We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic Stay, Sort of Close to Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The rooms are very spacious and were very comfortable. The extra space is great for traveling with kids especially. The staff was super-attentive and very helpful (front desk, breakfast, etc). We had one minor issue with the cleaning staff, but the front desk person was really nice and handled it well. The evening reception was actually great and saved us from going out after some long days out and about. Breakfast was standard RI fair. It does get a little crowded in the morning. We really liked the pool area, its indoors and well maintained. It was crazy one night with teenagers but not really the hotel's fault. Location is OK to Monterey, but its a good 30-40 min drive.

We did notice roosters also, but they didn't wake us up!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jumesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you dont' mind the roosters waking you up at 4am..Then you will be fine. The beds were hard and the sofa bed is horrible. Perhaps a small child could sleep comfortably on it. The pool was very cloudy. Hot tub was fine. Employees very pleasant. We were in the back of the hotel on the third floor. Anyone coming in late and talking was disturbing to us will we tried to sleep. Breakfast was included. I will not comment on the food as I cannot eat much of anything they offered.

Room Tip: Away from the parking lot. The rooster will crow every day...the hotel is surrounded by them
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear poptartolivia,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry we di not meet your expectations however thank you for highlighting "OUR STAFF SERVICE".

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you,

DeAnna Carlsen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

i stayed in Residence Inn by Marriott Salinas last night. The hotel is very new. They have very nice facilities including kitchen,fridge, sofa bed. Wifi signal is good, bed is very comfortable. location is a little bit far but still acceptable. the only problem is that we found a half-eaten muffin in my room night table when we checked in. it seems the cleaning clerk is careless. the bed sheet also has a little bit smell which seems not totally dried after wash.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the stay! Friendly staff, great breakfast that comes free with the room. If you are booking late and Monterey locations do not work out, Salinas is close by and works great. It does not have the beach and it is in the middle of a farm but still a good place to stay. You need to drive 20 miles to get to the beach!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank LathasLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed at many Marriott properties (domestic and international) and I must say this Residence Inn had the nicest and friendliest staff that I have come across. Not one bad apple in the group. I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziva523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you want to stay at a place with phenomenal service, choose the Residence Inn in Salinas! Greg is an exceptionally hard worker. Lynnzee is the sweetest person and made sure all my needs were met. Stephanie was fantastic for just starting out. The management exudes excellence for hospitality and trickles all the way down to the breakfast staff. Best place in Salinas!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just got back from a stay in Salinas for my daughter's swim meet. The hotel itself was very nice, and all of the staff we encountered extremely helpful and friendly. We had a 2 bedroom suite with kitchenette. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well-equipped, everything very clean.

The breakfast buffet was quite substantial, with waffle bar, yogurt, oatmeal and cold cereals, sausage patties and eggs, toast, pastries, juice and coffee.

Since the kids had been at a swim meet all day, they were pretty tired and didn't want to go out again for dinner. We grabbed take out from a close-by Italian restaurant and were able to use the breakfast room for our group to have a big communal meal. The staff was very accommodating in helping us dispose of the extra trash.

Only complaint about the hotel was that the walls were kind of thin - we had problems with our neighbors on one of the two nights we stayed. Talking very loudly at 11:45 pm, and then again at 3:45 am! The front desk handled it well - calling up to tell them to be quiet immediately (I could hear the phone ring from our room). The front desk staff even gave me bonus Marriott points when I mentioned it upon check out. I do not fault the staff for rude guests - just wish the walls weren't so thin.

Unfortunately, I probably would never come back to Salinas unless I absolutely had to. The town is horribly depressing, and there was a riot days before we arrived due to some problems between the locals and police. The front desk staff cautioned us to stick to the well-lit mall areas if we were going to go out at night. Thanks, but I will just avoid Salinas in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinlMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Salinas Monterey
2.1 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salinas Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salinas Monterey

Address: 17215 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907-1732
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: £124 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salinas Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get FREE high-speed Internet access at this Residence Inn. Located just 20 minutes from scenic Monterey and Carmel, the Residence Inn by Marriott Salinas Monterey is your home away from home. Residence Inn by Marriott has perfected the extended-stay experience by combining all the comforts of home with our passion for making every guest feel welcome. Our suites offer separate living and sleeping areas with fully equipped kitchens. Here, in the heart of the fertile Salinas Valley, you are mere moments from the top agriculture companies in the country, such as Fresh Express, Dole, Tanimura & Antle, and Taylor Farms. For leisure activities, we enjoy a close partnership with the National Steinbeck Center and its cultural facility, and within moments, you may enjoy the mesmerizing sites and tastes of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, the 17-Mile Drive and Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Salinas Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salinas Hotel Salinas
Salinas Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing