We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wydown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wydown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September and absoultely loved it. It was everything we needed for a weekend trip to Napa. The hotel was centrally located to all the wineries in Napa. Everything in the hotel is new and modern and super clean. The rooms were so spacious, even the bathroom!The staff is so friendly. Lisa helped me plan my entire Napa trip. She suggested wineries we should visit, made the appointments for us and even found us a great driver to take us around. The hotel was at capacity that weekend and yet I new saw another patron!!!! The price is right and the next time I am back in the area I will definitely stay at the Wydown.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxarielle826xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    46
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
71
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

When you visit the website of this hotel/motel you are given a warm feeling that the owners really love the hotel and their business.

On arrival you see a different side. The hotel is modern and nicely decorated with large rooms. Although our bathroom was big we had no bath and a very small area for the sink. It all seemed out of proportion.

The only visible person working in the hotel is the receptionist. We had three different receptionists for our one night stay. The hotel felt very clinical more like a motel than a hotel.

We paid €324 for one night and would have expected more for our dollar. The breakfast offering was embarrassing and we had to go over to the local coffee shop for coffee and pastries. You get the feeling this hotel needs to offer more for the price.

There is no outside space to sit and enjoy the local atmosphere.

So while the location was right on Main Street and great for the shops, restaurants and bars of St Helena, there must be better places to stay that make you feel more welcome and give better value for money.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, get a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of our week in Sonoma/Napa. After staying at a B&B and a very nice Inn, this was definitely not the setting that we were used to. The front desk staff mad ea mistake with my billing but they made it right after I spoke to 3 different people about it.

Pros:
-Clean
-Modern decor
-Great value for a weekend night
-Materra tasting room is right next door
-Proximity to the best shops and restaurants in St. Helena (Some of our favorites: the St. Helena Olive Oil Company as well as their bath product store up the street, Olivier, and Woodhouse Chocolate)
-Large bed

Cons:
-Too many different people working at the front desk=confusion
-You will not get a warm, welcoming feeling; it actually feels quite cold and impersonal
-No breakfast except for cereal bars and fruit in the morning
-The volunteer fire alarm at 7 AM (I realize this is not controlled by the hotel, and they did warn us about it, but it's still annoying)
-The rooms were relatively quiet at night but you could hear noise in the hallway if anyone was walking through it
-Shower is large, but it reminded me a little bit of hospital walls and floor with the type of tile

So if you only care about proximity to St. Helena, it's a decent place. But if you want a warm, welcoming place to stay check out a B&B instead. It's just not what we prefer when we travel and we probably wouldn't stay again, but many others might enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Located right on a main street in St. Helena, Napa area with easy walking distances to many quaint boutique shops, restaurants and close to many local wineries. It is situated between other small businesses and easy to miss so drive slowly thru the town. Parking is in the back and easily accessible. Room was large, updated, clean with pleasant atmosphere, very good a/c and comfortable bed. The furnishings were uniquely designer contemporary, and comfy. Light snacks available free for breakfast with coffee and teas. Small hotel, no pool but a pass to the spa down the street was offered though we didnt have time to check. We booked 4 rooms for two nites for a special family event and it was very convenient though quite pricey but I guess most hotels in this area are. There is a fun little donated goods/antigues store attached to hotel as well that is fun to browse where profits go to charity. Nice area to just stroll and enjoy the small town feel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We absolutely loved our stay! Everything was perfect!! The hotel is right in the center of town allowing us to walk to many restaurants. The rooms were spacious and very nicely decorated. Would most defiantly recommend and we are already planning a future visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjost000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster Groves, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

The boutique hotel is located in downtown St. Helena CA. It is within walking distance to wonderful wineries and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room number 1 had great scenic views of the mountains and tons of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d2sheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We visit Napa often and love this hotel. This is not the usual B&B you find in Napa, but a small refurbished boutique hotel. The hotel itself is decorated in a very contemporary style in shades of grays and neutrals.

We stayed in an exterior atrium room which was quite large and bright. There is a coffee maker and a mini-fridge in the room stocked with water, half & half for your coffee and juice drinks. Breakfast is self-serve on the second floor (where all the rooms are located) and is an assortment of bagels and power bars. Wi-fi is free.

The staff is very helpful, the rooms immaculate; and the location on Main Street is within walking distance of several great restaurants, stores and a few tasting rooms. Free parking is provided in the rear of the hotel. Free passes to a nearby fitness center is provided for the duration of your stay.

Room Tip: Corner suites are quite large and have a bathtub. Exterior atrium rooms are quite bright and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
1.9 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
8.8 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wydown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wydown Hotel

Property: Wydown Hotel
Address: 1424 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1848
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wydown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the heritage of Napa Valley and the cosmopolitan setting of downtown St. Helena, the Wydown offers guests a modern take on the classic wine country getaway. This 12-room boutique hotel offers amenities that include King beds, flat screen HD TVs, glass enclosed showers, Free Wi-Fi throughout, skylights and tiled bathrooms with granite countertops. Rooms also include Molton Brown bath products, plush robes and slippers, Nespresso coffee makers, Geneva sound systems and Health Spa Napa Valley passes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Wydown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wydown Hotel St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing