We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a perfect place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adagio Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Helena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adagio Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This was a perfect place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Well, there is a very good reason why every single review on here for the Adagio Inn is 5 stars! So I'll add mine to the long list, and tell you that it is a beautiful bed and breakfast inn, and I'd recommend it in a heartbeat to anyone who was considering staying here. We went here to celebrate our 29th Anniversary, and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations! First off, it's kept in pristine condition, inside and out. The gardens are beautiful as you enter the front, and a beautiful, dogwood tree was in bloom! And the parlor, sitting areas and rooms were just amazing!!! Nothing is haphazard here. Every last detail has been thought of, and looks like you've stepped into a decorator's magazine! The fabrics, furnishings, accents, linens and all amenities are the best! The bed is incredibly comfortable, and had fine linens on it. There was a huge stained glass window in our room that was just picturesque! And our room was very large! The biggest I've ever seen in a bed and breakfast inn! It had an attached living room with super comfortable furniture. Really, all the furniture in this home looks like it belongs in a museum! Except that it's super comfy!!! We liked that there was not only a tv but that the inn also provides a bunch of great dvd's out in the hallway for you to use, if you felt like watching a movie. There was a claw foot tub in the bathroom which was pretty quaint too! Now, let me tell you about the owner/manager, Polly. She's friendly to a fault, and available to help with any request, but she's also mindful to allow you privacy. It's like she appears to bring you things, answer questions you may have, make recommendations if you ask, but then she disappears to attend to her work. The breakfast room is a sunny area that is set up with small, intimate individual tables, conducive to private visiting, which we prefer over the big breakfast tables at most b&b's, where you're sort of forced to visit with the other patrons. There were Fresh flowers on every table, and a very cute array of eclectic dishes that all coordinate, even though they're different! There is also an attached balcony set up with breakfast tables, if you prefer to dine al fresco. We were served an absolutely divine breakfast of a type of quiche that had a wild mushroom crust! There was fresh juices, great coffee, apple-chicken sausages, heirloom tomatoes from a local farmer's market, among other delectables. I can't remember all of them, but do remember loving every bite! (that's saying a lot, since we're pretty serious about our food!)And Polly is more than happy to share recipes, if you ask. She even has copies of them in a binder, so she can quickly hand you a copy!
We only had one night to stay here, but vowed to return again, the next time we come to the Napa area. I really do not think you could find a nicer, friendlier, more beautiful inn to stay at. It made our anniversary memorable, and we can't wait to return! It was a perfect place to stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6boys4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Novato, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Wonderful breakfast (and great coffee). Very quiet. Service was personable and attentive. Walk to restaurants and shops. Decor and furnishings were beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don-NovatoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Polly Keegan's Adagio Inn was the best experience I have ever had at a B&B. The inn is just a couple of blocks from the main street (lots of cool shops, restaurants). The rooms were immaculate and the beds was large and very comfortable. You had plenty of towels and even some comfy robes to wear to breakfast etc...

Polly served the most wonderful gourmet breakfast every morning. My friends and I were there for three days and we had a different multi course breakfast every morning. We ended each day with a wine, cheeses and other goodies Polly laid out.

Polly was friendly, attentive but also gave plenty of space for socializing. She also gave lots of recommendations for restaurants and places to see. She also had some good stories to share about the area and wineries. Don't forget to ask about Rosita.

The inn has 3 rooms so it worked great because our group was the only one at the inn.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elissa40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

The Adagio Inn was the perfect setting for a girl’s getaway. Polly Keegan, the owner/innkeeper, is fabulous! She served a wonderful hot, homemade gourmet breakfast each morning, including freshly squeezed orange juice in the bright breakfast nook. In the evening she served wine and a variety of yummy cheeses in the cozy living room. The piano and fireplace add a special touch to the ambiance. The house is on a quiet neighborhood street just two blocks from Main Street in downtown St. Helena. Polly gives you a lot of privacy, but I encourage you to have her (and Rosita) enjoy a glass of wine with you. Polly recommended a couple of fabulous restaurants as well as a driver to take us to several wineries (George Stone of Napa Valley Chauffeurs – excellent!). I would highly recommend the Adagio Inn to anyone looking for a charming, clean, cozy stay in Napa.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

What a wonderful place to stay! 5 friends and I made ourselves at home for 3 days. The Adagio felt like a home away from home. The house was beautiful and Polly was a wonderful host! Every morning we were served a fabulous hot breakfast and at night we were greeted with wine and cheese. Polly is delightful to talk to and we really enjoyed her extraordinary hospitality.
The Inn is located just block from downtown in a beautiful neighborhood. The Inn was very clean and the rooms was fantastic. I would highly recommend the Adagio to friends, couples or families and are looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALKCOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

This charming little inn in St. Helena is a jewel. All of the rooms have attached sitting rooms and one has it's own private outdoor hot tub. The rooms are perfectly decorated and maintained. Polly's breakfasts are to die for. Wine and hors d'overes on the front porch at 4:00 is the perfect ending to a day of wine tasting, shopping and site seeing.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldadventuress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

Just returned from a four day stay at the Adagio Inn. The innkeeper was gracious and accomodating. She went our of her way to make us comfortable. We were served a delicious hot breakfast each morning in a cheerful breakfast room and wine and cheese each afternoon in front of a cozy fireplace. The inn was immaculately clean and well kept. We had friends recommend the Adagio to us and I would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutrimom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Helena hotels
2.0 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#4 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn St Helena
Inn St Helena
#2 of 12 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vineyard Country Inn
Vineyard Country Inn
#3 of 12 in St. Helena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Inn

Property: Adagio Inn
Address: 1417 Kearney St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1822
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adagio Inn is located on a quiet residential street in the center of St. Helena in Napa Valley. This Historic Inn that has been fully restored and luxuriously furnished. All amenities are first class, all rooms have king-size beds, robes, phone, cable TV, DVD, refrigerator and wireless. You will receive a gourmet breakfast in the morning, wine and cheese in the evening, and quiet elegance throughout the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adagio Hotel St. Helena
Adagio Inn St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing