really few negatives, but if I had to nitpick, an ice machine in a common area, or better yet small fridge in the room, would have been nice. Also, if you are travelling with a laptop and your power brick has a three prong plug, then you might want to bring a short extension cord or buy one at the hardware store just up the street as the only three prong outlet is in the bathroom. All in all, I would happily stay at Hotel St. Helena again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlandoRob238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
2.1 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#4 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn St Helena
Inn St Helena
#2 of 12 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helena

Property: Hotel St. Helena
Address: 1309 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1900
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel St. Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Helena Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing