We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rate & Clean Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
california
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great rate & Clean Room”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our destination was Monterey for my husband's business meeting, it was a four hour drive from our home, so we decided to look for a cheap but clean room for one night. I checked out the comments and most was about the cleanliness of the rooms for the price and it was a great price, $33 a nite on hotels.com. We tried to contact this hotel to let the front desk know that we were arriving late, but something was wrong with their phones. It was making us a little nervous. The hotel was right off the freeway and it looked nice as we got closer. We arrived around 8:30 in the evening and our check in was handled rather rudely by a male at the front desk. My husband & I were thinking about seafood but had no knowledge of where the best place to eat seafood without having to drive to Monterey. My husband said the guy didn't know where to send us nor did he act like he cared. My husband brought up the fact that we have been trying to contact this hotel and he did say that they were having problems with it all day. Our room was located on the back of the building and it looked like they put most of their guests there that evening. Our room was upstairs, thank goodness because we were tired and didn't want to hear footsteps above us. The room was clean, thank goodness and like someone said, "you get what you pay for," this is true but at least this was clean. The bed was hard, the pillow was tiny and the blanket was thin, but what can you expect right? As the evening progressed to morning, we would be awaken by people talking outside. I remembered reading a comment from someone about the, "thin walls," and around 4 in the morning we could swear someone was standing outside our room, having a conversation with someone. This conversation kept us awake and when I got up to look outside, they were no where to be seen, so we assumed it was the floor below us. Guests were coming in at different times in the wee hours of the morning and we got very little sleep and we both woke up feeling stiff from the hard bed. Needless to say, we couldn't wait to check out and head for Monterey where we knew a comfortable bed and pleasing room was waiting for us. Would I stay there again? For the price and clean room, yes, but next time, I will ask for a room away from the crowd and I will bring my own pillows and blankets. This was a perfect place to stay if you were planning on spending your day in Monterey to go to the Aquarium, Cannery Row or the Wharf. What we saved on hotel in Salinas, made up for what we spent on food in Monterey.

Room Tip: Get away from the crowd, ask for the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I apologize it has taken me a while to respond but there were some concerns you raised that we had to investigate before getting back to you.

We apologize you were not able to reach us on phone, but more disturbing is the fact that you were rudely received by one of our staff. The hotel does not condone that kind of attitude from staff. The matter has been thoroughly investigated and corrective measures have been take.

Like you correctly observed, we maintain a high level of cleanliness and I personally inspect guest rooms before they are released to be sold. We are very proud of the service we provide and strive to ensure our guests sleep in a clean comfortable and safe environment. We gladly provide additional blankets, pillows or other room supplies when a request is made at the front desk. While we may not have control over the time guests arrive to check into their rooms, we take seriously complaints of noise disturbance and we immediately arrest the situation when brought to our notice.

It is challenging to meet all our guests' expectations when it comes to beds. Some guests prefer hard beds while others request for soft beds. We have fitted new beds and mattresses in most of our rooms and are continuing with this upgrade until all rooms are done. A guest discomfort is not something that falls within company standards. When in receipt of such information, at the time of occurence, we typically take care of the matter or at the minimum, offer to move a guest to more suitable accommodations.

Once again, we sincerely apologize for the delay in respoding for reasons mentioned and hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Beeson Avugwi
General Manager

We however move guests to different accommodations when they request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    71
    72
    42
    89
See reviews for
94
67
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Price cannot be beat. Good security. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
It is always encouraging when we learn from our guests such as you that our rooms and service met your expectation. We strive to ensure that our guests are accommodated in a clean and comfortable room. Although we are located away from the busy downtown Salinas, we have have an in-house security team to ensure the safety and security of our guests and their property. Our rates are maintained within the reach of our guests, bearing in mind the economic times we live.Thank you for your feedback.

Beeson Avugwi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I'm a snob when staying at hotels and can't remember the last time I've stayed at less than a four star hotel; however, I was traveling alone and just needed a place to crash that was clean and convenient. This place is right off the freeway close to the local subway for sandwiches and two blocks from a CVS where I picked up my forgotten hairspray. The building and grounds are attractive and nicely maintained and the room was absolutely perfect for a one night stay. I felt safe, the bed was very comfortable, the room was spotless and the staff was most helpful. I never would have thought you could still get a bed for $35! Works for me. Wi-fi was $4 extra - big deal. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slofoodie_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for registering your experience during your recent stay with us.

Our main objective is to earn the trust of our guests by providing a uniquely positive service that exceeds expectation. We strive to provide a clean, safe and friendly environment at rates that remain within reach of many of our guests. Your comments are highly valued for they give us an indication of our performance and point us in the direction our guests would want us to pay additional attention.

Once again, thank you for your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We went for 1 night. We were going for my daughter birthday to Monterey Bay Aquarium. The Hotels in Monterey are much more expensive and change extra fees. This Hotel was close and well worth the price. It was very clean and friendly people in the office. We used the pool and hot tub, it was very clean and nice. It was easy to get to and quiet. There is an elevator. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is right off the freeway in a quiet industrial street. Its simple, clean and has a decent continental breakfast. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybeth81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stay there for the long weekend of Labor Day and we were so pleased that the manager Vic help us with our resevation via phone call a day before we arrived. We noticed changes in the motel for good.... as a permited voucher for your car to be display in your front window as part of safety for guess, any car without will be towed away. The service with the rooms has been changed as well, we don't have to wait a lot for room service and the front desk person was very nice.....
I give all the credit to the manager for creating such a nice place

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for taking time to post your experience following your recent stay with us. Our primary objective is to provide to our guests a clean and inexpensive room in a safe environment. Feedback from our guests such as yourself is invaluable as it helps us in understanding the needs of our guests as we continue to work on our product and service to wow and meet guest guest expectation. We invite you to stay with us again should your business bring you to the Salinas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

If you are merely looking for a place to crash for the night at a good price, this is it. There are no frills or extras, but the rooms are tidy.

By tidy, I mean they are cleaned daily, but they do not appear to have been deep cleaned in a while as there is dust in the corners, etc... but for one night at a great rate, it doesn't much matter.

The fan in the the bathroom is very loud, we nicknamed it the monster :) Again, we were only there for a one brief night, so no matter.

The continental breakfast isn't really one. There is coffee and a small selection of muffins that were bulk purchased. There is a Jamba Juice a few blocks away with fantastic oatmeal, which we opted for instead.

Parking is included with your stay, but you do need a paper for your dashboard to identify your car.

There is a pool and hot tub but we did not try them, there were people in both during our stay.

Our room was quiet and our heating/cooling worked properly.

Again, no frills, but a great place to stay to get to Monterey in a short drive or as a pit stop on a long 101 road trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent visit. Our objective like you correctly observe is to provide our guests with a clean room at an affordable rate. We offer a quick-start breakfast for this same purpose of keeping our rates within the reach of many of our guests. Car parking is complimentary to our guests. We issue paking passses to ensure that the parking area is utilised exclusively by our registered guests. Please allow me to apologize for any room conditions that were not up to standard. We do inspect the rooms daily for any substandard conditions, but it seems we may have missed some necessary repairs that should have been addressed in your room. Thank you for alerting us about the noisy fun which we have already addressed. The swimming pool and hot spa are very popular with our guests especially in the summer time. I am sorry you did not get an opportunity to use them but I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future as to utilize some of the facilities you may have missed out on. Again, thank you for your comments and my apologies for where we fell short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#6 of 25 in Salinas
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.8 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Nite Inn - Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Property: Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Address: 545 Work St, Salinas, CA 93901-4351
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn - Salinas 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you’ll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. This hotel is located off 101 Highway, a few miles east of Monterey, Ca and South of Santa Cruz and San Jose, CA. The Ideal Budget Hotel in Salinas, CA is conveniently located near Oldtown Salinas, Hartnell College, A Taste of Monterey Wine Tours, Monterey Wine Country, National Steinbeck Center, The Steinbeck House, The Farm Agricultural Center, Wild Things at Vision Quest Ranch, Toro County Park, Laguna Seca Raceway, and Salinas Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Good Nite Inn - Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn - Salinas Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Inn - Salinas California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing