We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat for soul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Salinas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Retreat for soul”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay. 24 hrs of animals, nature and peace. Definitely coming back! Crunch time rocked! It was on my bucket list to be served breakfast by a beautiful elephant! Great job team " Vision quest-Monterey Zoo"

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9livesOceanside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    57
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
149
216
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed with the family over the 4th of July weekend in the Monkey Manor room (2 kids, 7 & 11). We did the tour the day of arrival, which helped acclimate us to the overall layout of the property (as well as introduce us to the animals). We sat out on the viewing platforms in the afternoon (bring warm clothes and a windbreaker) and met a couple of animals out for walks with their trainers. That night we participated in "elephant bedtime," feeding 3 of the larger elephants and learning about their daily routines. For dinner we opted for quick and easy sandwiches from the gas station deli, eating on the porch of our bungalow. The room was great- heated blankets and a room heater, both were used, which made the room very comfortable. Lots if plugs for chargers. Nice decor and little touches throughout. Morning- our breakfast appeared around 10:20. We were one of the last tents to be served, but we were forewarned that breakfast time was dictated by the elephants :). Great portions and variety (fruit, yogurt, pastries and bagels), and we got to feed the elephant right from our deck.

Great trip, unique and unforgettable. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustys_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My kids enjoyed it, but notice that the staff were not as pleasant or happy to be working. The roaring of the Lions were great to hear at night (all night). Watching the elephants and zebra interact with each other was also a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Wow that was by far the best groupon ive ever bought. Suprised my girlfriend with this for her birthday and all i can say is it was amazing. We checked in around 2:30pm and was staying in the big cat house which by the way we found out was the best possible bungalow to stay in due to the fact we had the closest view to the elephant enclousure and we could see the tigers inside the zoo. After check in the staff who were all very nice and very quick gave us our key to the bunglow and a gate code so we could come and go as we please. We went straight to our bungalow and found it to be probably the coolest room i have ever stayed in. The room was huge, clean, had full shower, mini fridge, coffee maker, sitting area, tv and a king size bed. There was no air conditioner howevr it was not needed due to the close proximity to the ocean. The room came with a space heater and double heated blankets on the bed which we later used. As we checked in we sat on the patio, had a few beers and watched the elephants and zebras roam around. Right at 3:30 the side zoo gate opened and a zoo trainer came by with a monkey nasmed Forest. She gave us some information on Forest and the zoo tours and then moved on to the rest of the bunglaows with Forest. About 30 mins later another Zoo keeper came by with a Baboon and gave us more information on that animal .We then opted to take the Crunch time Tour and the Elephants lights out tour. The tour started at 5:00pm and was great. The Zoo was closed down and only the tour group was allowed inside to feed the lion, lynx, tigers and hyena. We all got to push the meat for the cats under the cage and watch them crunch the bones and meat up. This tour is honestly a must! We then went and feed the elephants when they put them in their heated encloure for the nigtht. After both tours we went back to our bungalow and relaxed. That night we sat on the porch and enjoyed a few more beers looked at the sky which was full of starts and listened to the lions, tigers and hyena growling and roaring all night (which was another awesome experience). The next morning around 9:45am we were on the porch of our bunglow and saw an elpehant literally walking toward our bunglow. A zoo trainer and the elephant arrived with a breakfast box for us. We were able to feed the elephant again and then enjoy our breakfast. Breakfast consisted of orange juice, coffee, yogurt, fruit, bagels, cream cheese, crisounts and pasteries. To bed honest brekfast was really good and we had tons of leftovers. We then checked out at 10:45 and began our VIP tour. Well when they said VIP they really ment it. We were the only ones on the tour (due to face the tour was during mid week). Our Tour guide and Zoo keeper Kristy took us around the whole zoo and ezplained everything there is to know about each animal and the zoo. We were then given the chance to Hold and briefly play with Forest the monkey and of course take pictures. After that the zoo keeps removed the Lynx from its cage and we were allowed to take pictures and pet the Lynx (pretty big and mean cat). We then broke for lunch which consisted of sandwiches, chips, drinks and cookies (all of which were really good, and thats saying something casue i dont like sandwiches). We then went to the last part of the tour which was where we got to feed and wash an elephant named Butch. Cool experience, but u may get a little wet and dirty so dont wear any really nice or expensive clothing. only reason i got dirty was cause I literally got "Butch Slapped" with the elephants trunk lol. Overall this was one of the best experiences we have ever done, well worth the money, if you go, spend the money on the VIP tour and crunch time tour its well worth it. The who experience felt as though it was so personal and exlusive to me and my girlfriend, we will definately be back when they complete the new tiger inclosure.

Room Tip: Stay in Big Cat bungalow, its the closest to the elepahant enclousre and u can see the tigers from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I found out about this place by reading the travel section of the LA Times and just had to see it for myself. I booked it as part of an anniversary trip with my husband (who loves photographing animals). We were not disappointed! It was an amazing place. Yes the office smells like dog kennel but that was the only smell in the whole place. We chose the big cat room and that was a perfect location. We picked up sandwiches and drinks at a nearby deli to enjoy on the patio. The patio faced the elephant play yard, and play they did!! In the early evening they came alive. It was like Madacascar with the elephants, zebra, water buffalo and an ostrich all friends and chasing eachother. That was a really fun thing to watch. The room was very nice. More like a hotel with canvas walls. Around 3:30 we had a visit from a red bottom baboon. Next was a long nosed fuzzy creature wrapped around the handlers neck and it's name escapes me. You don't get to touch them but you do see them up close. They are on leashes but the animals clearly have the say as to where they go and how long they stay. We opted to do the Butch's bedtime & Crunch time that evening which was a great decision. When you feed Butch the elephant his carrots he waves the tip of his trunk at you for more. So cute! We fed all the elephants and then moved onto the big cats. The trainer makes meat patties and then we got a chance to push it under the gate with a long pole. The crunch comes when the lion eats the bones. It was totally safe and totally amazing to see them so close. You can really see how much the animals love their trainers. The lion rubbed against the cage when the handler came like a big kitty cat! None of them looks unhappy. They are all rescue animals that have never been in the wild and are use to living with people. The facility is currently working on an expantion with bigger enclosures. They love these animals and they are the first priority. We brought movies to watch in the evening (after dinner) since there isn't much to do once it gets dark. In the early morning we could hear the tiger huffing. It was like being in the jungle! The elephant bringing us breakfast was the best! We fed her more carrots and pet her trunk. The breakfast was good. The bagels and pastery were so fresh. We also got an apple, bannana, yogurts and OJ. It was more then enough. We sat on the patio enjoying the view till checkout at 12:30 and then did the zoo tour at 1:00. You can never get that close to the animals at a regular zoo. The staff were all super friendly and helpfull. I can't wait to go back and do that again!! This place is a must see. Book early since there are only 8 rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotellover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed 2 nights at Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast for my birthday. I am an animal lover (especially elephants) so this was the perfect weekend away. The accommodations were great, and all of the added activities (Crunch Time/Bed Time/Pachyderm Package) were well worth the extra fees. This is a great organization that has found a brilliant way to raise additional revenue to fund their important cause. The animals all seemed happy and wild (unlike a regular zoo), so it was truly an amazing experience I'll never forget.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The place exceeded our expectations! Checking in and checking out was very easy. The tour was quite interesting and we are glad to know that they are starting to build full enclosures for the animals instead of the cages. Our bungalow was very nice and clean and the bathroom had all the amenities you can find at a swanky hotel. It gets a bit chilly at night but they have a heating fan as well as a heated mattress pad which really helps. The only concern I had was that the wind blowing on the tent was really loud and basically shook the tent but it died down a little during the night. Having visits from some animals (bearcat and baboon for us) and the elephant coming in next morning was amazing! We were very happy and excited that we got to feed and pet the elephant. Breakfast was also beyond expectations. We had apples, bananas, bagels, pastries, yogurt, OJ and coffee and tea. It was a really great experience and I would recommend it to anyone who loves animals and a unique experience!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KrizU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salinas
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
9.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
13.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
14.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast

Property: Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
Address: 400 River Rd, Salinas, CA 93908-9627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listen to the lions and tigers roaring only yards away from your authentic African style bungalow...go on an African Safari in Monterey! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vision Quest Safari Bed And Breakfast
Vision Quest Safari Hotel Salinas
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast California/Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing