We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low price n good motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Poway
1 review
“Low price n good motel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I lived in here for a day. Location is good. There are stains on the carpet but doesn't really bothered me as I was there for single night only. Shower was making little noise.
Good room in low price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sss940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay here. I will be happy to pass along your positive review on to my crew to encourage them to keep up the good work, and remind them why we should continue to work to keep our guest happy. Thank you so much for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    71
    72
    42
    89
See reviews for
94
67
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We waited outside the office for nearly half hour while both staff members were off doing whatever. When they did arrive back they sat in the car smoking while we waited to check in, after a five hour drive. Once we got to the window the smell was obviously not cigarette smoke. We checked in and made our way to the room. It was simple but the lights did not work over the sink area. We had requested extra pillows on our reservation yet non were available. I'm 8 months pregnant and need them for support. We were disappointed but realized that this was not a value stay but one where you pay for what you get only. We won't return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shmolivia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I Apologize for giving you a room that doesn’t meet our basic standards, and I assure you that I am doing everything I can to improve the experience for future guests. I believe that every guest is entitled to a clean and comfortable room with exceptional service and should leave feeling they have received an excellent value for the money paid. Thank you again for your comments. We use all feedback to help improve our service and strengthen our commitment to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and spend the extra $30-$40 and stay at the Hampton across the parking lot. We chose this place because we were only in town for one night and wanted to save money. We paid $80 for a room that reeked of smoke. Cigarette burns in the carpet. Broken lights, and stained sheets and blanket. Bed extremely uncomfortable and woke up multiple times during the night because the fitted sheet kept coming up and we were on the actual mattress. Ew. Although clean, the bathroom was run down, rusted grout, and the hotel only supplied one small bottle of shampoo and a bar of soap. Couldn't even shower. Cheap. Will never be staying here again.

Oh and don't bother the office with any of your concerns, they are rude.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I Apologize for giving you a room that doesn’t meet our basic standards, and I assure you that I am doing everything I can to improve the experience for future guests. I believe that every guest is entitled to a clean and comfortable room with exceptional service and should leave feeling they have received an excellent value for the money paid. Thank you again for your comments. We use all feedback to help improve our service and strengthen our commitment to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The place looks like a regular motel like any other offering double rooms for ~55$.
Unfortunately, there are many issues that disqualify this hotel for anyone:

-Wifi costs extra, which would be ok, if the coupon they give you worked for more than one device (in a double room?!) and also is ridiculously slow.
-No shampoo in the room
-Old beds with horrible mattresses
-Room smelled like smoke

Worst of all, we had to change rooms because the bed sheets beneath (!) the coverlet was completely covered in long black hair. Disgusting.

Didn't see the hookers though as other reviewers suggested. Maybe they had the day off!

All in all, you're probably better off at motel 6 or some other place that costs the same anyway.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank langerhans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay with Good Nite Inn Salinas. I Apologize for giving you a room that doesn’t meet our basic standards. We work hard to ensure our customers get a clean, comfortable room with basic amenities including shampoo. Unfortunately, there is a small fee for the internet but all together it is still less expensive than staying anywhere else. Thank you for acknowledging that our new security standards are working and anyone staying here will find this hotel to be a safe place to stay. Thank you for your comments. We use all feedback to help improve our service and strengthen our commitment to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverley, Canada
Level Contributor
404 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Using a hotel coupon we got a great rate at this hotel. The rooms are modest and basic, but very clean. Helpful staff. Small town, but friendly. Its claim to fame is the fact that it's the home of famous author, John Steinbeck.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JeanYHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
On behalf of Good Nite Inn Salinas I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review about our hotel. We take your comments seriously as we use them to identify where we are excelling as well as to where we may need improvement. We are glad to read that your stay was satisfactory and hope you consider staying with us again the next time you are in the Salinas area. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to you see you again soon.

Lou Hatter
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This establishment should be ashamed of itself. A room was booked for me here due to proximity to the location of a conference for work. Upon my arrival, I noted police in the parking lot. I was then given a room at the back of the hotel. On my way to my room, I saw multiple prostitutes and pimps roaming the grounds. I also saw empty cans and 40 oz containers of beer. Random people were smoking and drinking in the halls and stairways. The room smelled of horrible bodily smells. There was fresh blood on the floor of my room. The window was not secure and appeared to have been broken into. Men were knocking on my door and catcalling to me. I felt so repulsed and unsafe I immediately left and found a hotel down the road. On my way to my car on the way out of there, I was confronted by other men. I was terrified. I never saw any security. When I told the management about my experience, they seemed unsurprised and unapologetic. T

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katbelpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
On behalf of Good Nite Inn Salinas I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review about our hotel. We take your comments seriously as we use them to identify where we are excelling as well as to where we may need improvement. I personally take the security of my guests as a primary concern. I welcome the police to use our dining area for breaks and coffee, and their presence seems to keep people, like the ones you have described, from visiting my property as often. It is a shame you did not take the opportunity to point out the prostitutes or men you saw to them or to myself as I am always happy to assist you. I am really sorry about your experience at the property. I am not sure which "management" you spoke to, but myself and my assistant can't seem to recall any guest having an experience quite like the one you have described. I do, however, thank you for your comments, and we will always work hard to ensure none of our guest have a similar experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I was placed in a room in the back with nothing but hookers and pimps..was told there was security and I didn not see any..I left.what a terrible place.dont take your family here thats for sure.the price wasnt that bad though but you can get a better room at a better location for the price

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricks r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
On behalf of Good Nite Inn Salinas I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review about our hotel. We take your comments seriously as we use them to identify where we are excelling as well as to where we may need improvement. I personally take the security of my guests as a primary concern. Being a husband and a father of 2, I understand your need to feel safe as I work hard to ensure a safe environment for my own family. Being new to the property, I have taken steps to help improve security by adding plain clothed security during the day and I take action on the information provided. I hope to see you return to the property in the future. I think you'll be impressed by the changes. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to you see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#5 of 25 in Salinas
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.8 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Nite Inn - Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Property: Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Address: 545 Work St, Salinas, CA 93901-4351
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn - Salinas 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you’ll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. This hotel is located off 101 Highway, a few miles east of Monterey, Ca and South of Santa Cruz and San Jose, CA. The Ideal Budget Hotel in Salinas, CA is conveniently located near Oldtown Salinas, Hartnell College, A Taste of Monterey Wine Tours, Monterey Wine Country, National Steinbeck Center, The Steinbeck House, The Farm Agricultural Center, Wild Things at Vision Quest Ranch, Toro County Park, Laguna Seca Raceway, and Salinas Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Good Nite Inn - Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn - Salinas Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Inn - Salinas California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing