We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & welcoming...the best in St. Helena!”
Review of Adagio Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Helena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adagio Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We just returned from our second stay at the Adagio Inn and it was just as wonderful as our first! Polly is such a gracious innkeeper and she will make sure that your visit is amazing. We have stayed in both the Concerto and Sonata Suites and both of them are luxurious and relaxing. Afternoon wine and cheese on the porch is the perfect way to unwind after a day of touring Napa County and we have met wonderful people on both of our visits. You will not find a better breakfast than the ones that Polly prepares....delicious food, beautiful china and a charming setting either inside on the sun porch our out on the deck. It truly is a perfect way to start your day! The location lends itself to a walking tour of St. Helena and a leisurely stroll to dinner. We can't imagine a better place to stay when in Napa! Thanks Polly for two terrific vacations!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed at this inn for two nights at the beginning of our trip to California. I wish we could have stayed longer. The room (Prelude Suite) was perfect. Comfortable bed with luxurious linens. There was a hot tub on the porch with fresh water, but alas our schedule did not permit us to indulge. The best thing about this inn was the innkeeper Polly. She is gracious beyond words. We had wine and cheese every afternoon and a delicious gourmet breakfast. We had to leave early on our last day, before breakfast and Polly generously made us scones and left out coffee and tea so we could depart early. I urge you to try this inn if you are in the St. Helena/Napa area. The location is perfect for dining and wine touring/tasting.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caughtyalookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Well, there is a very good reason why every single review on here for the Adagio Inn is 5 stars! So I'll add mine to the long list, and tell you that it is a beautiful bed and breakfast inn, and I'd recommend it in a heartbeat to anyone who was considering staying here. We went here to celebrate our 29th Anniversary, and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations! First off, it's kept in pristine condition, inside and out. The gardens are beautiful as you enter the front, and a beautiful, dogwood tree was in bloom! And the parlor, sitting areas and rooms were just amazing!!! Nothing is haphazard here. Every last detail has been thought of, and looks like you've stepped into a decorator's magazine! The fabrics, furnishings, accents, linens and all amenities are the best! The bed is incredibly comfortable, and had fine linens on it. There was a huge stained glass window in our room that was just picturesque! And our room was very large! The biggest I've ever seen in a bed and breakfast inn! It had an attached living room with super comfortable furniture. Really, all the furniture in this home looks like it belongs in a museum! Except that it's super comfy!!! We liked that there was not only a tv but that the inn also provides a bunch of great dvd's out in the hallway for you to use, if you felt like watching a movie. There was a claw foot tub in the bathroom which was pretty quaint too! Now, let me tell you about the owner/manager, Polly. She's friendly to a fault, and available to help with any request, but she's also mindful to allow you privacy. It's like she appears to bring you things, answer questions you may have, make recommendations if you ask, but then she disappears to attend to her work. The breakfast room is a sunny area that is set up with small, intimate individual tables, conducive to private visiting, which we prefer over the big breakfast tables at most b&b's, where you're sort of forced to visit with the other patrons. There were Fresh flowers on every table, and a very cute array of eclectic dishes that all coordinate, even though they're different! There is also an attached balcony set up with breakfast tables, if you prefer to dine al fresco. We were served an absolutely divine breakfast of a type of quiche that had a wild mushroom crust! There was fresh juices, great coffee, apple-chicken sausages, heirloom tomatoes from a local farmer's market, among other delectables. I can't remember all of them, but do remember loving every bite! (that's saying a lot, since we're pretty serious about our food!)And Polly is more than happy to share recipes, if you ask. She even has copies of them in a binder, so she can quickly hand you a copy!
We only had one night to stay here, but vowed to return again, the next time we come to the Napa area. I really do not think you could find a nicer, friendlier, more beautiful inn to stay at. It made our anniversary memorable, and we can't wait to return! It was a perfect place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6boys4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Wonderful breakfast (and great coffee). Very quiet. Service was personable and attentive. Walk to restaurants and shops. Decor and furnishings were beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don-NovatoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Polly Keegan's Adagio Inn was the best experience I have ever had at a B&B. The inn is just a couple of blocks from the main street (lots of cool shops, restaurants). The rooms were immaculate and the beds was large and very comfortable. You had plenty of towels and even some comfy robes to wear to breakfast etc...

Polly served the most wonderful gourmet breakfast every morning. My friends and I were there for three days and we had a different multi course breakfast every morning. We ended each day with a wine, cheeses and other goodies Polly laid out.

Polly was friendly, attentive but also gave plenty of space for socializing. She also gave lots of recommendations for restaurants and places to see. She also had some good stories to share about the area and wineries. Don't forget to ask about Rosita.

The inn has 3 rooms so it worked great because our group was the only one at the inn.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elissa40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

The Adagio Inn was the perfect setting for a girl’s getaway. Polly Keegan, the owner/innkeeper, is fabulous! She served a wonderful hot, homemade gourmet breakfast each morning, including freshly squeezed orange juice in the bright breakfast nook. In the evening she served wine and a variety of yummy cheeses in the cozy living room. The piano and fireplace add a special touch to the ambiance. The house is on a quiet neighborhood street just two blocks from Main Street in downtown St. Helena. Polly gives you a lot of privacy, but I encourage you to have her (and Rosita) enjoy a glass of wine with you. Polly recommended a couple of fabulous restaurants as well as a driver to take us to several wineries (George Stone of Napa Valley Chauffeurs – excellent!). I would highly recommend the Adagio Inn to anyone looking for a charming, clean, cozy stay in Napa.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

What a wonderful place to stay! 5 friends and I made ourselves at home for 3 days. The Adagio felt like a home away from home. The house was beautiful and Polly was a wonderful host! Every morning we were served a fabulous hot breakfast and at night we were greeted with wine and cheese. Polly is delightful to talk to and we really enjoyed her extraordinary hospitality.
The Inn is located just block from downtown in a beautiful neighborhood. The Inn was very clean and the rooms was fantastic. I would highly recommend the Adagio to friends, couples or families and are looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALKCOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Helena hotels
2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
#4 of 9 in St. Helena
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#5 of 9 in St. Helena
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn St Helena
Inn St Helena
#2 of 12 in St. Helena
223 reviews
2.2 mi away
Black Rock Inn
Black Rock Inn
#1 of 12 in St. Helena
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Inn

Address: 1417 Kearney St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1822
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adagio Inn is located on a quiet residential street in the center of St. Helena in Napa Valley. This Historic Inn that has been fully restored and luxuriously furnished. All amenities are first class, all rooms have king-size beds, robes, phone, cable TV, DVD, refrigerator and wireless. You will receive a gourmet breakfast in the morning, wine and cheese in the evening, and quiet elegance throughout the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adagio Hotel St. Helena
Adagio Inn St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing