We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laurel Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Bay City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here and were very happy with our selection! The room was very nice....a little older...but very clean! The staff were very nice and courteous....the free breakfast was not elaborate....but perfect! French toast, bagels, toasted waffles, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and cereals.
I would certainly stay here again....most reasonably priced lodging for our entire 10 day trip!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medic1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
I was delighted to read your review of our property. The staff was very pleased to read your thoughtful comments, thank you for taking time to post an evaluation. We work diligently to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. We look forward to your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    192
    67
    15
    10
See reviews for
108
151
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The value for the motel is excellent. Rooms are very clean and very comfortable. Very roomy as well. Breakfast is okay. The pool is very clean. Seems very quiet too. The only negative is the staff. The folks behind the desk need to understand that their only job is to be friendly, accommodating. Be friendly. Be helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CsquaredColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your frank review of our property, it helps to pinpoint any area where we can improve our guests stay. I am glad to know that your room was clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed breakfast. Our staff does strive to ensure every guest has a positive experience and your candor is appreciated. Please visit us again. We look forward to your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Last minute registration went smooth and room price ended up being less than on line price. The clerk gave us discounted price right off the bat and that made me happy. Front desk fixed our inoperative remote control so that was not an issue. Pillows sucked but the beds were comfortable. Overall was a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N7JHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our front desk was accommodating. We take pride in providing excellent customer service. Thank you so much for choosing to stay here at the Laurel Inn, we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We decided to stay in Salinas because of the high priced motels in Monterey and Carmel. Salinas is not the best place to be, its just an argicultural place with nothing really nice to see. But if you go for Salinas this motel is a very nice place to be. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Also, the wifi was good and they had a nice pool area. We didnt use it bacause we were only there for the night but i believe it to be good. The breakfast was one of the best we had in California. During our stay there were a lot of young sports guys staying here too, which made the breakfast room very crowded and people had to wait for quite some time to use the toaster. That wasnt such a big problem though. Still if you can afford to stay closer to the coast i think thats nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chotee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Laurel Inn during your recent visit to the Monterey Peninsula. The entire staff works very hard to maintain high standards of cleanliness and service to ensure the comfort of our guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast. Our breakfast room attendants pride themselves on providing exemplary service. We look forward to seeing you in the future, and we thank you for your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I reserved two rooms through roomstays.com (via telephone) and the hotel staff clearly was not well-versed in handling reservations made through a company such as this. I requested that one of the rooms be handicapped accessible but when we arrived were told that since I asked for a king room (which I hadn't) we were given a non-accessible king room. The accessible room(s) has two queens. I called roomstays and was told that the staff at the Laurel should have called and told them about the situation and then someone at roomstays would have then called and informed me about the king vs. queen bed situation and asked me what I wanted to do. The staff at the Laurel needs to be better informed about working with booking companies. The staff also needs to be better informed about diversity and working with patrons who request accessible rooms.

Although we had a rocky beginning, the room itself was very good--roomy and with a fireplace. Everything was clean and tidy. We only stayed for one night, but during that time the WiFi worked just fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBabs65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the confusion you experienced during your check in. There was a definite disconnect between our staff and the booking agent. I appreciate your frankness and I assure you that our entire front desk staff will receive retraining on this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This Motel gives you what it says. Its on the motorway, so its good if you just need to sleep inbetween your trip.
Room - clean and very confortible. Good wi-fi. Bathroom clean; coffe machine; tv; lots of towels etc. Worth every cent :)
Pool - very nice and clean.
Breakfast - nice and not overcrowded.
So all in all i would definately recomend this Motel.
Oh, even this motel is Mororway, i had a good sleep :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstaNathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for making the choice to stay at the Laurel Inn Motel during your recent visit to Monterey County. Our staff works very hard to ensure your experience is pleasant. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your future reservation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Motel is a rather large, family owned place. Friendly and competent staff. There is a nice little pool in the center, which was closed for service in the morning, unfortunately. Overall, the place looks well maintained and clean. Both our rooms were well prepared and clean too. Although the breakfast area was a bit crowded, it was excellently serviced so everyone got what they wanted. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houtjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for choosing our property on your recent visit to Salinas. I am happy to hear you were pleased with your stay and that the staff was friendly. The breakfast room can be a very busy place, and is staffed by a very adroit staff members well versed in meeting and exceeding the needs of the guest. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#5 of 25 in Salinas
208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn & Conference Center

Property: Laurel Inn & Conference Center
Address: 801 W Laurel Dr, Salinas, CA 93906-2730 (Formerly Laurel Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Laurel Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanish exterior - 1 mi to city center, 1 mi to major shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Laurel Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Hotel Salinas
Laurel Motel Salinas
Laurel Inn & Conference Center California/Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing