We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like staying with friends!”
Review of Wydown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wydown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Just like staying with friends!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at the Wydown Hotel in St Helena in January 2012. The rooms are decorated in calming shades of grey and neutrals and are of a good size. They are equipped with a mini fridge, flat screen tv, coffee machine, hairdryer and iron. We had a standing shower with our room; water pressure was good and they supplied loads of white fluffy towels. There was also free wifi access in our hotel room. 

Formerly known as Hotel 1424, the newly renovated Wydown Hotel reopened in May 2011. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring St Helena, being literally steps away from the shops on Main St and diagonally across the road from Model Bakery. It is also a short walk to a large Safeway supermarket behind the hotel and round the corner from popular St Helena restaurants like Cindy's Back Kitchen and Terra. There is also free parking for guests at the back of the hotel and a gas station right next door.

Currently, the hotel does not serve breakfast and provides a self service counter with coffee and tea making facilities and some fresh fruit and granola bars in the hallway every morning but staff said they may explore offering something more substantial in future. Vouchers for free coffee from Napa Valley Coffee company across the road are also issued daily. 

All guest rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel and currently, there are about 12 guest rooms, which makes for very personalized service. Credit must go especially to reception staff Carole and Lisa, who patiently answered our numerous email queries prior to our stay about our accommodation as well as transport and dining options in the area. Their recommendations for restaurants such as La Condesa and Market, which are all within a block of the hotel, were spot on. Carole helped us with our car rental arrangements and printed out detailed maps from google with handwritten instructions marking out the restaurant we were visiting in Yountville plus various parking options nearby to ensure that we didn't get lost. At one point, she even offered to drive us to CIA in her own car when we were stuck for transport. We didn't have to take her up on that but were touched by her offer all the same.

All this made a lasting impression on us and we would recommend the Wydown Hotel to anyone visiting St Helena without hesitation. 

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    46
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
71
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Just renovated, this is a great little botique hotel.. lovely, contemporary rooms. Helpful staff.. great location.. free parking.. amazing resturants and shopping within walking distance.. park your car and enjoy the town! You won't have to go far for some great adventures, be it hiking, biking or wine tasting.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KayCeeRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We didn't purposely book the Wydown, but it was the only place with rooms available that we could find in Saint Helena when we checked on-line. We couldn't have been more pleased with the result.

The hotel is in the heart of downtown and a short walk to Merryvale, Clif Family, Health Spa Napa Valley (the health club available for guests), a Safeway, and some really good restaurants (reviews for Market, Gillwoods Cafe, Cook, Villa Corona, and Model Bakery will be posted).

The Wydown staff was friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, and well-trained. The room was spacious, clean, and well appointed. Interior noise levels were fine and street noise minimal. Parking was behind the hotel and free!

If you get a reservation to taste at Spottswoode, that is within walking distance, too.

We will stay here the next time we travel to Napa.

Room Tip: ******The swimming pool is free at Health Spa Napa Valley.*******
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mredmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We spent a night at the Wydown hotel this weekend and were very pleased with our choice. The hotel feels brand new after its recent renovation, with a very nice Pottery Barn feel to the rooms. The hotel is light on amenities but our room was a very nice size, incredibly clean, had a great feel, and exceeded our expectations. The location couldn't have been better, right in the heart of St. Helena, within easy walking distance of all the shops and restaurants, and conveniently at the end of our drive after a day of tasting in the valley. Free parking was a nice addition and the only comlaint we had was that $400 price tag seemed a bit steep given the simple nature of the hotel. All in all, we would definitely recommend the hotel for anyone seeking cute clean digs, in a great location, but its not ideal if you're looking for seclusion, fireplaces, and lush grounds.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dhadjinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I asked if anyone had stayed at this Hotel last year as we had booked it to go to my son,s 40th Birthday.
We have just had a lovely 3 night stay at Hotel 1424 along with at least 4 other rooms booked by friends and family members.
Our stay was really nice, loved having a kitchen area as Husbands meds needed to be in the fridge and we brought food and breakfast goodies so it worked out great.
Lovely rooms and very clean with a few nice little touches that made the stay very pleasant, yes we all would go back again....Lovely Hotel

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We had a wonderful time at Hotel 1424. We were treated like old friends by the staff and owner. It was the best hotel experience of my life, and I'm almost 60 yrs. old. Everyone was helpful in advising us about where to go and what to do in St. Helena and the Napa Valley. We loved the town, the hotel, and even the weather was perfect! The spa/exercise gym was very nice, but was several blocks away, which we didn't mind. We rode the complimentary hotel bikes all around town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank physicsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The hotel was right in the middle of St. Helena. Rooms were very nice and large, really quiet. Carol was wonderful at front desk. Beds were futon mattresses which is only reason why its not an excellent review.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justwanttoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
1.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
8.8 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,286 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wydown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wydown Hotel

Property: Wydown Hotel
Address: 1424 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1848
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wydown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the heritage of Napa Valley and the cosmopolitan setting of downtown St. Helena, the Wydown offers guests a modern take on the classic wine country getaway. This 12-room boutique hotel offers amenities that include King beds, flat screen HD TVs, glass enclosed showers, Free Wi-Fi throughout, skylights and tiled bathrooms with granite countertops. Rooms also include Molton Brown bath products, plush robes and slippers, Nespresso coffee makers, Geneva sound systems and Health Spa Napa Valley passes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Wydown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wydown Hotel St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing