We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs, do you really need any more info?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Bakersfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs, do you really need any more info?”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Woke up Saturday morning July 30th with about 12 bites on my face, left hand and arm. I advised the front desk that evening that I had woken up with the bites, the next day they changed the bedding. We stayed a total of 3 nights and every day more bites showed up. After we got home on Monday, I noticed a few more had showed up. Ended up with over 50 bites over my whole body.

Now my husband is getting the bites at home. So it looks we brought them home. We were in room 245.

I think this is going to be an extremely expensive stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadDog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    21
    12
    20
See reviews for
15
18
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed here in July 2012 for a night while visiting Monterey and Salinas. The Motel 6 was nothing more than expected: a convenient but inexpensive place to sleep for the night. The front desk had a worn and tattered sign taped to it noting that the air conditioning was broken. Indeed, the A/C in the room did not appear to work. The room was clean and had only the mildest smell of mildew wafting through the air.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stopped here after flying in to San Fran on the way to LA. Quick, easy, no frills. Everything as as you expect at a Motel 6. Website claims this location was refreshed but I didn't noticed. Choosed this location because it's the closest to Pinnacles National Monument,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatSeeDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

All motel 6's are what they say they are basic but OK. they have clean beds, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, in fact the showers are great and powerful & finally TV - what more do you need!? I think they're mainly used by travelers and lorry drivers. We had no issues with the motel and slept well. The location was just off the Freeway so very easy to find and get back onto. It's next to a Denny's which does great breakfasts and there is a jack in a box too for similar food. They have a pool which we didn't use.
The staff are friendly and helpful and gave us maps and recommendations on things to do. $3 for 24hrs of WIFI.
Overall we have no complaints, it is basic great for travelers. If you want to do something on the night you need to drive. Carmel by the sea is amazing and also the 17 mile drive is close by, stunning views.
Fine for a base or night but not lo g term and not for those who like
More comfort!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Generally lacking comparison, but this Motel6 was exactly what you would expect from a sterile, cold chain-Motel...

Small, without any amenities, and a bath which they probably clean with a pressure-washer...
Very low quality, but ok for a night, I suppose...

The pool area was nice to sit around at night, but you had to whisper... Which paper-thin sheet-rock and the low quality, people seem to get angry very quickly... But what really deprives people from sleep here is th eoccasional car alarm going off...

No real complaints for the purpose of our field trip, we even got the Wifi... But I'd never deliberately chose this place.

Downtown Salinas is not too far if you like walking, and the standard American fast-food strip-mall is your direct neighborhood at this Motel6.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConHei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I chose this hotel over Days Inn because the rate was cheaper at Motel 6. Both of these hotels are in the same area. I saved $150 picking Motel 6 over Days Inn; but I got what I paid for - no hairdryer, no free Wi-Fi, no refridgerator, no microwave, no complimentary coffee in my room. The bedspread looked like it was stained; but it was multi-colored, so barely noticeable. The bed was very uncomfortable. The staff seem nice enough; but that is the only thing this hotel has going for it. Someone also pounded on my door at 3AM. One morning, I saw a scantilly clad woman (prostitute) out by someone's car.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Avoid rooms in the back! A very busy prostitute ring is run out of the back section of this hotel. Management knows and says they can't do anything about it. After all, they are paying guests, too. We booked this hotel for three nights over Memorial Day weekend and barely handled two. Loud parties. Drunk guests and single men in cars driving around the parking lot hitting on my daughter every time she left the room. Our five month old baby couldn't even sleep through all the noise. Other than that, the rooms were clean and cheap. But do yourself a favor and pay an extra $10 bucks a night to get an entire nights sleep and be comfortable both in and out of your room!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank maruchan1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#6 of 25 in Salinas
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inns Of California - Salinas
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 25 in Salinas
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area

Property: Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area
Address: 1257 De La Torre St, Salinas, CA 93905-3312
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salinas South Hotel Salinas
Motel Six Salinas
Salinas Motel 6
Salinas Motel Six
Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing