We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, But The Price!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Salinas
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is fine. As one would expect from one in this chain, it is clean but unpretentious. Breakfast (coffee and a pastry) is provided in a tiny reception area, but there is a good Dennys on the road to Monterey. The area seems on the surface to be a little sinister, but we met some cheery Mexicans in the convenience store opposite and other guests in the hotel were very friendly. I would gladly have given this hotel three stars, but our arrival coincided with some superbike event at the local racetrack and all the hotels in the vicinity took the opportunity to jack up their prices, even though there seemed to be only a few rooms occupied at this one. $134 was outrageous for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerThornhill66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Salinas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We chose this hotel because it's at the edge of the city near 101 North & South access. First impression to some guest might be negative (see pictures.) Inside our room we felt safe, The room is rather crowded and tight. The shower is just a shower, no tub. Our room was clean, everything works (though dated.) Limited on info when you check in, have to ask. If you don't ask for 2 keys or internet password you don't get them. I don't think this is a family kinda place. This hotel has 3 floors and long, have 2 stairs (1 on each end), but seems like everyone is placed on the second floor, Breakfast is coffee and pastries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

While we didn't love the area, Andy the manager was phenomenal!! He found a room for me at 10pm at night, at a great price, when my reservation elsewhere was not acceptable. He went out of his way to make sure I was happy with the room. When we accidentally left something in the room, he packaged it up and sent it to us! THEN, he called a week later to make sure we got it!! What a guy!! His incredible attitude went a long way to making our difficult night a lot better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We made a 3 day reservation online with booking.com, drove 18 hours, arrived at 11:30 pm and could get NO RESPONSE from the night bell after 15-20 minutes of trying. Loud construction workers on the outside entry walkways, having loud hispanic music and beer party, a female frequent "guest" escorting a "pal" down the stairs said she often can not get an extra key if she needs one after 10. A call to the office the next day to cancel the remaining reservation was met with "I came out and no one was there" [--]. Cancelled remaining days on reservation. HOPING no charge comes thru or there will be

We went on to find Quality Inn on Kern Avenue - very accomodating, clean, quiet, convenient to Fwy, gas, In and Out Burger, great breakfast. See my other review for them...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m2ozfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

T he staff is pleasant and helpful. My concerns began when I drove to my room amidst the open room doors with shouting from the beer drinking construction workers who occupied the rooms. The banter continued for some time with them standing outside their rooms, mine in the middle, shouting across to other open door rooms. NOTE! The immediate flag should have been all the construction vehicles parked around the parking lot. "Econo" Lodge was apparent. Walking into my room was another discouraging "step". It was like walking on clumps of trash that was not removed before laying the carpet. The entire carpet was apparently laid over an unprepared surface. This was not good. The room was clean, but not well kept. The shower selector did not work until I, with all my strength, pulled and yanked on the knob. Only then did a very light dribble emit from the shower head while the majority of the water flowed from the tub faucet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The room is cleaner than I expected but the room is outdated. One of the cheapest in the area. No microwave nor firdge in the room. Heater is not working. Complimentary breakfast is very minimal, not much to eat. If you are budget traveler, it would be OK, but other than that I will not stay again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank KI R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We visited Monterey but the hotels are pricy there, we stayed in Salinas. This hotel was one of the cheapest ($73 including tax). Room looks OK. Only one channel on TV. There are microwave and fridge in the room. Close to the gas station and 7 eleven. According to the emergency escape plan hanging on the door, our room was one of the 3 largest rooms (right above the office). The three rooms can be combined with the doors inside of the room. Thus, we can hear the noise of neighbor. Our room was in the middle, so we heard people talk from both side of rooms. Nothing good, nothing bad. This hotel is average.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanicama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#4 of 25 in Salinas
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Salinas

Address: 180 S Sanborn Rd, Salinas, CA 93905-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: £27 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Salinas 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salinas Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Salinas California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing