We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting brunch”

Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch
Reserve with OpenTable
Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Charter Oak
Description: Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch's restaurant showcases the seasonal, ingredient-driven American farmhouse cooking of executive chef Stephen Barber. LMR Grass-fed Beef CheeseburgerHoused in a former nursery barn, our 110-seat restaurant revolves around a central open kitchen with booth and central seating, community dining, and a full bar. We feature an authentic farm-to-table menu. The ingredients are foraged from local sources and feature Long Meadow Ranch's all natural grass-fed beef and lamb, organic and sustainably produced eggs, fruits, vegetables, extra virgin olive oil, vinegar, and honey. Possessing a substantial background in Southern cooking styles, Stephen emphasizes a wood-burning element for select dishes. Stephen's kitchen is also outfitted with a plancha, a cast-iron grill ideal for searing Long Meadow Ranch's healthy, tender, and flavorful grass-fed beef and lamb. Community tables at Farmstead restaurantFarmstead at Long Meadow Ranch's restaurant wine program features Long Meadow Ranch Winery's elegant and balanced wines, as well as other domestic and international wines selected by Chris Hall to complement the restaurant's American farmhouse cooking. LMR and Farmstead wines are also available to purchase to-go at the Logan-Ives House cellar door. There is no corkage fee at Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch. Instead, a $5-per-bottle fee is collected as a donation to a featured local community-building not-for-profit organization each month. We call this program Corkage for Community. Outdoor bar at Farmstead restaurantOutdoors in season, guests can enjoy a meal among the espalier apple trees, drinks at the bar, or relax with friends and family by the cozy wood-fired authentic forge. Monday through Friday from 4 PM to 6 PM we offer a Growers' Happy Hour with specially-priced cocktails, beer, and wine and a special bar menu. We also offer Weekly Traditions featuring special friendly, casual menus on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday nghts and on Sunday for brunch. Live entertainment on Fridays. The regular menu is available everyday. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Walk-ins are welcome
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting brunch”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stopped for a Sunday brunch between wine tastings. The space is airy and rustic with nice landscaping, including lemon and pomegranate bushes. Hits were the mini ham sandwiches from the appetizer menu and the short rib hash, eggs Benedict and pulled pork sandwich from the brunch menu. Less favored was the burger and potatoes that was unusually flavored. All in all a pleasant lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arkcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,161
    469
    120
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere but food was hit and miss”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The restarant is beautiful. I had a ribeye steak that was cooked more than I asked for and was tough. I expected more for the price and it being a special of the night. The broccolini was very good. The others had pork chop & ribs which were good but not great. The apple crisp dessert was very good especially with the bourbon ice cream made with real bourbon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
332 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Good but not for the price”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We went mid-July for our birthday weekend celebration. We've heard a lot about the farm to table and Napa Valley restaurants but we were very disappointed. While the atmosphere and decor was beautiful and stylish, the food was nothing special. We had a free cheddar biscuit from our Yelp checkin which was very good. But our main courses, the lamb shank and gnocchi was lacking. The lamb had potential to be great but it was just average.My blackberry spritzer was over-strong and their beer selection was limited (we don't enjoy wine). However, since most people go to Napa to drink wine, this can be overlooked.

Overall, a mediocre experience not worth the price we paid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cary, north carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved the grilled artichoke!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a very lively restaurant with really nice indoor and outdoor seating. The food was super fresh and really well prepared. I had the kale salad and the grilled artichoke and loved them both. My husband had the smoked pork shoulder sandwich and loved it. Great central location just south of St. Helena.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawk1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Be sure to ask lots of questions about the specials!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This is a tricky review to write. I'll start with loving the whole concept of farm to table. The vegetables were delicious and probably the best Brussels sprouts I ever had. One person in our party had the pork tenderloin which was wonderful. But two people ordered the grass fed ribeye, a special, which the waiter recommended. What he didn't tell us was that the meat was chewy/tougher than regular beef. The men were a bit hesitant at first to bring it up at the table but they were definitely both very disappointed in the meat as it was so chewy and not so much flavor. The dish was also quite as bit more expensive than other things on the menu but unfortunately if you don't ask you font find out til you get the bill. If the waiter had warned us about the chewiness in advance no would would have ordered it. There are plenty of other things on the menu that were appealing and tried and true.
That being said after paying my husband did tell management of his disappointment and they offered to take it off the bill. If I had been there I would have probably graciously accepted, at least to remove one, but my husband felt funny about complaining. We followed with a trip to the outdoor bar where the manager did comp us one of our rounds (kindly) All of the staff was exceptionally nice, helpful and friendly. We had the best cosmos ever there and lived the outdoor fireplace.
So I guess this review would have been very different had the men just ordered the pork or the ribs. We had a nice discussion with the manager who was very sorry and also concerned about our meals. We just felt we should have been made aware of this issue when we inquired about the special and he seemed to understand and agree.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SylLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing