We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh, not that great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed for only one night with some friends on a weekend diving trip in Monterey. The room was quite clean, including the beds and the bathrooms. The room is basically just beds and a TV. I realize it's a pretty cheap motel, but I hoped there would be at least a microwave. The beds weren't that comfortable but it was only one night so it worked. The walls are thin, but luckily there was a family with well-behaved kids on the other side of the wall.

It's pretty isolated, but if you have a car, it's short but confusing drive into Salinas for some authentic and tasty Mexican food. The main advantage of this motel is it's cheap price for the proximity to Monterey. It's a place to stay, don't expect anything more than that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskimopie155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

It's really cheap (less than 20 $ per person) but the room and the bathromm were quite old and need renovation. The room had a bad smell and the key doesn't work very well. The location is quite isolated and it's difficult to find a place to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filippo_Fallarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

It's by far one of the most horrible places to stay. It's not exactly cheap, because for the price it should be way better. They never have ice! Wifi is not always good. Night ladies always knocking at your doors, making noise. When you want room service they always want to do it at their own inconvenient time, and who are we kidding? Do they call that room service? Rooms are always filthy, they smell horrible! I could go on and on.. oh, definitely not a friendly hotel, not even the desk clerks, or the manager.

Room Tip: Scavenger hunt, good luck in finding a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

They had a lot of girls who rent their bodies doesnt allow me to say the correct word btw they were staying in different rooms it was too noisy and beds are old they need to remodel everything. i didnt like it at all plus the hotel manager an old guy was looking at me really weird .

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mimi0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

On one of the busiest weekends of the year (MotoGp) I unfortunately picked this place. The grounds are in need up of a fresh coat of paint and cleaning up. The room was just okay, but there was a ton of dust in the the bathroom air vent. The bed was uncomfortable, the blanket thin and worn and the television an old tube type that was not in focus. You must pay for wi-fi also. The swimming pool looked dirty.
The rooms were made up late in day as I found returning at 3:30 pm with my room still not done. Worst of all the ice machine was broken the entire four days I was there. When asked about it all I got was a shrug from the employees. I enjoy a cold drink when returning from a day at the races, but was unable to because of this flaw. No one seemed concerned about this.

Room Tip: Stay at a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawksec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is by far, one of the worse motel experiences I had. We were on our way to Monterey and book this hotel due to its low price. The motel looks ok on the outside, but inside the room is filthy and dirty. The bed stinks and the pillow had blood and lipstick stain on it. The TV was also stained with some sort of food and the table were not even wiped clean. Everything about this place just makes me throw up. I would never ever stay at a Motel 6, not even for the price and it was not even cheaper than other motels I've stayed at. By the way, the area is not safe either. It's really worth it to read the reviews first before booking any place to stay.

Room Tip: None. Do Not Stay Here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMinnions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We didn't end up staying there: the first room we were shown reeked of cigarette smoke, the second of vomit.

Both were dingy. There were sketchy characters hanging out in the parking lot, and there seemed to be illicit activity going on.

Feeling unsafe and grossed out, we left.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#5 of 25 in Salinas
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
0.2 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
0.7 mi away
Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Good Nite Inn - Salinas
#15 of 25 in Salinas
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area

Address: 140 Kern St, US 101/El Camino Real at Market Street, Salinas, CA 93905-2007
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: £50 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area Hotel Salinas
Salinas Motel Six
Salinas Motel 6
Motel Six Salinas
Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing