We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stopover place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Stopover place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Excellent motel for a night's stopover. Comfortable rooms, and nice breakfast fare. Staff was helpful and polite. only negative would be that they lock up at 11am, but the staff explained why to my satisfaction, and I do have a room key that allows me to leave the motel and return without any problems.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woggod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    19
    12
    5
    18
See reviews for
23
18
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

With a decent lobby and accommodating staff, this hotel is a good venue for group gatherings. This has a hot tub and a very nice indoor swimming pool, which can be hard to find in many parts of California. The rooms are more than adequate; the breakfast is a notch above standard; the service is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCalifMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I was greeted very gracefully when I arrived and the hotel and its rooms were clean, well-appointed and more than adequate for my needs. The price was a consideration and with so few reputable lodging establishments in this hellhole of a town, this hotel was truly welcomed. Nothing to walk to so be prepared to drive to a restaurant but the only welcoming part of Salinas - arounf the Steinbeck Center - is only a three-minute drive. Friendly staff and easy freeway access.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORENO VALLEY
Level Contributor
561 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Pluses: Nice layout, wet bar and counter in middle, nice having extra sink, (former microtel), big mini fridge, micro. Nice bath, big and well appointed. Big parking lot.

Minuses: 2 flat screens, but one in sitting area is way small. Need more TV stations, and all the ones they had didn't work, including TBS (no big bang theory!!). Hotels sit right together in a row, which leads to bad views and noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We spent 2 nights here and found everything to be perfectly satisfactory, good value for the price. Convenient to restaurants, museum; although the hotel is close to the interstate, we did not find it noisy at all. Front desk staff helpful and welcoming, breakfast adequate, fresh, hot, good coffee was a pleasant surprise! Comfortable bed, wf-fi access, pool/spa. In n Out burger within walking distance.

Room Tip: First floor king "suite" was roomy and comfortable, 2 tv's, microwave & fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abqsteelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I have been traveling to Salinas on business for years. This is a working man's town, where Ag is King. You won't find the kinds of accomodations as you would a half hour to the west, in Monterey. But fo those of you just passing through, or here for work or pleasure, this is your best choice. Located near the Freeway, it's in a commercial area, that is fairly safe. Sure, the working girls come up a few blocks to the south, but this place is immune to such nonsense. The property is kept up nicely, whth everything clean as a whistle, and in good repair. The owner, I believe is named Kalpna, and she is there daily, and I imagine, she softly, yet firmly runs a very tight ship. She is extrordinarily helpful, and always of good cheer. Another Clerk, Leticia, is as sweet as pie, and equally kind and helpful. There will be no screwups checking in or out. These people are so good, they can recognize my voice, and call me by first name!

Most rooms are a Queen with a sitting area to includa a couch, flat screen coffee table, fridge, coffee maker, microwave, sink, and small eating area. You will find all the ammenties, like iron, ironing board, hair dryer, loads of towels - all plump and full, and not threadbare. The bed is very comfortable, with plush betting, crisp sheets, and lots of pillows. There is also a writing desk, and a TV in the sleeping area. The climate control works very well, and despite being close to the highway, it's very quiet. The breakfast in the AM is nothing fancy, but it's a decent quick bite to eat before you head out for the day. All things considered, and havin tried all the others in Salinas worth trying, this is absolutely your very best bet, East of Eden.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illhaveanotherplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Rude management, not the cleanest rooms, and locking the front door at night are a few things that make this place a hotel to avoid.

Although I stay in Salinas on business frequently, I have decided not to ever stay here again. Management will tell you one thing and do another. They lock the front door at night, so you have to enter from the end of the building. Being right next to the 101 can make for a good amount of noise. I never ate breakfast there, so I can't speak to that. The rooms are fairly nice, but in need of updating. I now book my rooms at the Quality Inn down the street where the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Effee_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmKalpna, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
First I would like to address by thanking you for your previous stay with our hotel, though basing on your review you have decided that you will not continue to stay with our hotel. It is unfortunate that during your stay you perceived our management rude though management acted appropriately regarding management concern about hotel policy of undisclosed additional guest. The difference between Comfort Inn & Suites and Quality Inn is our hotel is indoor corridor unlike Quality Inn, which for the safety and privacy of our guest, all guests are provided with room key for hotel entrance after hours. As for the expressed noise, being that our hotel is near the freeway that is uncontrolled, however, basing on the location of Quality Inn one would say that it would be more noisey, therefore, it is a matter of guest opinion. I appreciate your comment and thank you for your previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salinas hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#5 of 25 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
Address: 181 Kern St., Salinas, CA 93905 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Salinas
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas Hotel Salinas
Comfort Inn Salinas
Salinas Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing