We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Helena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
RustRidge B&B / Winery
Ranked #5 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2013

RustRidge is a beautiful working ranch, that allows to experience Napa the way it looked like before the hordes of tourists started coming - surrounded by beautiful nature and with an opportunity to observe the life of a vineyard day to day.

Hospitality of Susan and Jim was unparalleled, especially bearing in mind they had too look after not only us, but also the vines, a number of horses, two labradors and cats. We had great grills, with the grape wood provided by Jim, spent lots of time playing tennis, splashing in the pool, strolling/riding on the ranch's vast land, and of course drinking wine. Breakfast was brilliant too.

Highly recommended.

Laura

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were on a family trip to California (2 couples with 5 children aged 10 to 15). We really wanted to included a wine tasting experience in the Napa Valley to our vacation plan but were afraid the kids would get bored if we chose a tour (so we could drink a bit and not drive!) I'm so happy I found the Rustridge! The pool, the tennis court, the dogs and cats, the horses: the kids loved the place! We, the adults, were then able to relax and enjoy the scenery and the good wine.

When we arrived we were welcomed with a good glass of wine and some snacks. We had stopped at the grocery store in St. Helena before we arrived and cooked steaks on the BBQ with Jim for dinner, accompanied with a bottle of their very good Zinfandel. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic!

The rooms were nice and clean. We took 2 connecting rooms per family. No air conditionning though and it was during a heat wave. But we cooled down in the pool before going to bed and it was ok.

We stayed only one night but all, kids included, wished we would have stayed longer!

Everything was just perfect!

Thanks Jim and Susan!

Nancy & the Azzola family

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Nice ranch with a swimmingpool, tenniscourt, racehorses, labradors, cats and the most wonderful hosts. Susan and Jim are such welcoming and sweet making us feel at home right from the start. As we walked in the door we got a glass of wine and some snacks. Very good sauvignon blanc and zinfandel! Breakfast was fab with a lot to choose from. We really enjoyed it and will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_NOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Our stay at Rustridge was a wonderfully enjoyable experience, with Susan & Jim, their team in the B&B and Winery as well as the other guests we had the pleasure to spend time with. It is a very quiet serene place to stay (about 15min drive from Rutherford), but has all that is good about Napa to offer.
To anyone from Europe who has experienced the very best of Bed & Breakfast service in Ireland or the UK, they will feel very much at home. The ranch-house is spacious with clean bedrooms, the sitting and eating areas are a fantastic place to sit and read, or to share stories with other guests during the evening or especially over breakfast - and the breakfasts are excellent.
Susan & Jim are very attentive hosts when they need to be, great company - with lots of stories & experiences being shared - but you also have time to spend on your own as you see fit.
The ranch has a great history of horse racing and horse raising, for which they both share a great passion. And the wines are fantastic. My wife's favourite was the Cabernet Sauvignon (which is excellent) and mine undoubtedly was the Zinfandel.
If you are coming to Napa and want to experience something very special...this is a place we would recommend. We arrived looking for nice accommodation (which we got) and left with many new friends!

Room Tip: The B&B house has 5 rooms, I believe, and all surround the kitchen / sitting area, so you should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoFromWicklowIrelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We had a great stay in this off the beaten track winery. This is a real family run winery that will give you a great experience and a perfect setting. It's close enough to drop into St Helena if you need anything or to eat but far enough to be a million miles away. A great place to see a true winery and to taste fantastic wines. Walk to the top of the mountain with the dogs and enjoy a really fantastic view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 169Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here back in 1998, and even after all these years, that stay remains one of my best memories. Great experience all the way around, and Susan and Jim were the greatest hopes one could ask for. I cannot WAIT to get back, and always recommend it to everyone as the best B&B Winery experience one could ask for. We did not visit in February 2012 but this page insisted it had to be in 2012. :(

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed for couple of nights in October 2011 and we had a great time. Our hosts Susan and Jim were very welcoming and gave us a good introduction to the area and the excellent wines they produce!
It was great to have the run of the house and use the kitchen in the evening. In view of the location it is probably best to have a good lunch and then bring back some food to cook a light meal in the evening but there is a restaurant within 15 minutes drive plus a pizza bar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OGOG049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Helena hotels
9.4 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
7.7 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
8.6 mi away
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
#4 of 9 in St. Helena
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Inn St Helena
Inn St Helena
#2 of 12 in St. Helena
223 reviews
9.2 mi away
Black Rock Inn
Black Rock Inn
#1 of 12 in St. Helena
148 reviews
8.5 mi away
Spanish Villa Inn
Spanish Villa Inn
#7 of 12 in St. Helena
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RustRidge B&B / Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RustRidge B&B / Winery

Address: 2910 Lower Chiles Valley Rd, St. Helena, CA 94574-9530
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: £112 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RustRidge is a wonderful retreat from the bustling Napa Valley. Located midway up the valley and due east in the hills above the valley, RustRidge is a large working ranch and winery, and is secluded, peaceful and natural. About twenty minutes by car from Rutherford it is easily accessible to wineries and restaurants but far enough away to truly relax and enjoy the beauty that Napa Valley has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rustridge b&b / Winery Hotel St. Helena
Rustridge Bed And Breakfast / Winery
RustRidge B&B / Winery St. Helena, Napa Valley, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing