We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here on our way to SF. While the rooms are a little dated, it served the purpose of a place to stay for the night. It's right off of the highway too, so it was easy to get to. The rooms could be cleaner and the carpet definitely needs replaced, but the staff was friendly. When we bought our internet usage they threw in an extra code at no cost! Nice!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay here. I will be happy to pass along your positive review on to my crew to encourage them to keep up the good work, and remind them why we should continue to work to keep our guest happy. Thank you so much for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Good Nite Inn - Salinas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I lived in here for a day. Location is good. There are stains on the carpet but doesn't really bothered me as I was there for single night only. Shower was making little noise.
Good room in low price.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sss940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay here. I will be happy to pass along your positive review on to my crew to encourage them to keep up the good work, and remind them why we should continue to work to keep our guest happy. Thank you so much for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We waited outside the office for nearly half hour while both staff members were off doing whatever. When they did arrive back they sat in the car smoking while we waited to check in, after a five hour drive. Once we got to the window the smell was obviously not cigarette smoke. We checked in and made our way to the room. It was simple but the lights did not work over the sink area. We had requested extra pillows on our reservation yet non were available. I'm 8 months pregnant and need them for support. We were disappointed but realized that this was not a value stay but one where you pay for what you get only. We won't return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shmolivia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I Apologize for giving you a room that doesn’t meet our basic standards, and I assure you that I am doing everything I can to improve the experience for future guests. I believe that every guest is entitled to a clean and comfortable room with exceptional service and should leave feeling they have received an excellent value for the money paid. Thank you again for your comments. We use all feedback to help improve our service and strengthen our commitment to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and spend the extra $30-$40 and stay at the Hampton across the parking lot. We chose this place because we were only in town for one night and wanted to save money. We paid $80 for a room that reeked of smoke. Cigarette burns in the carpet. Broken lights, and stained sheets and blanket. Bed extremely uncomfortable and woke up multiple times during the night because the fitted sheet kept coming up and we were on the actual mattress. Ew. Although clean, the bathroom was run down, rusted grout, and the hotel only supplied one small bottle of shampoo and a bar of soap. Couldn't even shower. Cheap. Will never be staying here again.

Oh and don't bother the office with any of your concerns, they are rude.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I Apologize for giving you a room that doesn’t meet our basic standards, and I assure you that I am doing everything I can to improve the experience for future guests. I believe that every guest is entitled to a clean and comfortable room with exceptional service and should leave feeling they have received an excellent value for the money paid. Thank you again for your comments. We use all feedback to help improve our service and strengthen our commitment to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The place looks like a regular motel like any other offering double rooms for ~55$.
Unfortunately, there are many issues that disqualify this hotel for anyone:

-Wifi costs extra, which would be ok, if the coupon they give you worked for more than one device (in a double room?!) and also is ridiculously slow.
-No shampoo in the room
-Old beds with horrible mattresses
-Room smelled like smoke

Worst of all, we had to change rooms because the bed sheets beneath (!) the coverlet was completely covered in long black hair. Disgusting.

Didn't see the hookers though as other reviewers suggested. Maybe they had the day off!

All in all, you're probably better off at motel 6 or some other place that costs the same anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank langerhans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay with Good Nite Inn Salinas. I Apologize for giving you a room that doesn’t meet our basic standards. We work hard to ensure our customers get a clean, comfortable room with basic amenities including shampoo. Unfortunately, there is a small fee for the internet but all together it is still less expensive than staying anywhere else. Thank you for acknowledging that our new security standards are working and anyone staying here will find this hotel to be a safe place to stay. Thank you for your comments. We use all feedback to help improve our service and strengthen our commitment to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Using a hotel coupon we got a great rate at this hotel. The rooms are modest and basic, but very clean. Helpful staff. Small town, but friendly. Its claim to fame is the fact that it's the home of famous author, John Steinbeck.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JeanYHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

On behalf of Good Nite Inn Salinas I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review about our hotel. We take your comments seriously as we use them to identify where we are excelling as well as to where we may need improvement. We are glad to read that your stay was satisfactory and hope you consider staying with us again the next time you are in the Salinas area. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to you see you again soon.

Lou Hatter
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This establishment should be ashamed of itself. A room was booked for me here due to proximity to the location of a conference for work. Upon my arrival, I noted police in the parking lot. I was then given a room at the back of the hotel. On my way to my room, I saw multiple prostitutes and pimps roaming the grounds. I also saw empty cans and 40 oz containers of beer. Random people were smoking and drinking in the halls and stairways. The room smelled of horrible bodily smells. There was fresh blood on the floor of my room. The window was not secure and appeared to have been broken into. Men were knocking on my door and catcalling to me. I felt so repulsed and unsafe I immediately left and found a hotel down the road. On my way to my car on the way out of there, I was confronted by other men. I was terrified. I never saw any security. When I told the management about my experience, they seemed unsurprised and unapologetic. T

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katbelpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GNISAL, Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

On behalf of Good Nite Inn Salinas I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review about our hotel. We take your comments seriously as we use them to identify where we are excelling as well as to where we may need improvement. I personally take the security of my guests as a primary concern. I welcome the police to use our dining area for breaks and coffee, and their presence seems to keep people, like the ones you have described, from visiting my property as often. It is a shame you did not take the opportunity to point out the prostitutes or men you saw to them or to myself as I am always happy to assist you. I am really sorry about your experience at the property. I am not sure which "management" you spoke to, but myself and my assistant can't seem to recall any guest having an experience quite like the one you have described. I do, however, thank you for your comments, and we will always work hard to ensure none of our guest have a similar experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#4 of 25 in Salinas
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.8 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Nite Inn - Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Address: 545 Work St, Salinas, CA 93901-4351
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: £43 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn - Salinas 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you’ll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. This hotel is located off 101 Highway, a few miles east of Monterey, Ca and South of Santa Cruz and San Jose, CA. The Ideal Budget Hotel in Salinas, CA is conveniently located near Oldtown Salinas, Hartnell College, A Taste of Monterey Wine Tours, Monterey Wine Country, National Steinbeck Center, The Steinbeck House, The Farm Agricultural Center, Wild Things at Vision Quest Ranch, Toro County Park, Laguna Seca Raceway, and Salinas Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Good Nite Inn - Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn - Salinas Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Inn - Salinas California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing