We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel in Perfect Location”
Review of Wydown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wydown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I had been wanting to do a trip to Napa for a while but had always heard things about the area being pretentious or intimidating. NOT TRUE AT ALL and the Wydown Hotel was a perfect choice for us. Close to everything - shops and restaurants - in the adorable town of St. Helena, once we parked our car when we arrived and didn't need to move it.

The rooms are lovely - very clean and stylish. Complimentary water and beverages in the minibar were also a nice perk. In addition, a nice selection of teas were also available around the clock with to-go cups.

Hotel staff was great - very knowledgeable and gave us tickets for free tastings at a number of nearby winery's. This hotel is also a pick up location for the Platypus tours - which we highly recommend doing, as well!

Nearby dining options are fantastic - we dined at Market and Archetype - both were delightful. We were also referred to Goose & Gander but ran out of time on our trip. All were well within walking distance.

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay while touring the Napa Valley, the Wydown won't let you down!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJD6260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Wydown provided us with a great location for a recent wedding and wine tour trip. The hotel has an intimate feel but the rooms were very spacious and newly updated. The hallways are a bit noisy the wood floors don't absorb the noise and we could hear people clomping and going all night.
A bit pricey with no real services or Food & Beverage offers but you can't beat the location and great parking too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcrosstalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed one night at the Wydown and found everything to work well. We stayed in Room 1 which was spacious and had a pull out sofa which allowed for a third person to stay in the room. The parking in back is very convenient and the hotel is on the Main Street in St Helena and walkable to all the restaurants. Only reason why this wasn't rated 'Excellent' was that it wasn't good value for the money - but that could just be St Helena. . ..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you are looking for a small, boutique hotel right in the middle of the charming town of St. Helena and you don't mind spending a bit more, then this is the place. Great location, good service, clean, modern rooms with bathrooms that have shower stalls with glass enclosures (as opposed to shower curtains). Parking is located off the back alley. We had a nice quiet night's rest on a very comfortable bed. There is no breakfast included in the price, but they do give you a coupon for a cup of coffee or pastry at a nearby coffee store. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieS509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed here one night while visiting Napa. This hotel is fabulous!! Very comfortable,modern and great location. We walked to Market Restaurant ( across street) for delicious dinner and wine. There's plenty of boutique shops all in easy walking distance too.
Would definitely return again!

Room Tip: Probably best for back room vs street but town pretty quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impulse104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Wydown is a fantastic place to stay if you like charm, cleanliness, and a friendly staff. It is a bit expensive, but much more affordable than most places in the area for a good hotel. My biggest complaint were the uncomfortable pillows, which I brought to their attention. They informed me that they have heard this before and are in the process of getting better pillows. My husband and I like quiet and I had requested the most quite room in the hotel. I was informed they would request a room facing the atrium, which is the most quiet. When we arrived we were told that we were upgraded to a room that is brighter, because of the windows facing the street. I was excited to hear "upgrade", so I had put "quiet room" out of my mind. I was told by the desk clerk that if we didn't like the room we could move to another, but I said we would give the room a try. It was noisy, because of the morning traffic. When I brought this up to them they were willing to change rooms for us. We decided we didn't want to move our stuff, so we stayed. Next time, I would definitely get a room facing the atrium. Because of the staff wanting to accommodate and the decor being so fantastic I would stay at the Wydown again.

Room Tip: If you want quiet choose a room off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This small (12 room) hotel near the Culinary Institute is a gem. Prior to my visit, I spoke to Carol several times. She helped by providing suggestions for transportation and restaurants. Her knowledge of the area was invaluable. Our room was spacious and very clean. Located on the Main Street, it's close to restaurants, shops and a grocery store.
If you are headed to the area for a class at the CIA, it's difficult to get transportation early morning
classes. The local taxi doesn't provide serve before 8.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WydownHotel, Front Office Manager at Wydown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Laurie G.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreciate your kind words. Please come back and visit us again!

Carole Castell
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
1.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
#3 of 9 in St. Helena
68 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
431 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wydown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wydown Hotel

Address: 1424 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1848
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £198 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wydown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the heritage of Napa Valley and the cosmopolitan setting of downtown St. Helena, the Wydown offers guests a modern take on the classic wine country getaway. This 12-room boutique hotel offers amenities that include King beds, flat screen HD TVs, glass enclosed showers, Free Wi-Fi throughout, skylights and tiled bathrooms with granite countertops. Rooms also include Molton Brown bath products, plush robes and slippers, Nespresso coffee makers, Geneva sound systems and Health Spa Napa Valley passes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wydown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wydown Hotel St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing