We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rombauer Vineyards

Rombauer Vineyards
Ranked #10 of 113 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our St. Helena Winery, set high on a tree-covered knoll just off Silverado Trail, features a lovely porch with stunning views of the Mayacamas Mountains, a garden with over 100 varieties of plants and flowers, whimsical works of art collected by Koerner Rombauer and wine caves. We offer tastings by appointment from 10 a.M. To 5 p.M. Daily.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Warning! So amazing! The grounds are beautiful, the view is breathtaking, and you're going to want to buy all the wine and join the club. Or, maybe that's just me. My friends and I really enjoyed our tastings here and found it well worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank imatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    59
    33
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wine and grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The wine was reccomended to us so checked it out and loved it! Also the grounds were so amazing if u likr flowers shrubs and gardens u will love this place

Helpful?
Thank shakayseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
406 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fabulous wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I love Rombauer whites! My extended family loves their reds. It's fun to go to their little winery to get tastes of each. My husband and I stopped in between other winery visits. They are on a hillside with a little sign by the driveway. The tasting room is small but the view from their front porch is absolutely majestic. They also have a lovely garden to wander in. We paid $20 for a taste of 5 and shared. It was a lovely stop. Wines are $32/bottle for Chardonay but then jump to $50-80 for reds. I'm happy with an $12 glass when I go to nice restaurants!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Chard ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Grounds are beautifully maintained by "Xavier" "Moonglow. Do talk with him, he is a delight. Great view, nice tasting bar. Best Chard I have ever had!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jencody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing Tasting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We've been in wine country for five days doing a variety of tours/ tastings and this was by far the worse. I sought out this winery after tasting their Chardonnay at the Culinary Institute. I called and was told they did not take reservations. When I arrived they were busy and each person pouring was dealing with more than one group. I should have purchased what I came for and walked away. The woman pouring was so fake and rude my husband had to walk away and sit outside while the rest of rest proceeded on with the tasting. She did give us a second pour of the wine I wanted to try and did purchase but only after my request. Every where else I've been (Vincent arroyo, the castle, Coppola, campovida) all offered revisits before making a buying decision. Granted it was one bottle but she did nothing to enrich the tasting experience. There are so many friendly, knowledgeable people out there why go to one with nothing to offer! Go elsewhere!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JRP0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rombauer Vineyards also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Rombauer Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing