We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized tasting, mis-leading costs”

Frias Family Vineyard
Ranked #79 of 116 things to do in St. Helena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Chicago
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Personalized tasting, mis-leading costs”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our limo driver took us up to this winery. The setting was ok, some porta-potty's and a small tented area with table. The service and wine education were also good. Overall, the winery experience itself was personal and small, but primitive.

Here's the catch. They encourage you to purchase their wine to avoid the cost of the tasting. What they don't tell you is that the "case" of wine are actually purchasing consists of three small 350ml bottles, and three regular size bottles. It's in the fine print if you really look, but they mention nothing.

You order the wine and a few weeks later it shows up at home, you go to open it, and find out you paid $280 for 3 full bottles and 3 half bottles of wine.

Mis-leading, buyer beware.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank rmcclint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wine arrived today!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Visited Napa for my 20 year anniversary. We went to 10 wineries and Frias was our favorite stop. Our knowledgeable driver Logan, suggested we stop by in between our other scheduled tours. Sitting on the hillside enjoying one of the most fabulous views in Napa, we sat with Manny Frias and drank beautiful wines while we learned about his family history. He was funny and laid back and he even suggested some great spots to visit during our trip which we did and loved! We visited all of the "fancy" well known wineries that charge a fortune per bottle and they were great, but as soon as we drove in, we knew Frias was special. We felt like we were old friends hanging out in the yard sharing stories, laughing a lot, tasting some of the best wine ever. It was the ONLY wine that we ordered to be sent home. It came today and he 2010 Red Wine is better than I remembered!!! Thank you Manny for a memorable, fun afternoon. I will be reordering again and again and sharing with family and friends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Humble and unassuming but excellent wine”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were given a bottle of Frias wine by one of the co-owners to try with dinner. We liked it so much that the next day we decided to visit their winery. Not easy to get to but well worth the trip. Not much pomp and circumstance but great wine and wonderful hospitality!!! We can't wait till our wine order arrives.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RLT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Incredible wines at Frias!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We went by Frias on a recent wine tour and LOVED the vineyard. You will not find this vineyard unless you are really trying. They do not do public tastings. Mani prefers to do appointments with wine tours. We had a tasting at the top of the hill in the vineyard and it was great. No fancy tasting table - we were sitting around on tables made of wine barrels and 2x10's. And we loved every second of it. Mani was a great host. No hard sell here. Just great conversation and the wine speaks for itself. The Cab was one of the best we've ever tasted. You will not find these wines in restaurants or stores. They don't sell to them. The only way to find them is to taste at the winery or purchase online. This is a small vineyard but the wines they are putting out are fantastic!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BagbosRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unpretentious”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Such a lovely place. We really enjoyed this experience. They have a lovely family style atmosphere outside with a large picnic table. We sat with another couple and we all were laughing and having fun. They let my 80lb dog roam around the property and never once made me feel like he was going to do anything bad. In fact, it was their idea to let him off his leash.
I am not an educated wine taster and the best part of this place is you don't have to be. Drew and Manny will give you as much or as little information as you want. Drew took us into the vineyards and let us taste the grapes. That was a fun first for us. I will for sure come back on our next trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chicago8002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frias Family Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Frias Family Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing