We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week-end trip to Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A clean, good smelling room with comfortable bed, has new ref and microwave. Adequate for overnight stay,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lauro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Despite some of the reviews, we decided to try this out. I am VERY picky but was comfortable here. The bathroom was clean and new. Bed was very comfortable. Cable TV was excellent despite the old style TV. Wifi was a bit slow. So don't let the outside appearance dissuade you. Great value!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parispartyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 April 2013

When I checked in, my bathroom had an unpleasant odor and the telephone did not work. I went down to the front desk to request another room. The "lady" who was working the desk wanted to argue rather than simply accommodating me. She told me that the room had been cleaned and that if there was anything wrong with it, then I must have done something inappropriate. Furthermore, she refused to allow me to switch rooms even though the hotel was not at capacity that night.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KyleV702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Howard Johnson Suite in Salinas is a clean, reasonable choice with a polite staff. But beware of booking with HotelSavings.com! In January I canceled a booking at this hotel, received a confirmation, and then my credit card was charged over $90 for a hotel room I never used. The manager of the Salinas Howard Johnson's confirmed that he received no money hotelsavings.com. They are not a reputable company.

Room Tip: Avoid booking with hotelsavings.com
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank MEMOjai_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Well heck this place is not that bad , I have seen better I have seen worse, price is good, room was good, breakfast is thin, need to add a little more stuff. Overall a nice stay. We booked online for 5 nights, got a good price, this is our 2nd trip to salinas, 10 and 12, we stay here in 2010 and would stay again in the future

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#4 of 25 in Salinas
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Salinas

Address: 131 John St, Salinas, CA 93901-3337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: £71 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Salinas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas Hotel Salinas
Howard Johnson Salinas
Holiday Inn Salinas
Salinas Holiday Inn
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing