We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded property, weird restaurant service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meadowood Napa Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Meadowood seems to be in a state of faded glory, while the rooms were spacious and clean, their run down 80s/90s fittings and furnishings really showed their age. The whole place has a bit of a campground vibe, which is nice, but not expected at this extravagant price point. Hotel service was good however...

...The restaurant. We arrived to Meadowood with another couple after a long car ride through traffic from SFO. We had reservations at 9pm at "The Restaurant" and while we were a bit tired from traveling (the other couple had flown in from Chicago) we looked forward to a great meal and some great wine.

Things got weird immediately, my friend's heel got caught in a large gap in the floor as we entered and her shoe got stuck. Rather than expressing their concern, the staff seemed to insinuate that she was drunk. We had only arrived about 45 minutes earlier and rushed straight to the restaurant. While we were very much looking forward to some great wine, we had yet to have the opportunity to even have a drop. (regardless, she could have twisted an ankle, fallen or whatever, tipsy or not that is a major safety issue and she cant be the only person in heels at "The Restaurant") After being seated, we were greeted by our server with "I heard you guys are here to party!!" Not exactly the greeting I expect when I'm about to drop a few grand on dinner. This overly familiar approach continued, with our server asking "I hear you work in Hollywood" an inquiry basically exposing the fact that he/they were eavesdropping on our conversations.

The bad and strange service only got worse when we were genuinely inquiring for some wine selection advice from the wine director. The dinner menu is not revealed to the guests but is a surprise, so regardless of your level of oenological knowledge, some guidance is needed. Her response, I kid you not was "Well... you could start with a white.. Then, maybe move on to a red. But, if you like white, you can do whatever you like!" This isn't Applebees where the choices are pinot grigio and cabernet. We made all the usual indicators about price point and expressed interest in the wonderfully expansive and unique list, indicated our interest in unique wines and relatively large budget and got pretty much zero help. It's a shame, as its a great list!

Absolutely the strangest service I've had at any Michelin starred restaurant. Which is really too bad because the food is spectacular. We dined at French Laundry the next night, and Meadwood definitely won out on some dishes.

I'm aware they are renovating some of the rooms and the golf course, so maybe they will renovate their waitstaff as well in the future. Till then, avoid this one at this pricepoint.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room, we did not get to see the newer rooms but the older ones are definitely ti...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank BryanGodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,849)
There are newer reviews for Meadowood Napa Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,500 - 1,506 of 1,849 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Construction going on so good morning to tractors and noise. Was not told at booking by American Express. Spent $3000.00 for two nights and I am not happy. The bed is too soft and feels cheap. The pool was filled by kids and lap swimmers; adults only? Staff is young and clueless. This is my 3rd stay in 15 years and my last. The grill was really good, staff and food was excellent; loved the Hamburgers, but of course the restaurant with its 3 star status is expectedly pretentious, and hysterical.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlennG986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We came with our 2 kids an Meadowood upgraded our room to a beautiful suite- the room was absolutely magnificent and the hotel staff were helpful and educated about property and surrounding areas. The hikes around property were some of the best hikes we have been on-our kids even love it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yvettegordon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Meadowood is hands down the best resort in the Napa Valley. The rooms are exquisite and flat out amazing. There are wood burning fireplaces, comfortable beds, and they are newly built and remodeled. The whole property has mature trees and shrubbery so it feels like your room is buried away in the tree tops. The room service is award winning and is excellent. It's better than most restaurants in Napa. The only thing is that the room numbers repeat themselves so you need to make sure you know where you are going. I can't wait for the new spa to be built!

Room Tip: Any room is an excellent room!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AAPLtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were only there for 2 days and spent most of our time at the family pool. It does not compare to similar resorts in the area(Solage, Carneros, Calistoga Ranch, etc)...the pool areas feel crowded and very dated. Absolutely nothing special about them. The fitness center was also small and dated. Unfortunately, we enjoy using the pool and fitness facilities when on vacation so this place was not for us. The service, food and location are excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A beautiful place to stay. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. Our Guest Services Rep. contacted us before our stay and helped us with all of our arrangements prior to checking in to the hotel. Our croquet lesson with Brian was enjoyed by all four of us. The staff were all very professional and courteous. The coffee maker in our room did not work upon check-in but was replaced quickly. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wonderful oasis in wine country….private, quiet, first-class, comfortable, not crowded…hidden gem. Excellent service. Friendly staff and impeccable accommodations. Grounds very peaceful. Spa service was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Les6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
723 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,322 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
18.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,042 reviews
10.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowood Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowood Napa Valley

Address: 900 Meadowood Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: £444 - £1,701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meadowood Napa Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowood is a center of social, cultural and viticultural life in Napa Valley and a second home for those who enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the wine country. The property features championship croquet lawns, seven tennis courts, a nine-hole walking golf course, hiking trails, swimming, a Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star spa, wine experiences, an annual cultural affairs calendar, guest rooms, suites and cottages and Michelin three-star dining in The Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Meadowood Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel St. Helena
Meadowood Napa Valley Resort
Meadowood Napa Valley St. Helena, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing