We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laurel Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Salinas)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
101
202
71
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
202
71
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe black bear dinercontinental breakfastparking lotblack beansluxury hotelroom was cleansmall fridgeoutdoor poolbit datedwould stay here againking roomsan franciscoper nightbagelsa great place to staymonterey areanice breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Made a reservation. Nothing mentioned about pool and spa under construction until late summer 2014. No reduction in price I was told. Given a room directly overlooking construction mess. Then given another room. We would have left if we weren't so tired. The overhead lights were strong spotlights. There were no table or wall lamps. Breakfast room and food was a bit above average for motels.
Tip: The Brewing Company, next to Awakenings (the Number one restaurant in Salinas), served excellent home brew and the best prime rib dinner I have ever had.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nmwnmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your feedback is important. I apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. The pool closure is an inconvenience that unfortunately could not be avoided. I did reconfirm that in fact the details of the closure are posted on all of our online booking agents. I have also retrained the staff in regards to making all of our guests aware of the closure. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I were back up to Salinas for a relative's 80th birthday celebration and we also did some geocaching around town. This motel continues to be one of the best places to stay when visiting anywhere around the Monterey Peninsula. Over the years, you're lucky to get a room without a reservation. Again, we didn't have time to enjoy the great Jacuzzi, sauna, or pool, but we did enjoy on two mornings one of the better included continental breakfasts anywhere. Just like in past years, this is the place we'll want to stay in future years.

Room Tip: We like to stay upstairs, it's quiet and in the front facing the pool, closer to the office is best away from the highway traffic. Those rooms however may be all non-smoking and won't work for many.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Laurel Inn during your recent visit to Monterey County. I am delighted to see that you once again enjoyed your stay. The staff works diligently to meet and exceed the expectations of all our guests. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

801 W. Laurel Drive, Salinas, CA
831-449-2474

There is family closeby and this is a great place for families as well as business travelers. Laurel Inn is a survivor of many decades of changes in the economy. Thanks to alert and careful management, it has flourished when others have not.
It is about a 3.5 hour drive from home in Napa County; an ordeal from which one needs to unwind. What could be better for that than a place with an operating hot tub?

Never sure what events are going on in Salinas, it is wise to call ahead and to secure your favorite room. The location, right off a busy freeway offramp, suggests unwanted traffic noise and but the freeway is below grade and exiting vehicles are slowing to a stop right there at a signalized intersection. A right turn takes visitors right to this hotel. Rooms are arranged around a large open area where the Hotel Office, Breakfast Room, Heated Pool, Whirlpool and a dry Sauna are located. The Parking lot merges into that of the adjacent Black Bear restaurant. It is a well planned combination.

We have stayed in a second floor room that faces the freeway, one that faces Laurel Drive and several that face the adjacent side street (easy access). Traffic noise is barley noticeable during daylight; fades to nil at night.

Rooms are similar, finished as alike as the type of bed allows. Small refrigerators and "Bottle" TV in each room, Microwave Ovens are in the Breakfast Room and there is on in the office. The latter provides yummy treats in mid-day, a TV and a Personal Desktop Computer.

Staff is always polite and efficient.
Prices are always attractive.

Room Tip: The rooms out back on the side street are accessed by a covered passageway that leads out to dining and the bathing facilities. Upper units are better, restless guests up there can be heard walking around.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay! The entire staff works diligently to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. We look forward to your future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a motel, just off the highway, and our room cost about eighty bucks. We weren't expecting much, and the result was that we were pleasantly surprised. The room was nothing fancy, but the beds were comfortable, the room was very clean, and the shower and bathroom were decent. Free breakfast wasn't anything to write home about, but it was a nice perk. The pool area was open pretty late, and we made use of the hot tub, which despite being sort of in the middle of the parking lot, felt really nice. The walls around it make it feel sort of private. Pool is unheated, so I didn't go in (it was winter), but it was an option. Overall, for the price, we thought this was a really good place to stay. We could have easily paid 100 dollars more for a hotel that was only marginally better.

Room Tip: It's a two-story motel, so try to request a second-floor room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is very important to us. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. Relaxing in the hot tub after a long day is always nice. We also have a dry sauna in our pool area. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to your future reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My daughter & I recently stayed one night at the motel while rolling in around 1130 PM. Though it was somewhat annoying having to transact the check in through a bank teller type window, it's understandable given the state of the world and the time of night. But the employee couldn't have been nicer and had us in our room quickly. The room was spotless and very clean. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well with no noise issues. My daughter was very impressed with the continental breakfast with a good presentation of items. Myself, I had a full breakfast at the Black Bear Diner, which is in the parking lot. (they do offer a 10% coupon for Black Bear in their lobby which unfortunately I did not find out about til I checked out.The location is right off the freeway, very convenient & easy to find. At under $100 that I paid, I really don't know why anyone would pay more. Good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SG4prez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay. The staff works meticulously to meet and exceed any expectations you may have and that your entire experience from beginning to end is positive. We look forward to your future reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews