We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely Low Budget” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salinas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Salinas Inn
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Truely Low Budget”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

Bought two nights on Priceline and wound up with this hotel. Although not the worst I've ever been in, I wouldn't recommend it to others if you are used to a little higher end. I usually have no problem with two star hotels but this really shouldn't be considered two stars...more like one star or at best, one and a half. Although the linens were clean, bottom sheets were not fitted so they came undone; pillows really needed replacing, it felt like shredded foam inside. Toilet was not properly bolted to floor so it rocked when you sat down...a real eye opener when you had to get up during the night! Bathroom was realllllly small!
Housekeeping was subpar. Corners, along side bed and behind garabage cans not vacumned regularly. Entire motel extremely noisy since it is right along 101 although If you keep the air conditioner on, you can't hear the traffic noise from the highway. Lobby staff was nice upon check in and put us in a room "away" from the highway and did give us a room with two beds even though Priceline only guaranteed one bed. All in all, it was o.k. but certainly not worth $90 a night!

  • Liked — That I was able to get a room.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sargeatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    9
    15
    15
See reviews for
15
13
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County. CA.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

Booked this dump on Priceline which rated it at 2 stars.The office where the "free continental breakfast" was held was never open before 8 AM. Never used the breakfast because I had to get on my jobsite.I stayed 5 days and will never stay here again.Had to move due to ants in everything. Most rooms are less than 100 feet from the 101 and is noisy with mostly subsidized locals staying at the motel with their "friends" (read clients and/or suppliers)dropping in frequently. This is a no star hotel and would not be considered as a last resort ever.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — my stay
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nat_ref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pebble beach, ca
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

this could be the worst motel in which i have ever have ever stayed!

filthy!

grimy!

noisy!

smelly!

and those are the good parts!

it's not too late to spend the night in your car.

at least the air conditioner worked well.

  • Liked — the working air conditioner
  • Disliked — almost everthing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drofrockology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2008

It would be good for college students who don't care much about staying in a nice hotel, and are looking for a deal. The star system on Priceline is very suspect, I don't know how they can rate this hotel 2 stars, when it is regularly $52 per night, and the Holiday Inn in Paso Robles is also 2 stars at $237 per night.

I got scared after getting stuck with this hotel through Priceline and reading some bad reviews, a lot of them in fact. Several people had a problem with bad smells, but that was not the case for our room (240), and I have an extremely sensitve nose. It appeared clean, although I brought my own sheets. We were only passing through on our way home so we didn't need to use the shower. It didn't look dirty, just old, and you can see where they removed old glass shower doors. There was a refrigerator and microwave which was handy.

The neighborhood wasn't the best, they had a motion sensor and metal grate over the vending machines.The one thing that really bothered me was the fact that I called three days in advance to reserve a room with two queen beds in a room that didn't face the highway. When we got there around 8 p.m. they had switched my room with someone else, and had no explanation. The only open rooms not facing the highway were smoking rooms, and that would be even worse. Most of the hotel rooms face the highway as other people have commented on, but with the air conditioner running all night we only heard the large semi trucks. The air conditioning did work well.

  • Liked — Cheap, near the highway
  • Disliked — Neighborhood, they switched my reserved room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mlzoiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

We stayed here for the MotoGP races at Laguna Seca in July 2007. I do not recommend staying here.

Positives: Had a room available when everything else was booked. Reasonably good customer service. Mini fridge in room convenient. Bedding seemed clean and bed was reasonably comfortable in spite of pillows being a little lumpy. Location decent if you're going to the raceway (about 12 miles away).

Negatives: Room smelled STRONGLY of mildew and very intense disinfectant. Opening the doors and windows did not help, it was like sleeping in a public restroom at a gas station or rest stop. All rooms must smell because everyone had their doors open when we arrived. Mildew on bathroom ceiling and stains on shower curtains. Worn out towels had holes, window missing a screen (ours was the only room missing a screen and when I asked the front desk if we could get a screen the answer was a flat-out, however pleasant, "no" with no apology or regret). Room was only yards away from the freeway so you could hear traffic all night. Paid $200/night for a room that is normally around $65/night.

Summary: I knew I would pay more than the normal price for any hotel due to the limited area availability during the races, however I felt very ripped off by this place. Certain items in the room were new and clean (like the fawcett, shower curtain rod, fridge, microwave) however the general feel of the room was an old, no-so-clean room which was superficially spruced up - and the smell was horrifying. I suppose I might stay here again if I were really desperate... but I would not pay more than the normal rate, and I'd heavily weigh sleeping in my car as an option.

  • Liked — mini fridge
  • Disliked — the smell of the room
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#5 of 25 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 25 in Salinas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inns Of California - Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salinas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salinas Inn

Property: Salinas Inn
Address: 1030 Fairview Ave, Salinas, CA 93905-3315 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Salinas)
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Salinas Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the iconic California Rodeo, the Salinas Inn offers our guests comfort and convenience at an exceptional value. Centrally located near Monterey Bay, Santa Cruz, the Gilroy Garlic Capital, the Castroville Artichoke Capital, and the Fresh Produce Home conveniently located off of Highway 101. Our guests will enjoy 44 cozy guestrooms that feature modern features and amenities you've come to expect away from home - cable/satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi access, refrigerator and microwave, coffeemaker, flat-screen TV, and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Salinas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salinas Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing