We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent but less than expected”

Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch
Reserve with OpenTable
Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Charter Oak
Description: Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch's restaurant showcases the seasonal, ingredient-driven American farmhouse cooking of executive chef Stephen Barber. LMR Grass-fed Beef CheeseburgerHoused in a former nursery barn, our 110-seat restaurant revolves around a central open kitchen with booth and central seating, community dining, and a full bar. We feature an authentic farm-to-table menu. The ingredients are foraged from local sources and feature Long Meadow Ranch's all natural grass-fed beef and lamb, organic and sustainably produced eggs, fruits, vegetables, extra virgin olive oil, vinegar, and honey. Possessing a substantial background in Southern cooking styles, Stephen emphasizes a wood-burning element for select dishes. Stephen's kitchen is also outfitted with a plancha, a cast-iron grill ideal for searing Long Meadow Ranch's healthy, tender, and flavorful grass-fed beef and lamb. Community tables at Farmstead restaurantFarmstead at Long Meadow Ranch's restaurant wine program features Long Meadow Ranch Winery's elegant and balanced wines, as well as other domestic and international wines selected by Chris Hall to complement the restaurant's American farmhouse cooking. LMR and Farmstead wines are also available to purchase to-go at the Logan-Ives House cellar door. There is no corkage fee at Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch. Instead, a $5-per-bottle fee is collected as a donation to a featured local community-building not-for-profit organization each month. We call this program Corkage for Community. Outdoor bar at Farmstead restaurantOutdoors in season, guests can enjoy a meal among the espalier apple trees, drinks at the bar, or relax with friends and family by the cozy wood-fired authentic forge. Monday through Friday from 4 PM to 6 PM we offer a Growers' Happy Hour with specially-priced cocktails, beer, and wine and a special bar menu. We also offer Weekly Traditions featuring special friendly, casual menus on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday nghts and on Sunday for brunch. Live entertainment on Fridays. The regular menu is available everyday. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Walk-ins are welcome
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent but less than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have friends who rave about this place. To be fair, we ate there on a busy Saturday night, so maybe that was the issue. Service was good but impersonal. The ambience is quite nice. Very farmy and interesting. But our food was just okay. We will try it again when we return to Napa and hopefully they will Wow us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoUtes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longmeadowranch, General Manager at Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It is important to us that every guest receives genuinely warm and hospitable service, and we sincerely apologize if you experienced anything less. Additionally, we regret learning that you were not enthusiastic about your meal. Did you happen to share feedback with your server? It is our policy to replace any dish not enjoyed by our guests. We would have sought to serve a dish you enjoyed or removed it from your bill. We look forward to the opportunity to make things right on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,121
    454
    115
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK but stick to the BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Staff was OK but a little "stiff". Food was OK but we ordered off of their main cuisine.. Probably better to have the steak or chicken.ribs looked terrific..next time we will do the BBQ dinners.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22benjaminp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longmeadowranch, General Manager at Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Our servers are trained to provide genuinely warm service, and we are sorry to learn that we did not achieve this during your visit. Our regular menu offers a variety of all-natural heritage meats, including grass-fed beef and lamb, St. Louis-style ribs, and pork chops. You might also enjoy our "Weekly Traditions," which are special, casual dinner menus offered in addition to our regular menu each Monday (Family Night - Meatloaf), Tuesday (Fried Chicken Night), and Wednesday (California Creole). We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just stopped in on a Sunday afternoon - no reservations. Sat at the bar and ate there - really great service and food. Must get the homemade donuts - wow! Entree's were great as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arkansastiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yountville, California, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We reserved a table for four and came early enough to get a booth. It was a birthday dinner, and the restaurant started us off with a nice Sauvignon Blanc. While I usually have seafood, this time I had a smoked pork chop which was excellent. Farmstead epitomizes the somewhat tired but popular Farm to Table experience as they raise cattle. Everyone in our party enjoyed their dishes. Farmstead also has a small corkage fee which they donate to local schools, thus we brought two bottles which reduced our bill. It is a large space, and they do frequent wedding receptions. A lovely setting, good food and service. Very nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyGates_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Farm to Table at its Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We started with the Farmstead charcuterie and pickles for our mid afternoon lunch. It truly was an excellent presentation of craftsmanship and taste. Now on to the LMR cheeseburger on a potato bun with cheddar, arugula and crispy potatoes. It was delicious- order the egg on top and you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Farmstead at Long Meadow Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing