We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Salinas Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you dont' mind the roosters waking you up at 4am..Then you will be fine. The beds were hard and the sofa bed is horrible. Perhaps a small child could sleep comfortably on it. The pool was very cloudy. Hot tub was fine. Employees very pleasant. We were in the back of the hotel on the third floor. Anyone coming in late and talking was disturbing to us will we tried to sleep. Breakfast was included. I will not comment on the food as I cannot eat much of anything they offered.

Room Tip: Away from the parking lot. The rooster will crow every day...the hotel is surrounded by them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear poptartolivia,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry we di not meet your expectations however thank you for highlighting "OUR STAFF SERVICE".

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you,

DeAnna Carlsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    86
    41
    14
    6
See reviews for
93
61
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

i stayed in Residence Inn by Marriott Salinas last night. The hotel is very new. They have very nice facilities including kitchen,fridge, sofa bed. Wifi signal is good, bed is very comfortable. location is a little bit far but still acceptable. the only problem is that we found a half-eaten muffin in my room night table when we checked in. it seems the cleaning clerk is careless. the bed sheet also has a little bit smell which seems not totally dried after wash.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the stay! Friendly staff, great breakfast that comes free with the room. If you are booking late and Monterey locations do not work out, Salinas is close by and works great. It does not have the beach and it is in the middle of a farm but still a good place to stay. You need to drive 20 miles to get to the beach!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LathasLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed at many Marriott properties (domestic and international) and I must say this Residence Inn had the nicest and friendliest staff that I have come across. Not one bad apple in the group. I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziva523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you want to stay at a place with phenomenal service, choose the Residence Inn in Salinas! Greg is an exceptionally hard worker. Lynnzee is the sweetest person and made sure all my needs were met. Stephanie was fantastic for just starting out. The management exudes excellence for hospitality and trickles all the way down to the breakfast staff. Best place in Salinas!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just got back from a stay in Salinas for my daughter's swim meet. The hotel itself was very nice, and all of the staff we encountered extremely helpful and friendly. We had a 2 bedroom suite with kitchenette. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well-equipped, everything very clean.

The breakfast buffet was quite substantial, with waffle bar, yogurt, oatmeal and cold cereals, sausage patties and eggs, toast, pastries, juice and coffee.

Since the kids had been at a swim meet all day, they were pretty tired and didn't want to go out again for dinner. We grabbed take out from a close-by Italian restaurant and were able to use the breakfast room for our group to have a big communal meal. The staff was very accommodating in helping us dispose of the extra trash.

Only complaint about the hotel was that the walls were kind of thin - we had problems with our neighbors on one of the two nights we stayed. Talking very loudly at 11:45 pm, and then again at 3:45 am! The front desk handled it well - calling up to tell them to be quiet immediately (I could hear the phone ring from our room). The front desk staff even gave me bonus Marriott points when I mentioned it upon check out. I do not fault the staff for rude guests - just wish the walls weren't so thin.

Unfortunately, I probably would never come back to Salinas unless I absolutely had to. The town is horribly depressing, and there was a riot days before we arrived due to some problems between the locals and police. The front desk staff cautioned us to stick to the well-lit mall areas if we were going to go out at night. Thanks, but I will just avoid Salinas in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinlMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here going to Monterey Bay. It is about 40 minutes away. The property is very nice, clean and well kept. Exactly what one would expect at the Residence Inn. It includes a nice breakfast including eggs, waffles, oatmeal, including lots of toppings for all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllSeven7Continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Salinas Monterey
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salinas Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salinas Monterey

Property: Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Address: 17215 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907-1732
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salinas Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get FREE high-speed Internet access at this Residence Inn. Located just 20 minutes from scenic Monterey and Carmel, the Residence Inn by Marriott Salinas Monterey is your home away from home. Residence Inn by Marriott has perfected the extended-stay experience by combining all the comforts of home with our passion for making every guest feel welcome. Our suites offer separate living and sleeping areas with fully equipped kitchens. Here, in the heart of the fertile Salinas Valley, you are mere moments from the top agriculture companies in the country, such as Fresh Express, Dole, Tanimura & Antle, and Taylor Farms. For leisure activities, we enjoy a close partnership with the National Steinbeck Center and its cultural facility, and within moments, you may enjoy the mesmerizing sites and tastes of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, the 17-Mile Drive and Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Salinas Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salinas Hotel Salinas
Salinas Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing