We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laurel Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value for money, would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This Motel gives you what it says. Its on the motorway, so its good if you just need to sleep inbetween your trip.
Room - clean and very confortible. Good wi-fi. Bathroom clean; coffe machine; tv; lots of towels etc. Worth every cent :)
Pool - very nice and clean.
Breakfast - nice and not overcrowded.
So all in all i would definately recomend this Motel.
Oh, even this motel is Mororway, i had a good sleep :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstaNathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for making the choice to stay at the Laurel Inn Motel during your recent visit to Monterey County. Our staff works very hard to ensure your experience is pleasant. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your future reservation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    186
    62
    15
    9
See reviews for
100
144
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Motel is a rather large, family owned place. Friendly and competent staff. There is a nice little pool in the center, which was closed for service in the morning, unfortunately. Overall, the place looks well maintained and clean. Both our rooms were well prepared and clean too. Although the breakfast area was a bit crowded, it was excellently serviced so everyone got what they wanted. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houtjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for choosing our property on your recent visit to Salinas. I am happy to hear you were pleased with your stay and that the staff was friendly. The breakfast room can be a very busy place, and is staffed by a very adroit staff members well versed in meeting and exceeding the needs of the guest. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Perfectly clean, friendly, functional, very reasonably-priced (~$70) place for traditional, family-owned motel lodging. A darned good place in that category, in fact.

Being a traditional motel, though, you'll experience:
* Audible din from the freeway
* Sounds of cars and people coming & going
* If you're downstairs, headlights aimed in your room
* Hear neighbors' plumbing
* WiFi outage with no means to restore until the next day

Good to have tried it, if only for the value. My choice for Salinas is still Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I appreciate your candor. It helps us focus on areas that will make your stay more enjoyable. We will gladly make every attempt to accommodate any specific request that you may have. Our property is currently in the process of renovating and upgrading our rooms. Please visit us again so that you may enjoy the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a room on Monroe Street (i.e. opposite US101): We did not even notice there was a freeway next door. The room had been renovated recently. Good bed, good carpet, fresh wallpaper and ceiling decoration, nice furniture. Good, strong shower, same for the internet signal. Certainly one of the good places in the Salinas area.(eventhough it may not look so from the outside).

Definitely recommend this place.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CSTZug_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I am so happy to know your stay at our property was enjoyable. The staff works very hard as a team to insure your visit is pleasant. We have recently implemented many upgrades and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Drove up from Los Angeles to Salinas for a family funeral. The Laurel Inn Motel is in a great location, right off Hwy 101. Experience starts with the reservation, which was simple and pleasant. Check-in took about 5min. We opted for a 2 queen-bed room on the 1st floor. Room was clean, with plenty of towels, small refrigerator, and hairdryer. We were not told of the the continental breakfast upon check-in, so we had breakfast the 1st morning at the Black Bear diner (great restaurant.) Central location to old town Salinas and northern Salinas with several shopping malls, markets and drug stores (Costco is across the freeway.) Easy 20min drive to Gilroy. Did not have time to enjoy the pool, but area looked clean and inviting. Good value, highly recommend, and will stay again when visiting Salinas.

Room Tip: Our room directly faced the freeway exit. Heard slight traffic, if this kind of noise bothers you (d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Your kind remarks are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the entire staff. We will gladly make every attempt at accommodating any specific request you may have. Please visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were pleased with this property and the only thing that we would change is take out the carpet. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was ok. It was very clean and no bugs. We were glad that we had a reservation because they had no vacancies. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronna58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I am so glad you had a great stay here at the Laurel Inn. The entire staff works diligently to insure your stay is pleasant. We appreciate that you chose to stay at our property during your recent visit to Salinas and we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just off the 101 freeway, in Salinas, is this gem of a motel. During our road trip we simply wanted a cheap, clean, nice motel for a good nights sleep. The Laurel Inn is all of this. Fast, curtious check-in, clean large rooms, absolutely no freeway noise, and comfy beds made of for a wonderful stay. Great breakfast (included) as well as loads of parking spaces and a pool, all just outside the door.

Absolutely the place to stay in Salinas.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vikki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I am so glad you had a great stay here at the Laurel Inn. The entire staff works diligently to insure your stay is pleasant. We appreciate that you chose our property during your recent visit to Salinas and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#5 of 25 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn & Conference Center

Property: Laurel Inn & Conference Center
Address: 801 West Laurel Drive, Salinas, CA 93906 (Formerly Laurel Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Laurel Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanish exterior - 1 mi to city center, 1 mi to major shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laurel Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Hotel Salinas
Laurel Motel Salinas
Laurel Inn & Conference Center California/Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing