We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Salinas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We did it all. Our 30th wedding anniversary celebrations. Great bungalow with lions and tigers roaring during the night. Elephant feeding, washing and watching. Territory protected by an ostrich. Petted some cats. Learned lots and lots about lots of incredible animals. Served breakfast by Butch, the biggest elephant we have ever met. And we got to bath parts of him!

Room Tip: To hear the roars get as close as you can to the compound. Bungalow #3 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We recommended highly taking the "Walk with the Animals" tour and spending the night in one of the comfortable bungalows at Vision Quest / Monterey Zoo. The animals are well loved at all levels. The informed and caring staff make your stay enjoyable. You eat like kings as you visit the King of the Jungle, Jacob the Lion. Learn of, pet, and photograph with unique animals such as our new favorite, the Binturong, Doc....also known as a Bearcat.

This is a perfect weekend get-away just around the corner from anywhere in the Bay Area. Our Southern California family loved it, too. The quote from our 7-year old nephew: "This is the best day of my entire life!"

Enjoy the wonder of God's creatures, and do something wonderful for them by being there and supporting them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill_Susahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The venue is great. The people are fantastic. The concept is "right on!!" The animals are 'up close and personal' The accomodations are comfortable, clean, well appointed and the bungalows quaint. We had a wonderful experience with the animals and the very nice people but would be hard pressed to give this property a high rating because of "THE DOGS!!!!"
Part of Vision Quest's bottom line seems to be predicated on revenu from boarding dogs. We arrived at 12:30pm and departed at 11:30am the next day and were subjected to a symphony of barking dogs for at least 16 of those 23 hours. The lady at the desk said that they had, at the time, about 30 dogs boarded. It detracted greatly from the lion roars and elephant bellows. Even while exchanging breakfast items with an 11,000 pound African elephant in the morning the dogs constant yowling quickly brought us back to the USA.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the elephant exercise yard. We had #3 and I think it was the best 've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaGoose1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you love animals, or if you want to give a gift to someone who loves animals, here's an opportunity to get up close and personal with some really interesting and exotic ones. It's as close to Africa as one can get without a long plane flight...the bungalows and setting make it a unique and fun experience. It's close to Monterey for other things, but honestly, I brought a book, a guitar, some food for the room refrigerator and never went anywhere else. Although they are canvas bungalows, that's part of the experience. The wind can come come up very strong as the marine layer comes in at night, but mine was very cozy, turned on the heater and the electric blanket if I needed it. Kind of like luxury B&B crossed with camping.

The lions roar, the elephants, water buffalo and oddball ostrich and zebra wander around attached to their own elephants in the play yard. You can have as close up a tour as you'd like as there are several options at different costs. I was able to give an elephant a bath and be close to several others. The staff clearly cares for their animals and they're interested in you as well.

There is an enormous amount of effort and money involved to keep these critters healthy and the place as clean and cared for as it is. They are very safety conscious but adaptable to the needs of the visitors.

Give it a try, but try to go for at least 2 nights if you can because they'll all be your friends by the end.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladelucke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We really enjoyed out stay at Vision Quest. We had the Big Cat House. The bungalow was every bit as nice as a hotel room. Arrived shortly before 1pm and took the tour, our room was ready early so checked in. About 3:30 had our first animal visitor and an hour or so later the second animal visited.
The staff was very nice and full of information. They were in the midst of enlarging the area for the cats.. And breakfast was plentiful. Refrigerator had water and orange juice and a coffee machine was provided. It was a little chilly for us so the electric blanket felt great. The lion provided a number of roars and the elephant added to the music. Would absolutely recommend to anyone and have already. Planning on returning

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pat075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

LOVED our stay here! My daughter and I stayed in the Pacheyderm Palace - the room is VERY clean, warm and cozy with the wonderful heated mattress! It was fun to watch the elephants in the play yard, especially the connection between the zebra and Butch - it is too cute! It was wonderful hearing the lions and other animal sounds at night and in the morning. The one downside to staying in Elephant and Monkey tents was it was Strawberry picking season and I was awoken at 6:30 am to the sounds of big trucks on the road and Hispanic music playing - I felt like I was camping in Mexico instead of a Safari Bed and Breakfast. At 8am they really turned the music up then, which became rather disruputive for ourselves and our nieghbors next door in Monkey Manor - not sure how the other guest made out - perhaps the music didn't carry that far, but this is nothing against Vision Quest, for this isn't their fault, but just an FYI if you are booking a night here, you might fair better on the other side of the elephant playyard if you are a light sleeper like I am. My daughter and I arrived a little late so we missed some of the animal walk by's, but we were able to meet Stewart the 3 month old Black Bear cub - he was the last visitor and he is soooooooo incredibly cute!!!! We later went on the Crunch Time tour and Butch's Bedtime, which we both REALLY enjoyed. The Bengal Tiger is so cute when she is about ready to get feed - she gets so excited and did this cute little "happy dance". The sound of the chicken bones crunching while they eat does make a chill run down your spine though. Butch's bedtime is a lot of fun when you feed the elephants - Butch is the polite one and turns his trunk upside down so you can drop the carrot inside (we were told he does this because he is hoping for a handful of carrots instead of just one), but the girls will take the carrot stick right out of your hand and after eating their hay and pellet mixture first, you will come away with a green slimy hand - call it elephant boogers or green slobber, but either one is pretty gross, but it is still way fun! Sorry I forgot the female elephants name in the middle stall next to Butch, but we were told she will not let you pass without a carrot toll and boy was that true!!!! I had already passed out all my carrots and was trying to walk past her to get back in line next to my daughter and she would block me at each turn with her trunk held right in my face "demanding" her carrot toll - it was sooooooooooo funny!!!!!! For our dinner time, most everyone on the tour said they were going to the food locations a little down the road by the gas station, however my daughter and I decided to head into town where there was a lot more to choose from and really it was only about a 10 minute drive. The next morning we were booked for the Pacheyderm Package, but sadly one of the elephants was sick and they had to cancel, which we completely understood, so hopefully someday in the future we can go back for this. Also a lot of comments on here complain about how small the enclosures are and yes they are small, but construction is underway for a large area for these animals. We were also told that they also walk the animals several times a day as well. We really LOVED our visit here and look forward to returning (hopefully just not during harvest season or perhaps the Bear Den across the property.)

Room Tip: Stay in a room on the East side of the property if it is harvest season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We planned to stay only one night but wish we could have stayed at least one more. My six year old boys loved it and so did we! The bungalows were very nice and very clean. They had everything there for you to make your stay comfortable, including heating blankets! At night it we heard the lions roaring and we truly felt like we were on an African Safari! Butch the elephant brought us breakfast in the morning and the trainers even took pictures with our own camera so we didn't miss the moment. This was a splurge for our road trip vacation but one we don't regret for a moment! We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salinas
13.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
11 mi away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#6 of 24 in Carmel
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Laurel Inn & Conference Center
5.1 mi away
Best 5 Motel
Best 5 Motel
#18 of 25 in Salinas
34 reviews
6 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#4 of 25 in Salinas
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast

Address: 400 River Rd, Salinas, CA 93908-9627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Salinas
Price Range: £169 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listen to the lions and tigers roaring only yards away from your authentic African style bungalow...go on an African Safari in Monterey! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vision Quest Safari Bed And Breakfast
Vision Quest Safari Hotel Salinas
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast California/Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing