We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vineyard Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Have stayed at the Vineyard Country Inn on 4 separate occasions. What a GREAT place! Perfect location, very comfortable, charming, and large rooms, extremely friendly staff and owner, and very reasonable price. We love coming to Napa and will never stay anywhere else!!

Room Tip: All the rooms consist of a sitting area and bedroom with a fireplace. Very nice, in 4 stays we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

This property is in Saint Helena, which is well situated in the heart of Napa Valley. Very centrally located to easily get to wineries up and down the valley. Its also close to the downtown area, so you can easily walk home after dinner, or into down for breakfast and shopping at all the great boutiques. I just stayed there last weekend and property was gorgeous, as everything is in bloom. The property is surrounded by beautiful rose bushes and other flowering/fragrant flowers. The room was nice. The king room was one and 1/4 bath, with a fireplace and a nice balcony to sit and enjoy the view of the vineyards. The breakfasts, which were included in the room rate, was very good too. Continental style.

Outside of some traffic noise(our room was a couple of rooms off the highway), I would definitely recommend this property to guests visiting the area.

Room Tip: Possibly ask for rooms in the back of the property to avoid the traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We have returned over and over to the Vineyard Country Inn with its beautifully appointed suites and breakfast served on real china. Every room has a private patio or balcony overlooking either a vineyard or a garden - a perfect place to relax, sip some wine and unwind. It is one of our favorite places and we would unequivocally recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhynotColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed at this charming hotel for our daughter's wedding. It is adorable! They have a continental breakfast that surpasses any I have ever had, complete with English china and teapots! We felt like we were in Europe. The rooms are really nice with fireplaces and the setting is beautiful, next to a vineyard.The staff was so nice and accommodating. It really is a treasure and we hope to stay here again. The location is great, close to downtown, the wineries and restaurants along Main St. The only downfall was we could hear people above us and their plumbing, as we were downstairs. I will ask for an upstairs room next time, but we needed to be downstairs this trip. But, that would not prevent me from staying here again. Highly recommend this wonderful Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a Vineyard View. An upstairs room or the one story building, without a view would be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamagrigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the Vineyard Country Inn for five nights, while visiting St. Helena Hospital for my husband's knee replacement. So it was not the usual pleasure trip to the Napa Valley, but our suite made it as enjoyable as possible. The exterior is charming, with slate roofs and charming plantings, and all the rooms are identical suites. The living rooms have a sofa and coffee table, fireplace, wet bar, and dining area. There's a tv, but unfortunately they built in a space for the tv in the brick fireplace surround, and now flat panels won't fit, so it's a fuzzy old style tv. The bedroom has a flat panel tv, comfortable king bed, and an extra bathroom sink, so two people can be washing up at the same time (only one hair dryer in the suite).
The breakfast room was lovely and overlooked the vineyard. Breakfast was self serve, and consisted of a couple different kinds of cakes or pastries each day, plus cereals, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bagels and juices.
Try to get a suite with a vineyard view, but if they are full, the suites looking towards the parking lot are quite nice too, with private patios and a garden feel. I would suggest staying away from the suites which face Highway 29. Even though the sound proofing is good, it ruins the atmosphere to look out the window and see traffic instead of vineyards or greenery. But all in all, we felt this was a terrific mid level place to stay in Napa Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed at the Vineyard Country Inn for my daughter's weddng in July and our group had reserved about half of the 21 rooms at the Inn. Rooms were very comfortable, spacious with very comfortable beds and nice linens. The Continental Beakfast was served in a delightful room with a view of the Vineyards with better than average pastries and fruit, served on Villery & Boch china. The air conditioning worked well as did the WI Fi. The pool size was fine for such a small property and provided a diversion for the children in the party. The grounds are beautifully maintained with flowers and flowering trees and provided a good backdrop for photos. The room prices were well below other St Helena properties and the rooms are much more spacious. Would have given the fifth star, but the owner was unwilling to let us in our room when we arrived prior to check in time. I took it upon myself to talk to the Housekeeping staff, found out several of the rooms for our party were ready, and went back to the front desk to find an employee other than the owner who let me have the keys to our room that was ready the whole time. I spend 150-200 nights a year in a hotel and NEVER have this problem at the Hiltons and Marriotts that are usually my home. We were referred to the hotel by the winery where we were having the wedding and needed to get in the room early to get ready for the rehearsal that had an early time dictated by the Winery Employee who is married to the owner!! I think the Inn owner would be better off not dealing with guests, but the overall experience made up for his "Cranky Pants" attitude.

Room Tip: Room 201 is next to pool, 2 Queens, great vineyard view and very spacious!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaraj62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ortwin K, Owner at Vineyard Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Just a note regarding early check-in: The Vineyard Country Inn takes great pride in being able to provide you, our guests with some of the nicest, most spacious and cleanest suites available for the price you are paying. Our check-in time is 4:00pm, but often times an earlier check-in is possible. However, during peak season weekends (with many weddings happening on Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays) we regrettably cannot guarantee this, but we will always try to accommodate this or the other wedding group that needs to get ready for a rehearsal or the cermony. In some cases a room may have been cleaned by housekeeping, but may require some additional treatment (e.g. ionizing), in which case the room cannot be rented before it is completely aired out. The best guarantee for having your room available on the day of the event is still an arrival the night before that special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We spent Labor Day weekend in St. Helena for a wedding. The Inn was within walking distance of downtown - very quiet, even though it was on the main drag. Beautiful gardens. Lounged by the pool. Owner was very knowledgable about the area. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms had little courtyards with chairs & a table to enjoy the wine you purchased at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Helena hotels
0.3 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
2.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
1 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#5 of 9 in St. Helena
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn St Helena
Inn St Helena
#2 of 12 in St. Helena
223 reviews
3 mi away
Spanish Villa Inn
Spanish Villa Inn
#7 of 12 in St. Helena
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shady Oaks Country Inn
Shady Oaks Country Inn
#6 of 12 in St. Helena
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Country Inn

Address: 201 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: £152 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vineyard Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Vineyard Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Country Hotel St. Helena
Country Inn St. Helena
St. Helena Country Inn
Vineyard Country Inn St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing