We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location, This one was an exit too far.”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Yountville, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location, This one was an exit too far.”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were in town a bit late, to settle up with our Income Tax preparer who lives right next door. We would not have come so far south if not for that proximity. It was May 2013.

This is a smaller district loaded with National Brand hospitality but we examined all of those and were not inspired - literally Quality Inn looked appealing (at night) so we gave it a try. We asked for a non-smoking room, the least of our demands and we secured one on the ground floor. As we entered, MLP (My Lovely Partner) sniffed and caught the unmistakable stench of tobacco. I went to the office, was turned back - Then I noticed the room next door was Placarded "No Smoking" but ours was not. The parking lot was nearly full; I was not in condition to argue and we stayed put.

I will end the agony and say that we realized with the dawn that this was a favorite of truckers and we went away from there. When checking out, I repeated my findings to the morning clerk and got no sympathy.

We ready to go by 6:30am, scrammed ASAP, the parking lot was already nearly empty.

Room Tip: Yes, avoid this property. The majority of alternatives on the short street are new or nearly so and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    27
    14
    2
See reviews for
23
20
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This property offers location and a decent room for those wanting an affordable place within 30 mins drive of Monterey. I was able to Priceline the property at the last minute and called the hotel to request a room with 2 Queen beds.

Manager on duty was incredibly rude on the phone and adamant that we had to pay a $15 upgrade fee (on the verge of extortion) per room to get 2 queens. Priceline guarantees a room for 2 people. In the end I was not interested in arguing.

Rooms were ok, breakfast adequate. As others mentioned this place is only good for one night. If you book online via Hotwire, Priceline or other sites and require 2 Queens or a King then be prepared for an unpleasant upgrade charge.

Oh and don't count on the free wifi which was not working during our stay. Manager suggested we call tech support but that is not how I intended to send my time!

Room Tip: See review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYINNGM33002, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed on this occasion, and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. However, you mention a "guarantee" by Priceline for two beds. This was obviously was not the case and we had no option but to charge you an upgrade fee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salinas hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

rooms was clean but with an old touch, pretty much your typical highway overnight stay, just enough to get some rest and continue your trip, the are where is located don't look to safe. breakfast was very basic just enough to keep you going.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank congaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Rooms are clean, however everything else is old, the windows are single-pane, given it is right next to highway, the rooms are very noisy with all the traffic. Fairly basic, easy access to major traffic routes. Staff is friendly.

Room Tip: The suite is NOT really a suite, just a large room with minimal amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Minstrely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

2 weeks on the road, and then realising we were in the Monteray area on a Friday night...Didn't think Priceline could get us anything under 100 dollars...or More....but we would settle for a 2 star and see what we could come up with...We were given this Hotel for way under the 100.00 we antisapated...and its ok...Clean and the bathroom Tub/Shower (HC) is one of the best we have had in the last 2 weeks.
I liked that we could park right in front of our room. Would I stay here again....Yes for 1 night I would.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandymccluskey1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mondamin, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

As other have mentioned this is not a new facility - the management is reinvesting in this property & it shows. I stop here to rest & relax - easy done done in the quiet clean king room they saved for me. I appreciate the solid roller chair & large desk with plenty of light. Legends Grill with it's good food & fair prices makes it an easy choice to stay here when in Salina. The Management teams mid-west attitude shows thru in two areas - #1 they care about the customer & #2 breakfast - fried eggs, taters, sausage, fruit & etc all served in a large area.

Room Tip: Court Yard rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Arrived after 11 pm w/o a reservation and was met cordially by mgr at night window. Room was adequate and comfortable - 2 queen beds, clean, quiet for being adjacent to fwy. Our teen son was thrilled with the on site breakfast mini waffle iron and In & Out burger just across the street. We were in town for CSUMB orientation weekend and found the accommodations to be great for our purposes. Roomy parking lot, decent breakfast for road trip, close to fwy access, comfortable clean room.
The only negative is that if you want to print something from i-net, you have to transfer to a zip drive. But even when that did not work, mgr let us print from desk computer. Very accommodating.
The staff was steam cleaning all of the club chairs in the complex while we were there, and it looked like one room was entirely steam cleaned and fans were drying the carpet. LIKED seeing the investment of cleaning
AVOID Salinas Econo Lodge (see other review for details) and stay here for the same price.

Room Tip: Mid rooms seem to be quietest - insulated from road noise, which is surprisingly minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m2ozfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#6 of 25 in Salinas
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 144 Kern St, Salinas, CA 93905-2007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn On 144 Kern Street Hotel Salinas
Quality Inn Salinas
Salinas Quality Inn
Quality Inn California/Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing