We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ROOMS ARE CLEAN” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Salinas Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“ROOMS ARE CLEAN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here for one night with our 2 teenage kids. The room was clean and the kids slept on the pull out sofa bed which was comfortable. It was a smaller room but the price was cheap and it worked for us, since traveling with kids can be expensive!!

I am a Platinum member and travel abroad. The Residence Inn always serves a fresh breakfast you can't beat and don't have to pay extra.

The front desk personnel were nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    86
    41
    14
    6
See reviews for
93
61
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

If you have already been to a typical Residence Inn, you will probably know what to expected, as their properties tend to be pretty standard. How does this property compare to other RIs? I would say it is all right, but I was not wowed. Still, you have to give a good rate for being clean, having the right amount of space and a full kitchen, in addition to amenities like an indoor pool (can be cold in Salinas, we went in February), and a very good full breakfast, with my all favorite chocolate muffin!

We had no issues in the hotel, and the two minus would be the broken hot tub (I really needed after a day hiking at Pinnacles) and the towels that never came after asking front desk twice.

The location is quite convenient. It is close to the freeway, near a mall with a bunch of chain restaurants and stores. I didn't find the area iffy or unsafe, although there is not much to talk about it either.

So would I stay here again. Well, I think this was the most adequate choice for our family. It is a Residence Inn, relatively well rated in TA, where you can find good deals by booking directly from their site. It was slightly more expensive that the highly rated Holiday Inn Salinas, but with a full studio and a better location. However, a better question would be if we would actually stay in Salinas. Maybe, but Salinas does not have much of a vibe, and Monterey is not too far away (although a bit more expensive, but I think it is worth it). Still, it is not a bad alternative when all hotels in Monterey were booked, like it was the case when we were there, during the President's day holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have an assignment in the area to provide contract work for a cancer center in Salinas for 10 weeks. I stayed with the Residence Inn in Salinas. I will never forget Stacie's smile when she greeted me at the reception desk. I had the best room in the hotel and she make sure that I had everything that I needed including making a meal to make me feel at home. She also guided me about the places to visit around Salinas like Monterey because she is born and raised in the area. Every day I was greeted with a smile from the staff who asked me if I have everything that I need. Breakfast was excellent with a lot of fruits and healthy foods like cereals. They also have evening social every Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday where the guests get together and share a hamburger or salad. The ambiance is very friendly and relaxing. The housekeepers kept my room very clean and asked me if there is anything else they can do for me. Despite my time away from home (I live in Tucson, Arizona), I never miss home because of the extra-attention that I get from the staff which make me feel like a member of their family. I will come back here and would recommend the Marriott Residence Inn to anybody who go for business or vacation in the Salinas area. The whole staff in the hotel is exceptional.

Nam Nguyen M.D.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Overall the experience was ok. I have stayed in better Residence Inns. When we arrived things were clean and the front desk girl addressed us courteously but without a smile. We then went upstairs to our room and everything was clean and appeared to be fine. That night when we were winding down the upstairs neighbor came in and was really noisy and sounded like they were going to come in through the ceiling. They quit about 11 that night. Thank goodness. The breakfast was ok and standard but that morning we found that the toilet has plumbing issues but the staff helped to clear it up. But overall everything was ok.

Room Tip: Make sure to book the top floor so you don't hear the people above pouncing around. Plus, please...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artnouveau8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pablo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Matt, Lucy, and Cynthia all went above and beyond to see that all my needs were met. I had a special need for a conference phone and Matt didn't quit until he found one for me (ended up he actually borrowed one from the front desk!).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Staff was great. Hotel was clean in rooms and lobby. Saturday morning breakfast was good but could have used a few more healthy alternatives (only watermelon for fruit for example). Close to 101 and shopping just down the street with several restaurants nearby as well.

Now the bad: The mattress in our room was in need of replacing - my wife and I both commented on that the next morning. The jacuzzi must have been under repair so could not use. The pool could have been cleaner. There was an earring and its backing on the side cement that looked like it had been there a while because it was rusted although I suppose some kid could have fished it out from the bottom of the pool. The pool itself had many long hair floating in it and a hair tie was floating in the bottom of the pool as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay. I am sorry to hear that we fell below your expectations. If there is anything further you wish to discuss, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The one bedroom suit was definitely made for 2. There were 2 spoons, 2 plates, 2 cups, etc. except for towels and there were double the issue. Complementary coffee, tea, popcorn. They needed to have complementary drinking water; the tap water made us gag.
The staff was very helpful and checking to see if there is anything they can do to make your stay more enjoyable. Free internet access was a plus.
They have social nights, but we were not there on the correct night. The day of the week seems to change so contact the hotel directly for information.

Room Tip: Park in the back. Less distance to travel with bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grammawa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and found our employees to be friendly and accommodating. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon here in Monterey.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Salinas Monterey
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salinas Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salinas Monterey

Property: Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Address: 17215 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907-1732
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salinas Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get FREE high-speed Internet access at this Residence Inn. Located just 20 minutes from scenic Monterey and Carmel, the Residence Inn by Marriott Salinas Monterey is your home away from home. Residence Inn by Marriott has perfected the extended-stay experience by combining all the comforts of home with our passion for making every guest feel welcome. Our suites offer separate living and sleeping areas with fully equipped kitchens. Here, in the heart of the fertile Salinas Valley, you are mere moments from the top agriculture companies in the country, such as Fresh Express, Dole, Tanimura & Antle, and Taylor Farms. For leisure activities, we enjoy a close partnership with the National Steinbeck Center and its cultural facility, and within moments, you may enjoy the mesmerizing sites and tastes of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, the 17-Mile Drive and Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Salinas Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salinas Hotel Salinas
Salinas Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing