We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Salinas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Forest, California
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We planned to stay only one night but wish we could have stayed at least one more. My six year old boys loved it and so did we! The bungalows were very nice and very clean. They had everything there for you to make your stay comfortable, including heating blankets! At night it we heard the lions roaring and we truly felt like we were on an African Safari! Butch the elephant brought us breakfast in the morning and the trainers even took pictures with our own camera so we didn't miss the moment. This was a splurge for our road trip vacation but one we don't regret for a moment! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    57
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
149
216
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family of 4 loved our stay! The breakfast delivery via elephant was the huge highlight and is a memory we will never forget! Clean and comfortable rooms which exceeded our expectations. My only issue was that our room, the monkey manor, was one of our only options as a family of 4. It was close to the road, so the road noise was pretty annoying. I wish they offered accommodations for 4 that overlooked the elephants. We did both of the animal evening feedings, but thought the elephant feeding was much better than the big cats. All in all, a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krazzieboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I took my daughter here for as a gift for you High School Graduation and a send too college where she will be studying veterinary medicine. This experience was very exciting for her. A memory we will have forever.

After our tours and tucking in the elephants we drove a very short distance to the Wharf in Monterrey and had a nice dinner. Came back to enjoy our peaceful surroundings and the sounds of the animals in the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRB768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My 13 year old son and I visited the safari and really had a great time. We stayed in one of the bungalows which was very unique. The one we were in was called Monkey Manor and is the number 2 bungalow. I would not recommend staying in either number 1 or 2 though. There is a main street right behind these two and the traffic is very loud. Had it not been for the loud traffic and the ants in our room it would have been a perfect 5. I highly recommend to add the extra tours if you plan to stay overnight. Overall we had a very nice time. It was amazing to hear the animals roar at night.

Room Tip: Only stay in bungalows 4-8 unless you don't mind hearing loud traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emailm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place was Wonderful. I was Amazed at all the things to do and see! I highly recommended it. Be sure to Add on the Crunch Time and Bedtime to your evening, so worth it! And don't forget your 1:00pm free tour. The staff is great. The rooms are clean. You feel like you get to spend the night at the zoo. I want to go back yearly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I had an amazing time! It's like a little piece of Africa right here! The trainers worked so hard to make sure we were comfortable as well as the animals. It's super clean...... Totally would do it again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkscott93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a great place to stay! We LOVED Crunch time where we fed the cats, and Butch's Bedtime were we fed the elephants carrots. Those big animals are so amazingly beautiful! Such a great experience when we got to feed the elephant her breakfast! So sweet! Wish I could walk with her all day long!
Was a little bit noisy with the road just behind us, but I did hear the coyotes, lion, and elephant calling out in the night.
Loved the bungalow! The whole set up was really cool!

Room Tip: I choose one of the rooms around the Elephant playground on the east side away from the road.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great! Saved on water, saved on money with an awesome bungalow set up.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvNature N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salinas
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
9.6 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
13.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
14.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast

Property: Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
Address: 400 River Rd, Salinas, CA 93908-9627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listen to the lions and tigers roaring only yards away from your authentic African style bungalow...go on an African Safari in Monterey! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vision Quest Safari Bed And Breakfast
Vision Quest Safari Hotel Salinas
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast California/Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing