We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. Helena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Helena
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I would stay at this hotel, if the cost was about $89.00 a night. The only reason they get a star is because the women at the front counter are adorable. The beds are uncomfortable and the rooms are extremely small. Also, you can hear every whisper inside the hotel and outside of the hotel. It is not worth the average price of $300.00 a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 341Shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    9
    15
    18
    48
See reviews for
14
42
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I just spent 3 horrible nights in this place at top dollar. The first day all seemed nice and sweet but it was hot out and no a.c. room and hotel like an oven, horrible noise from the street. We complained and tried to get out of it..no way. The next day a.c. came on full blast (no in room control) freezing. No window screens. Wi Fi advertised but signal so weak it is useless.
The complimentary breakfast was a bunch of stale Costco pastry and hard boiled eggs..every day along with cheap coffee. We never got fresh soap, had our room glasses washed or replaced..all in all terrible service at a premium price.

Room Tip: if you have to stay there get a room on the alley rather than the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Helena hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had six people in three rooms. Only one had air conditioning. And it was too cold! The rest of the hotel was hot. It was summer. It's hot in St. Helena in the summer. We were the only guests in the hotel and they could to get all three rooms cooled off properly. For $300/night?

Not only that, the parking spaces are double deep. Our car was blocked in and we could not get to an appointment in the morning because the owner of a nearby jewelry store parked behind us! His wife was incredibly rude when we asked him to move. We should have had him towed.

Go to another place~

Room Tip: There isn't one if you want a climate controlled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We read the reviews and thought to ourselves, we're low maintenance people - we will be fine. But we weren't...and it's simply due to the cost. It's not worth the money you will pay .. trust me, it's really not. I love character but I've been in better places for less money. Originally we were placed in an TINY room -- literally enough room for a bed -- and that was almost $300. Luckily we were moved to a bigger room (which was great) but the floor was extremely slanted -- to the point where I found myself stumbling a couple of times (and I was completely sober). The room had a clawfoot tub (but there was no stopper??) and the bed was so uncomfortable. We spent the night tossing and turning. The best thing about this space is the location - which was stellar. But as pretty much all the reviews say, the location doesn't make up for the overpriced poor condition of the space. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chanell_fletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel needs complete renovation. Air conditioning doesn't work. No sound insulation which means no sleep do constant street noise. Rooms are tiny and in disrepair. Prices are absurdly high for a dump like this. Only good thing was that the staff was nice and we're apologetic about the condo on of the hotel. You will sleep better in your car. Save your money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wclise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I'm a 20 year old young lady, staying by myself for the first time. I instantly felt at home and safe when I returned to my room around 11:30pm.

I'm a lover of antiques, so I thought the claw foot tub and the whole atmosphere of the room was very charming and quaint.
I loved the fact that it was a historical building, that was fantastic!

Major wins:
- Squeaky clean sheets (no visible stains)
- Clean carpet (I did the sock test, result was clean socks)
- Quaint furnishings (I love the style of the bed, so cute!!)
- The cheapest rate on short notice in the area (for a college student, this was very important)
- Lovely continental breakfast spread (different types of pastries, yogurt, cereal, AMAZING COFFEE!!)
- Friendly and welcoming employees (everyone had a smile and a cheerful Good Morning!)

Fails:
- Small sink (hard to wash my face in it)
- Towels are not absorbent at all ( had to use two or three just for my hair)
- Beds are rock hard (I can sleep just about anywhere and it took me a while to find a comfy spot)
- Lights are not the brightest (had to sit awkwardly on the floor facing the window to get proper light to do makeup, mildly annoying)


BE SURE TO BRING A SMALL EXTENSION CORD!!! I had to charge my phone in the bathroom, the only outlet in the room did not work and it was behind the bed.

If you're looking for a chic, up to date hotel, look somewhere else.

Give it a try, I enjoyed my limited stay!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Talk about over priced. It was hard to believe this place could charge as much as it does for a hotel room that has nothing! I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years and this was probably the most expensive hotel room per square foot that I have stayed in and it was terrible.

-100 square foot room that barely fit a queen size bed (if you do the math it was $3.30 per square foot per night!)
-Ceiling fan didn't work
-All hotel decor/furniture from ~1900
-You can feel the springs in the mattress
-Only two miniature reading lamps and one didn't even have a light bulb!
-No A/C
-100 year old towels that felt like sandpaper
-No one at the front desk after 10p

I will stop there before I break my keyboard.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
2.1 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#4 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn St Helena
Inn St Helena
#2 of 12 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helena

Property: Hotel St. Helena
Address: 1309 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1900
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel St. Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Helena Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing