We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just got back from a stay in Salinas for my daughter's swim meet. The hotel itself was very nice, and all of the staff we encountered extremely helpful and friendly. We had a 2 bedroom suite with kitchenette. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well-equipped, everything very clean.

The breakfast buffet was quite substantial, with waffle bar, yogurt, oatmeal and cold cereals, sausage patties and eggs, toast, pastries, juice and coffee.

Since the kids had been at a swim meet all day, they were pretty tired and didn't want to go out again for dinner. We grabbed take out from a close-by Italian restaurant and were able to use the breakfast room for our group to have a big communal meal. The staff was very accommodating in helping us dispose of the extra trash.

Only complaint about the hotel was that the walls were kind of thin - we had problems with our neighbors on one of the two nights we stayed. Talking very loudly at 11:45 pm, and then again at 3:45 am! The front desk handled it well - calling up to tell them to be quiet immediately (I could hear the phone ring from our room). The front desk staff even gave me bonus Marriott points when I mentioned it upon check out. I do not fault the staff for rude guests - just wish the walls weren't so thin.

Unfortunately, I probably would never come back to Salinas unless I absolutely had to. The town is horribly depressing, and there was a riot days before we arrived due to some problems between the locals and police. The front desk staff cautioned us to stick to the well-lit mall areas if we were going to go out at night. Thanks, but I will just avoid Salinas in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinlMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here going to Monterey Bay. It is about 40 minutes away. The property is very nice, clean and well kept. Exactly what one would expect at the Residence Inn. It includes a nice breakfast including eggs, waffles, oatmeal, including lots of toppings for all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllSeven7Continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Everything we wanted in a room! Spacious lovely room. Pet friendly and welcoming. The kitchenette was well equipped. All the staff we dealt with provided excellent service with a smile! The breakfast was free and delicious! We wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dysprosium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

stayed here for 2 nights while we were touring the area, nice room, nice kitchen, staff was helpful.
my only grudge is the bed, the mattress was horrible, one of the worst i ever slept on, talked to the front desk, they said they were sorry but they were booked.

aside from that, nice hotel, but you are actually paying to sleep right??

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank eagle132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This residence inn is located in a well situated area of Salinas. Place is near the 101 fwy and all major stores are near by. (well major stores that Salinas has to offer) Place had plenty of parking, hotel grounds were nicely kept. I stayed in a room that had a functioning kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, even a dish washer! Kitchen has utensil, plates, etc. Everything we need to make some quick meals for our young kids. Room had two HD TVs that made it possible for the adults to also watch our shows. Hotel had a basketball court with lights! Indoor pool area was great ....The staff was great. We enjoyed the daily breakfast and the dining room area was equally clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

My husband had to make a quick trip to Salinas for an appointment. My 2 sons and I decided to make a field trip out if it and visit the aquarium in Monterey while my husband attended his meeting. Normally we would stay in a bed and breakfast but because this was a fast trip, decided to stay in Salinas. The layout of the room is really nice and has a full kitchen. Beds were comfy and we felt very well taken care if and safe. Also notable was how clean the room was. Thank you, Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knowleshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear knowleshill,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a well written and thought-out review for our hotel.

We really appreciate you taking the time to do so. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property and thank you for your giving us an opportunity to show you we can stand up to the bed and breakfast quality that you are very much use to. We hope to see you again if you come back to the Salinas area. Thanks!

Warmest Regards,

DeAnna Carlsen,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel almost continuously from December 2013 to March 2014. The manager, Denna, and her team constantly went out of their way to make me and my team feel welcome. The rooms were roomy and comfortable. The food was high qualiy. In particular, Denise, who worked as hostess in the kitchen, was always friendly and put her absolute best into customer service. Her tasty foods, diligent quality and friendly ways always made my day better. Whether you are on vacation or going to work, this hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Alan,

Thank you for your comments. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience.

I would like to personally "Thank You" for recognizing the efforts myself and the team "ESPECIALLY DENISE" have put into making our guests stay enjoyable. We will miss welcoming you home every evening, however we wish you much success in your new endeavor. Your always welcome back home!

Warmest Regards,

DeAnna Carlsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Salinas Monterey
2.1 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salinas Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salinas Monterey

Address: 17215 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907-1732
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: £124 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salinas Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get FREE high-speed Internet access at this Residence Inn. Located just 20 minutes from scenic Monterey and Carmel, the Residence Inn by Marriott Salinas Monterey is your home away from home. Residence Inn by Marriott has perfected the extended-stay experience by combining all the comforts of home with our passion for making every guest feel welcome. Our suites offer separate living and sleeping areas with fully equipped kitchens. Here, in the heart of the fertile Salinas Valley, you are mere moments from the top agriculture companies in the country, such as Fresh Express, Dole, Tanimura & Antle, and Taylor Farms. For leisure activities, we enjoy a close partnership with the National Steinbeck Center and its cultural facility, and within moments, you may enjoy the mesmerizing sites and tastes of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, the 17-Mile Drive and Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salinas Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salinas Hotel Salinas
Salinas Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing