We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and new, but not very warm or welcoming”
Review of Wydown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wydown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of our week in Sonoma/Napa. After staying at a B&B and a very nice Inn, this was definitely not the setting that we were used to. The front desk staff mad ea mistake with my billing but they made it right after I spoke to 3 different people about it.

Pros:
-Clean
-Modern decor
-Great value for a weekend night
-Materra tasting room is right next door
-Proximity to the best shops and restaurants in St. Helena (Some of our favorites: the St. Helena Olive Oil Company as well as their bath product store up the street, Olivier, and Woodhouse Chocolate)
-Large bed

Cons:
-Too many different people working at the front desk=confusion
-You will not get a warm, welcoming feeling; it actually feels quite cold and impersonal
-No breakfast except for cereal bars and fruit in the morning
-The volunteer fire alarm at 7 AM (I realize this is not controlled by the hotel, and they did warn us about it, but it's still annoying)
-The rooms were relatively quiet at night but you could hear noise in the hallway if anyone was walking through it
-Shower is large, but it reminded me a little bit of hospital walls and floor with the type of tile

So if you only care about proximity to St. Helena, it's a decent place. But if you want a warm, welcoming place to stay check out a B&B instead. It's just not what we prefer when we travel and we probably wouldn't stay again, but many others might enjoy it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

Located right on a main street in St. Helena, Napa area with easy walking distances to many quaint boutique shops, restaurants and close to many local wineries. It is situated between other small businesses and easy to miss so drive slowly thru the town. Parking is in the back and easily accessible. Room was large, updated, clean with pleasant atmosphere, very good a/c and comfortable bed. The furnishings were uniquely designer contemporary, and comfy. Light snacks available free for breakfast with coffee and teas. Small hotel, no pool but a pass to the spa down the street was offered though we didnt have time to check. We booked 4 rooms for two nites for a special family event and it was very convenient though quite pricey but I guess most hotels in this area are. There is a fun little donated goods/antigues store attached to hotel as well that is fun to browse where profits go to charity. Nice area to just stroll and enjoy the small town feel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We absolutely loved our stay! Everything was perfect!! The hotel is right in the center of town allowing us to walk to many restaurants. The rooms were spacious and very nicely decorated. Would most defiantly recommend and we are already planning a future visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjost000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The boutique hotel is located in downtown St. Helena CA. It is within walking distance to wonderful wineries and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room number 1 had great scenic views of the mountains and tons of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d2sheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We visit Napa often and love this hotel. This is not the usual B&B you find in Napa, but a small refurbished boutique hotel. The hotel itself is decorated in a very contemporary style in shades of grays and neutrals.

We stayed in an exterior atrium room which was quite large and bright. There is a coffee maker and a mini-fridge in the room stocked with water, half & half for your coffee and juice drinks. Breakfast is self-serve on the second floor (where all the rooms are located) and is an assortment of bagels and power bars. Wi-fi is free.

The staff is very helpful, the rooms immaculate; and the location on Main Street is within walking distance of several great restaurants, stores and a few tasting rooms. Free parking is provided in the rear of the hotel. Free passes to a nearby fitness center is provided for the duration of your stay.

Room Tip: Corner suites are quite large and have a bathtub. Exterior atrium rooms are quite bright and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I booked this from recommendations on Trip Advisor and am so glad that I did. Our room was very stylishly decorated, very clean and very comfortable, and the service was good - very helpful but unobtrusive.

There is no bar nor restaurant on the premises but there are so many amazing places close to hand that these things really aren't necessary. You also get a free coffee at the coffee house over the road!

Room Tip: Book restaurants ahead via the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlamPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Had the privelege of staying at Wydown Hotel after taking advantage of a travel deal I received via a 3rd party.

This hotel is located right on Main St. It is a great location for getting to the local tasting rooms and wineries (many of which are within walking distance). They have covered parking in the back of the property. You can tell this was recently renovated and I liked their taste. We were greeted by their receptionist who although warned us that she was very new...went out of her way to answer our questions and find someone to answer the questions she was not able to.

All rooms are on the 2nd floor. This is a small boutique hotel, only 12 rooms. We had a corner room (#10) with king bed. It was spacious with all the amenities you'd need (tv, desk, lounge area, mini-fridge, keurig coffee maker). The bed was very comfortable and we really enjoyed that there was a skylight in the bathroom and in the main bedroom, wonderful to get natural light. Another positive is that the heating/air system is nice and quiet. You are warned upon checking in that because the hotel is located near the volunteer fire station there is a chance you'll hear the call siren. We did hear it twice while at the hotel, first upon checking in and then again at 6am. Not the hotel's fault and the siren doesn't last very long, just a little startling. It would not keep me from returning.

Other amenities of the hotel are free wi-fi and a simple continental breakfast (bagels, bread, fruit, tea and cereal bars) Good for a light breakfast or snack. The hotel does not have a pool/hot tub or gym facilities. They offer passes to the local health club about 2 blocks away however we did not get a chance to check it out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
1.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
#4 of 9 in St. Helena
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
164 reviews
9.4 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
941 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meadowood Napa Valley
Meadowood Napa Valley
#1 of 9 in St. Helena
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wydown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wydown Hotel

Address: 1424 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1848
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £207 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wydown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the heritage of Napa Valley and the cosmopolitan setting of downtown St. Helena, the Wydown offers guests a modern take on the classic wine country getaway. This 12-room boutique hotel offers amenities that include King beds, flat screen HD TVs, glass enclosed showers, Free Wi-Fi throughout, skylights and tiled bathrooms with granite countertops. Rooms also include Molton Brown bath products, plush robes and slippers, Nespresso coffee makers, Geneva sound systems and Health Spa Napa Valley passes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Wydown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wydown Hotel St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing