We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a kind experience!”

VGS Chateau Potelle
Ranked #8 of 114 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: VGS Chateau Potelle offers two different visitor experiences. At our Tasting House & Garden in St. Helena, visitors enjoy a seated tasting of 4 wines, each in their own Riedel glass, paired with food bites from Michelin star rated La Toque Restaurant. Open year-round daily 10AM-5PM; $45 per person. Reservations are strongly recommended. "Lunch Above the Clouds" is available only to Chateau Potelle Wine Club Members. This unique vineyard tour, wine tasting and 5 course lunch on our mountain vineyard is an outdoor experience available April-November only. Reservations are required 48 hours in advance; valued at $185 per person.
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of a kind experience!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We only had one day in Napa and we wanted to have a perfect experience while there. We had it with the "lunch above the clouds." Wow - breathtaking views, amazing lunch, fabulous wine, and an great guide in Tony! We just cannot say enough wonderful things about this experience. We would recommend it to anyone looking for something fun, relaxing and unique to do in Napa. Thanks, VGS/Chateau Potelle!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank terrilb_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarisseK_11, Owner at VGS Chateau Potelle, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts! We are very happy that you were with us to celebrate the beginning of our 2013 Lunch Above the Clouds season. Next time you're in Napa, we hope you'll also visit our new Tasting House & Garden for more delicious food pairing from La Toque Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    1
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you have one opportunity to go to Napa, this is the only place to go!”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Simply amazing! Not only were the views breath-taking, but the 5 course meal was without a doubt perfect flavor combinations with the wines! My wife and I felt like family, as Tony gave us such an engaging experience. He totally made the experience for us! We sat in the relaxing calm of the vineyard and just soaked in the views, nothing in Napa Valley compares. I would and have already recommended this to many people but I feel my words do not truly provide justice. If you're in Napa Valley, it's a must! Why settle for standing around sipping and spitting wines, when you can sit back on the edge of heaven, relax with phenomenal meal and drink some Very Good S**t!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulZarou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarisseK_11, Owner at VGS Chateau Potelle, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Your words absolutely captured the serenity of our vineyard and the food and wine pairing experience the is Lunch Above the Clouds. We were so happy to welcome you to Cloud Nine and are very happy your visit was memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Our awesome innkeeper at the inn on Randolph recommended the "lunch above the clouds" at the chateau potelle. This ended up being our favorite meal and experience we had in napa and one we will never forget. Tony was an awesome guide, the wines were all delicious and the views were incredible! we wanted something special for our wedding anniversary and had a side of a mountain and vineyard to ourselves for the afternoon--it was just amazing! Going to be ordering some of their wines soon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarisseK_11, Owner at VGS Chateau Potelle, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
We are so happy you celebrated your anniversary with us! And also very pleased that you were able to enjoy our outdoor experience while the weather was dry and mild. From December through approximately March, cold and wet weather forces us to close down for the season. We hope you will make reservations with us to come again next spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hard to put into words!”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This was by far and away our best and most unique Napa experience. The drive to the vineyard is amazing, the walk up the vineyard to the "gazebo" is beautiful, and the view from the top is breath-taking. Lunch is catered in from La Toque--great food. Tony is a fantastic host. The wines are amazing-some of the best we tasted in all of Napa. This was part of our 25th Anniversary celebration-we will never forget it. Where else can you have a private and secluded lunch on top of a mountain, in the middle of a vineyard. You should book this experience now.
Joel S./Toba W.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarisse K, Owner at VGS Chateau Potelle, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you Joel & Toba for sharing your anniversary with us! We are proud to be part of your memories of your very special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
“I would return in a heart beat”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Lunch at Chateau Potelle was among the most memorable meals I've ever had. A private lunch with great friends in a beautiful vineyard with outstanding wines and an excellent meal - what's not to love. While I'm looking forward to a return visit, I'm going to enjoy the wines that I shipped home.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryLee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarisse K, Owner at VGS Chateau Potelle, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
We're so glad to have made your visit to our beautiful Napa Valley so memorable and thank you for sharing your pleasure with others. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VGS Chateau Potelle also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to VGS Chateau Potelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing