We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Zinfandel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Helena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zinfandel Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Thank you for everything Jerry. We had such a great time and the breakfast was Great!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

Okay from a curb appeal aspect this B&B looked charming and for $300 p/night it should have been! Except for a good breakfast, it was damp/musty, an overwhelming ash smell permiated the air (fireplace not cleaned in some time), it was buggy, air-con not able to keep up with the high temps in Wine County over the 4th of July Holiday, a dirty/greasy cleaning towel left hanging over the shower bar to the horrible picture on 8" TV (why bother) this was a lack luster stay for sure. When we called the owner "Jerry" to discuss our disatisfaction at first he seemed willing to do something for us but in the end dodged our calls and didn't reply to any of our emails. Finally yesterday he picked up the phone clearly unaware that it was us following up, called me a cowboy and actually accused us of trying to "shake him down" for $$. He was rude, arrogant and apparently unwilling to hear any feedback about his establishment ---- not at all what you might expect an owner of a B&B to behave. Clearly one should NOT be fooled into a getaway at the Zinfandel Inn. What was supposed to be a romantic getaway turned into the Nightmare on Elm Street. Thumbs down - don't go, period!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris1andCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Living in the San Francisco Bay Area, we travel to Napa quite a few times a year and try to stay at the smaller Inns and B&Bs upvalley instead of the hotels in the city of Napa (which is really not in the winery part of the Napa Valley).

We found the Zinfandel Inn for a weekend stay in the busy summer months and were very pleasantly surprised. The location is great as you can walk right across the street to Raymond Winery which has some of the best Cabernet in the Valley. Our room was spacious with a king bed and the breakfasts were great. The grounds are large and there is a hot tub in the back gardens that we enjoyed both nights. The staff and service were top notch and made us dinner reservations and gave us lots of good info on wineries in the St. Helena area that were new to visit for us.

Overall it was a very enjoyable place to stay, reasonably priced for the area, and gave us a very comfortable feeling that allowed us to really relax and enjoy Napa. The St. Helena area is by far the best part of the valley and having a great place to stay in the heart of it will keep us coming back to the Zin Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WineandRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

If you crave an oasis in the middle wine country this is your place. Our family took over the second floor with three nicely decorated and very comfortable rooms. The gardens are as lovely and relaxing as the rest of the Inn. Jerry and Diane make you feel like a part of the family just home for a visit. Breakfast was an adventure everyday with an ample amount of mouth watering delights. French toast with fresh fruit, eggs benedict with a twist, a buffet of fruit and pastries every morning you will truly not be hungry until dinner. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JanJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

The outside of the inn is beautiful from the road...once inside it's a different story. Our room was old and dirty. It looks like it hasn't been touch since the owner bought the place back in the 80's. The bed is old and very uncomfortable. To me a B&B should have a nice bed with great linens and fluffy pillows...not the case in this place. Everything was very run down, the bed, pillows, blanket and carpeting. The bathroom was poorly lit not to even mention the cracked sink or the toilet that wouldn't flush without you holding down the plunge the entrie time. I could go on and on. We stayed at the Somoma Best Western on the same trip and it's was the Ritz compared to this place. Even the small 17 inch TV was a joke...do yourself a big favor and don't spend the money to stay at this dump!

Stayed: April 2008
4  Thank goldgirl14k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2008

Now, I have to start with I didn't actual stay here but Jerry the owner was the most helpful and caring individual. I called this place after my wedding plans had changed (it's a long and very sad story). He offered to help and have the wedding at the Inn. He was very flexible and will to work with my fiancé and I. Him and his wife worked to provide me with pictures of their gorgeous castle home and property. All is very perfect for a romantic getaway and a wedding. The place looked like a fairly tale and I would recommend this place to anyone! Vineyard views, lushes greens and tropical like pool you are sure to feel like a King or Queen.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2006

We called the Zinfandel Inn to put a room on hold about two months ahead of our intended stay. The onwer Jerry sounded like he already had too much Zinfandel to drink himself. Requested my credit card number to hold the reservation. Next day we canceled the reservation, but they had already charged the full room rate on my credit card. They did issue a refund, but kept a $25 cancelation fee. I never authorized them to charge a deposit on my credit card, it was only given to hold the room. Their cancelation policy is not on their web site. They did not explain it when we called them. First time we saw it was in very small print on the fax they set us to confirm the reservation, after they charged my credit card. Stay away from these crooks.

Stayed: March 2006
12  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Helena hotels
4.1 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
2.3 mi away
Inn St Helena
Inn St Helena
#2 of 12 in St. Helena
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Black Rock Inn
Black Rock Inn
#1 of 12 in St. Helena
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vineyard Country Inn
Vineyard Country Inn
#3 of 12 in St. Helena
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shady Oaks Country Inn
Shady Oaks Country Inn
#6 of 12 in St. Helena
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zinfandel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zinfandel Inn

Address: 800 Zinfandel Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-1646
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Napa Valley, we have been serving our guests for more than 25 years. Warm and inviting, the Inn boasts one of the best breakfasts in the Valley. Guests frequently are amazed how they sleep so well, even the first night away from home. Is it the Valley or the warmth of the Inn and their hosts? The grounds are beautiful and after one of the amazing Napa Valley dinners, a soak in the hot tub ensures a deep slumber only to wake up to the aroma of fresh baked... well, something wonderful! Cup of coffee or perhaps a latte or Cappuccino? We look forward to you joining us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zinfandel Inn St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing